10/28Calistica's PMPS124;2 77;+2.5 115...+4 109;+5 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thelma and Calistica

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

AMPS same as last night's PMS+2
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wellll.....I'm not Sienne but just in case she doesn't come around, I'll throw in my $.02 worth. When she starts to get into blue like this in the morning, it probably would be helpful to see when she is onsetting. If you can't get in too many tests, a +3 would still be helpful to see if she had onset and if she's dropped alot. Sienne does work and so I know she gets a few tests before she gets out the door. I wonder if it is possible for you to move her shot time back a bit so you can get a couple post shot tests in before you leave?
Marje, I get up at 4:15AM and do Calistica's insulin at 5AM. I leave for work at 5:30AM. Then Ray does a +2 check at 7AM and leaves for work between 7:30 and 8AM. So maybe Ray could do a +3 before he leaves for work.
We got dusting of snow overnight! It's WAY too early for the white stuff!!! Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's AMPS 255

Calistica, what a nice visit you had in the blues yesterday! Wouldn't you like to live there?
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's AMPS 255

Seeing the blue pre-shot yesterday, I wanted you to have a handle on where the cycle was heading. I think Marje has a good point but I also understand it's a balancing act when it comes to shot time. I shoot at 6:00. That gives me time to see what's going on with Gabby before I'm out the door (she's an early diver) and I'm home in time for her PM shot. As Calistica's numbers come down, the more you can anticipate what's going on with the cycle, the better you can prepare (e.g., leaving HC food out). In other words, if DH can test at +3, I'd encourage you to get that info.

I'd encourage you to try to get a curve over the weekend so you have some idea of when Calistica's nadir is.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's AMPS 255

Good morning! Great numbers yesterday. I would agree that a curve would be great during the weekend so you can get an idea of what Calistica does in the cycle. I am the same as you with the weekday testing/shooting. I just make sure to do a curve every weekend and get lots of night tests.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: Calistica - doing curves every weekend?

Thanks Linda, Sienne and Melissa. We will do a curve on Sunday
Melissa, you actually do a curve every weekend? I see that you've only been a member of this board since Feb '11.
Is Tarragon OK with you poking his ears so much every day? Calistica is OK. I just feel bad having to keep poking her ears.

Sienne, would it be better do to a +3 AM/PM instead of a +2 and +3? During the day she gets a meal at +3, +6, +9. At night she gets a meal at +4 and snacks at +6 1/2 and +8 1/2
Calistica always gets meals every 3 hours during the day. Her food is unfortunately high carb for a sugar kitty but because she has IBD I can't change her food or she will have diarrhea in no time.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124 HELP!

Calistica's PMPS was 124. She slept through her 2PM meal and I got home at about 4PM. I took the food away since her PM shot is due at 5PM
I am going to shoot her since she's still in blue waters. She is going to get her meal and pred at 5PM then her shot. We will be checking her a couple of times tonight.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124 HELP!

Binks doesnt even seem to feel the ear pokies any more...
course if you look at his SS, you'll see i'm a bit of a testaholic.
He comes and gets me...then races me to the test rug.
He likes the cuddling, and the treats that follow... :-D
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124 HELP!

Celi, you ARE a testaholic! :lol: :lol:
Now that I see Binks' SS I'm wondering if I should've given Calistica less than unit just now. I would thing the high carb food and her pred will make her BG go up.
Calistica does like the treats too so this is more my issue than hers! she just wants her kitty crack cause she keeps going to the rug where we do the testing!
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124 HELP!

isn't it funny...
my civies go there and BEG for a test...but they'd put me in the hospital if I ever tried :lol:
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124 HELP!

punkin begs to be tested - i suppose because he wants the food that follows the test. it must not hurt them as much as we think. if anyone walks near the test area (one end of the sofa) or dares to sit on that end, he's sure you're going to test him. it's like you betray him if you sit there and don't test and feed him! :lol:

i think my civvie has IBD and she eats fancy feast classics ok. you might try a lower carb food and see if calistica's ok with it - but of course, you don't want to change the food to low carb without watching her BG. some cats go completely OTJ with a change to low carb food.

i'm not sure what your Help! is about. did you have a question or ?
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM + 77 HELP!

