10/29/10 Squamee AMPS 281 1U

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good news. That 1.2 dose for now can be used as the get her out of crazy high territory dose. I'm eager to see what the 1.0 does today. Post any testing to your SS if possible - I'll try to keep an eye on it as I do some other things today.
 
Re: 10/29/10 Squamee AMPS 281 1U, +4 134, +6 251

ARGGGH! Here we go again! I guess I will be giving her 1.2U tonight. Does it make sense to shoot a little early?
She has been sleeping all day today. I was thinking it was related to my upping her phenobarb dose. Now it is 7.5 TID instead of twice. But who knows?
 
When shooting scale or variable it does not matter if you shoot early or late [within reason - like ±2 hours]. Everything is pretty much based on the PS that you get at that time. So you could shoot early if you want. Or one can accomplish much of the same by giving a little more insulin. I've been pretty happy with the drop she's been having with 1.2u when the numbers are really high. It is just going to be a matter of getting that morning dose up to a point where it has traction. And we've been taking things IMHO with appropriate caution, but as you know I'm quite the chicken.

It's looking like we have gotten a little out of whack with the morning an night dose. Eventually, I'm betting she might need a little more during the day and a little less during the night. If you give 1.2 tonight again and she drops about the same amount for tomorrow morning then you could just take the scale I gave you for today and add .1u. That would be one approach for tomorrow. But again, your judgment is best. Let me know if you have any ideas.
 
PMPS "high" (over 500) 1.2
Tested her urine (she did not go ALL day--till 7:30 this evening), no ketones.
She refused the Velveeta tonight. I tried putting the phenob. in a sugar free allergy pill pocket and coating it with fortiflora, and she liked that. But if she goes according to pattern, that will only last 2 or 3 days. I bought some liverwurst to try next.
 
Just took another look at her numbers. The trend upward [in insulin need] may be continuing. I'm hoping that 1.2u dose will continue to have the effect it has had the past couple times. If not [and you don't get down into the mid-high 200's in the morning] and you end up into those crazy high numbers again you may need to increase that "ceiling" dose upward.
 
Gator,
Are you thinking that I should go higher than 1.2 tomorrow morning if the AMPS is higher than mid 200's? Or the next morning if I shoot 1.2 tomorrow AM and she still goes high tomorrow night? I am torn. I will test her again soon and see what that adds to the equation. WIsh I knew more about the effects of high blood sugar on the body. I am not clear enough on what I am juggling here--the danger of going low vs. the danger of what?
 
Honestly Judy she's spending most of her time in good territory. I know you want the best for S but her numbers considering the sitch are not so bad. The crazy 400+ numbers are really no good - I fully agree to that. I would hope that we can keep her most always below 300 eventually [hopefully very very soon]. But again keeping things in perspective and that like almost yesterday she was very sensitive to doses 1/2 of what you are giving now I think you are doing OK.

No I was thinking necessarily you should shoot 1.2 tomorrow if the numbers are higher than the mid 200's. Yesterday I said for today:
210+ 0.9
275+ 1.0
350+ 1.1
400+ 1.2
499+ 1.3

So maybe something like the following for tomorrow??:
210+ 1.0
275+ 1.1
350+ 1.2
400+ 1.3
499+ 1.4

???? I don't know if that makes any sense. I'm just taking a quick stab at it. Heck you might want to try 1.1 at even a lower number that 275?

IMHO the idea is to get her FEELING as well as possible. If you really think cancer, then the approach I took was to help H FEEL as good as I could for as long as I could. Initially I was under the impression his cancer was going to get him in under 3 months - we ended up with 18 months. Remission for us was never a serious consideration. Generally the thought is that the longer they stay high the less chance of remission. But I really think it is inappropriate for me to impose my goals on your sitch. So you are in charge of the goal setting.
 
+3 266

Thanks for the scale, Gator.

Although I did think that her diabetes would be resolved (I no longer think so), I never thought that she would be cured of whatever it is she has. My goal has always been to have her as comfortable as possible. Problem is, I am not sure how to evaluate that. She seems slow and passive today--is that due to pain? or to the increased phenobarb which hopefully she will accommodate to. When she does those crazy mouth things, is that pain? She seems to need the meds in order to be able to eat, but taking them sends her into fits of symptoms. How much pain does that involve for her and how does one measure if it is worth it?
Even last year, when she eventually went OTJ, I was puzzled by the fact that she mostly seemed more unhappy when she was on insulin and more like herself as it wore off, even if the BG was going up.
Unless there is some dramatic shift in numbers tomorrow AM, I think I will be comfortable with shooting 1.2U
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top