I don't know if I should do anything right now. I just think Calistica is walking a little funny. she is very alert and just ate her Halo chicken. I think she was walking more on her hocks. Should I feed her a little? She is totally within normal range right now. I will test her again in one hour to see where she is at.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM + 77 HELP!

I would test again in 30 minutes, and offer her some LC food. Not too much, you don't want to get her too full.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2 77 HELP!

That's some action! You might want to read the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers. We freaked out the first few times and read and re-read the section on handling low numbers. Calistica is going to be fine. You just need to test frequently, like every 30 mins and feed 1 teaspoon at a time so you are giving her carbs but not filling her up.
Liz
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2 77 HELP!

I would feed Calistica some LC (a teaspoon) and test in 30 min. If numbers are still dropping, give some gravy to slow things down.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2.5 115

It went up to 115 at +2.5 and a little food. I read the sticky on dealing with low preshots. I was so nervous that I couldn't "the shooting and handling low numbers" one. I knew there another post. Thanks for adding the link Ann! I'll keep testing her. By the time 9PM rolls around she would've eaten all her 9PM meal.
Calistica's face and eyes are looking good and bright. She walked from her bed to the test area in the kitchen and waited to be tested. These fur babies are sooo good about being tested!
Thanks so much everyone!
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2.5 115

I read the "dealing with low preshot numbers" sticky and that is why I gave her the insulin at 5PM. Now after reading the "SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS" one I see that I should've followed my instinct of not giving her insulin. I was just telling Devon this morning how scared I was of low numbers and here I am tonight with you by my side dealing with this crisis.
Thanks again everyone!
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2.5 115

This is by no means a crisis! In fact, you did good!

Shooting the 124 was absolutely fine. You've shot in the 150s. You want to shoot a little lower every time until you are comfortable shooting low. Whenever you shoot your lowest number, you want to get a +1 and +2. I would still test at +3 so you know where the cycle is going especially since you are still in the early part of the cycle.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2.5 115

It is very nerve wracking but it gets MUCH better with experience. A couple of things to remember. Lantus is a slow acting insulin so you have time to react to low numbers, so no need to panic. :lol: That gets easier. You are gathering data (keep good records) on how Calistica reacts to the insulin and to what you feed her. That will help immensely in the future. You really do want her to have low numbers because that is so much better for her. You are doing great!

Also, could you take off the 911 from your subject line? That is very alarming and Calistica is doing fine now.
Liz
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +2.5 115

Nice 'hooting! Really, it does get easier, and does get less scary. Heck, at this point I get scared when Trixie is above 120 with her preshots!!!

Remember - you are never alone. There is always someone here to help!! You're doing great!!!
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +3.25 114

Nice blue surf going! Yeehaw!

I have another request. Could you edit your subject line to this:

10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124;+2 77;+2.5 115; +3.25 114

Then everyone can easily see what she's done in this cycle. This is a great cycle! You should be very proud.
Liz
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PM +3.25 114

I was just so afraid that her numbers were going to continue dropping after that +2 test!
Thanks for thinking I did well. I am feeling so guilty about having given Calistica insulin though.
What exactly should I have done when I got the PMPS of 124? To shoot or not to shoot?? Definitely feed her and then test her at +1, +2, +3 as Sienne mentioned. Or should've have given her maybe 1/2 unit?

I honestly thought her BG was going to go up after dinner and pred as it seems to be the case from her SS. Only once before did her number go slightly lower. In the AM it seems that it drops after the insulin.
Calistica eats the same food all the time. We don't get to give her a variety of food given her IBD. I've never really given my cats a variety of foods. So keeping records of the food is easy here.
Removed the 911 fro the subject line!

I hope this gets easier. Big thanks for for holding our hand tonight!
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124;+2 77;+2.5 115; +3.25 114

Subject line changed Liz!
Thanks so much. I hope she stays in blue waters all night! I'll test her at 9 and 10PM
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124;+2 77;+2.5 115; +3.25 114

I think shooting the full dose was the right thing to do! You've shot in the 150s, so this was a little lower. Remember, the goal is to shoot low to stay low.

I didn't realize that Calistica has IBD. I would suggest that you avoid gravy-based food or anything new that could set off a flare. The beans whose cats have IBD have added Karo or honey to LC food to steer numbers. In fact, I do this with Gabby since she will sometimes have a reaction to the gluten in gravy.
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124;+2 77;+2.5 115; +3.25 114; +4

I've never given Calistica food with gravy. I did buy some junk food with gravy in case we have an emergency.
I'm so glad shooting the full dose was the right thing to do. So the way I could control it was by testing and feeding to prevent her BG from dropping further right?

Would you have given a shot if the PMPS was 77 too?
Would it be best to feed her every 2 hours during the day while we're at work just in case? Right now she eats every 3 hours. We'd just split the portions into smaller portions if feeding every 2 hours
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124;+2 77;+2.5 115; +3.25 114; +4

Hi guys,
I was away for a few days and missed a lot and I just got to your condo and saw how well you are handling everything! Very nice! Keep up the good work. I read somewhere that cats' ears have become less sensitive as they have evolved over the centuries because the ears (a good target) have been continually exposed to injuries (from fights, accidents, etc). So even though we think we are hurting them when we have to poke many times during a cycle, it doesn't bother them much. (Like so many of our kitties, Rusty comes to his test spot and waits for me when it is time for a test.)

Have a good evening and good luck with your curve this weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/28 Calistica's PMPS 124;+2 77;+2.5 115; +3.25 114; +4

You are picking this up fast! Much faster than us, that's for sure. :lol: :lol: :lol: If Zener had a 107 (on the AlphaTrak, add 30 is the general rule), we would have waited 30 minutes (without feeding!) and tested again. If it goes up, we would probably shoot. If it drops, no. If it's about the same or dropping, we would probably test again in another 30 (without feeding) and see where he is. We are getting braver at shooting lower numbers (but not dropping numbers, that's why we test again in 30 mins to see which way he's going).
Keep up the surf, Calistica!
Liz
 
Re: 10/28Calistica's PMPS124;2 77;+2.5 115;+3.25 114;+4 109

Thanks Elle, Calistica definitely comes to her testing spot every time anyone is in the kitchen. She is happy to eat!

Liz, thanks so much for that info on when to shot/not shoot! I don't feel like I'm picking this up too fast! I'm still very overwhelmed. I just want to know everything yesterday!
The interesting part about tonight's PMPS number was that the last time Calistica ate was probably between 11AM and 12PM. She totally missed her 2PM meal and when I saw it untouched at 4PM I took it away. So clearly she had a really good day today. I just don't know if her nadir was the 5PM 124 or if was lower earlier in the day.
 
PMPS 124; 2 77; +2.5 115; +3.25 114; +4 109; +5 113

So far so good. She will get a little food at +6, +7 and +8. Then I'll get up at 4:45AM to test her and feed her and shoot her.
We are going to bed as we have a busy day ahead of us tomorrow. We are expecting a very rare October snow storm tomorrow and we have plants to protect get ready for some heavy, wet stuff!
Thank you again so much for being there for us. Have a good night.
 
It's not an entirely fair question to ask if I would shoot a 77. The easy answer is to suggest that you look at Gabby's SS and you'll see I've shot lower than a 77. However, I have 2+ years worth of data.

The idea is that now that you've shot a 124, you can next shoot a 100. And then you can shoot green -- maybe not a 50, but you can gradually work your way down as you get more confident and feel like you can steer Calistica's numbers as you need to.

As far as feeding every 2 vs. every 3 hours, that's up to you. Basically, when it comes to feeding, it's a trial and error process. The more you know about your cat's cycle, the better decisions you can make. You'll also have more data for the purpose of comparison.
 
Thelma:

You did a great job and I am SO glad you shot the 124!! Yay for you!!!!

Remember that you have to shoot low to stay low and as Sienne said, each time, we'll encourage you to shoot lower. Some people have a number they won't shoot below....Christie's is "60". I won't shoot below "50" and I think that is Sienne's cutoff number, too. But you have to get there GRADUALLY. Each time you shoot a little lower, you get data to see how she will react at +1 and +2. Does she get a food spike, does she drop more, etc. But you just need to take baby steps and be comfortable with what you are shooting and what she is going to do. There is no huge rush to learning to shoot low....you absolutely must have the data first.

The caveat to shooting low is making sure you aren't shooting a dropping number. I have no idea what time you get home from work, but if possible, It helps if you are able to get a +10 or +11. That will tell you if your PMPS is a dropping number. If it's a high dropping number, it's not a big deal. But if she is, for example, 124 at +10 and 77 at PMPS, you are going to want to post and ask for help. We'll probably have you stall until she starts to come up.

Thanks for clarifying your A.M. times. Wow....I definitely see why you cannot move her shot time back. I think it's awesome you do what you do. I still recommend a +2 to see how active her cycle might be and that Ray get a +3 "out the door" to see if he needs to leave down HC food, etc.

Have a good night...lovely curve here!
 
Agreed that it wasn't an entirely fair question Sienne. I think that what I'm trying to figure out is when I should go with a lower dose. I was trying to figure out if I 'd have to shoot a lower dose if she'd gotten a 77.
I think that if I ever get preshot 77 I would do what Liz does with Zener about waiting 1/2 hour and not shooting/feeding, then test 1/2 hour later.
I just saw Gabby's SS and around mid September '11 she had some consistent blues/greens for a couple of days and you kept shooting a full dose which seems to be 1unit. But on day 4 (9/19) you reduced the dose to .75. Then she was hitting pinks for 5 consecutive days and you kept her at the .75 dose and on day 6 you went to 1 unit. So it's not a matter of giving more the first time the cat hits a higher number. You wait it out until you see a pattern.

Hi Marje, thanks so much. I couldn't have done without all the wonderful people who are always around to support those of us who ask for help.
I get home between 3:30 and 4PM so I can start testing her then. Thanks for mentioning that doing a +10, +11 will help me learn to see if I have a dropping number. Would the Halo chicken affect her values at PMPS time since I'll be testing her at least at +11?
Ray feeds Calistica at about 8 before her leaves for work. We are now both seeing the importance of continued testing. Tonight turned into a priceless learning experience for sure. I'm glad it happened when it wasn't a real crisis so I could learn and now I know next time I won't panic.
 
Marje makes a good point about gradually lowering the threshold for shooting. We started at 180 and have gradually lowered (with LOTS of encouragement from LL :smile: ). Our lowest so far is around 105 on the AlphaTrak, which would be around 75 on a human meter. It's taken us since May to get to this point.
Liz
 
Thanks Celi and Julie!
Geez Liz! I guess I went seriously brave with the lower threshold for shooting by shooting at 124!! I think that knowing what I know now I may be brave even at 100 but only if I know that I'm not shooting a dropping number like Marje explained.
 
Thelma:

I think the best thing to do is post and ask for help any time you get a PS that you aren't comfortable with. That's why a +11 helps because you can see if she has a low number at that time. It will also help you see if she gets a second dip at PS. It's important to be able to distinguish between a second dip, which is ok to shoot, and a dropping number which you have to be extremely cautious with. A second dip is a number lower than your +10 or +11 but not lower than the nadir. A dropping number is one in which she has been dropping all day right into the PS.

Like Sienne said, next time, you'll shoot a 100, and then a 90, and then an 80....and you will at some time shoot a 77. Remember that with stalling, you need to test more often than every 30 mins because you want to shoot on the rise. So don't feed if you stall, check every 20 mins, and as soon as you get a rising number, shoot. If you wait too long, you won't get any overlap between doses and numbers may veer higher.

Sounds like Sienne reduced Gabby's dose, waited six cycles to see what she was going to do (clearing a bounce for instance) and then took her back up. We do increases and decreases per the protocol so you might want to look at that again. For a newly diagnosed cat, the first time Calistica gets under 50, you'll give her a .25u reduction. We are always here for you so each step...each new thing, someone will be here to help you through.

Is the Halo chicken a snack? Typically, you don't want to feed after nadir until PS. If she's starving, a very very low carb snack like freeze dried chicken will work. BUT some cats (like Jill's Alex) is so carb sensitive that freeze dried chicken will bump up her numbers. You'll have to learn if it does that to Calistica.....maybe on a weekend you can experiment to see if it does.

Yes...testing is your friend. Many of us are testaholics. Celi ain't the only one :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: hmmm...Sienne, Michelle, Ann (Tess), me, Anne (Zener), Amy, Christie...just to name a very very few. ;-) ;-)
 
We are testaholics?! No, it's just because Zener is bouncy and we never know what he's going to do and it's only one little strip each time and, and, and, I'm sure there are other very good reasons. :lol: :lol: :lol: Ok, so maybe we are.

Truly, though, he is bouncy and we just want to keep him safe and as healthy as possible.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top