10/28 Tibbs amps 444 +4 435 terrible numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
I think i'm going to have to get really aggressive with his increases. I am going to get a +2 on him tonight to see if he's dropping early because he clearly is not dropping at +4 to +7 any where. Time to increase to 2 units i think? I have to get this boy into good numbers somehow. I am just so stressed. His 5 p's are good but his BG is terrible.
I think i should increase every 6 to 10 cycles until I see something !! What do you all think? thanks so much.
 
That I believe was my advice not to long ago on your other condo when he was starting to show trace ketones. And I'd go up .5u at a time until he starts showing yellows. If that doesn't work then we may have to teach you to use a bolus insulin as well. Or possibly a switch to Levemir?

Thinking Lantus might not be his insulin.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
yes. you did say that so that is what i will do but i am feeling that too ....maybe lantus is not right for him. i will do the increases and see what happens. the only reason i hesitate is because when he was at 2 before, he started getting terrible numbers too. he's making me crazy Mel. if these increases don't work, i think i'm going to switch to levimir. we'll see what happens. thanks Mel.
 
Good morning Nadine! I would never allow myself to give advice in this forum as I am one of those who daily asks for some but I regularly browse your kitty's ss and what I see always tempts me to say something. For me being and absolute amateur his BG levels are not normal and definitely there is a reason for these pinkies and reds. Whether it is the dose,type of insulin or some underlying health problem that causes the high BG there is something to be done . I can only imagine how you feel and I wish I could tell you what to do but I can only wish you and your buddy the very best of luck in finding where exactly the problem is.We keep fingers and paws crossed and hoping to see some nice numbers of your ss real soon :YMHUG: :thumbup cat_pet_icon
 
thanks Di. i will give lantus a little more time but maybe soon switch to levemir. thank you
hugs to you and misho
 
Really wish I had kept Musette's spreadsheet after she passed, because she looked almost like Tibbs on Lantus. It was like I was shooting water, it didn't matter the dose, her numbers didn't budge, then finally they did and she became a roller coaster ride, she would bottom out on a particular dose, so I would drop it only to have her fly up and stay up for days until I would take her back up again only to repeat the dive and bounce. Made the switch to Levemir and she was so smooth and even, with stellar numbers. She was a happier kitty and so was mom. I sure do miss that little girl. She was only with me a year, but in that year she really taught me to dance with a Sugarcat.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
tibbs gave me a yellow +8 today but i have a feeling we're going to do the same thing as last time. i'll take him up to 2 and his numbers will go sky high again. ughhhhhh we may have to go to levemir.
 
I can't even imagine how frustrating this must be for you, Nadine. I hope something works out soon for Tibbs.

KPassa has started a discussion in the think tank about people's experiences switching from Lantus to Levemir. Here's the link.
 
When I see what you're going through trying to get Tibbs regulated I keep thinking about the state I was in when Saoirse had the pancreatitis flare and I was struggling to find something for her to eat to help stop her diarrhoea. It felt like everything I tried wouldn't work. I'm relieved for you both that Tibbs is feeling better than his numbers might indicate, but I worry about how you're doing in yourself. I really feel for you, Nadine. :YMHUG: Are you getting any proper rest?
 
hi Aine
i sleep a few hours but this is def stressing me out. i just want him to get better. i am giving lantus a little while longer and then i will try levemir. i def feel like nothing i do is working too. thanks for asking. how are you doing?
 
Hi Nadine

I am so sorry that you are struggling to regulate Tibbs. I can't suggest anything but can emphasise with what you are going through. I cried for about the first two weeks after remi was diagnosed and couldn't eat with stress.

Having seen how much my syringe markings vary from one syringe to another my only advice would be to find a way of ensuring you give a consistent dose each time. I am double checking my dose with the use of a metal ruler and if I just followed the marking it would be way off. Sorry not really that helpful

((Hugs))

Sarah
 
Sarah
you are very helpful. thank you. really it helps to know what everyone has gone through in trying to regulate their kitties.
he is getting slightly better numbers these past few days so i'm hanging on to that. hope you and your baby are ok.
hugs to you guys
xoxoxoxoxoxoxox
 
That's great news. When you are in the thick of it recognising the little improvements is really important and keeps you going. I feel lucky that remi's numbers have settled and I see that in the last couple of days remi has become alot more vocal again. I am sure that Tibbs can get to the same place. You just have to follow the advice of the members and keep going until you find that dose that get Tibbs nadirs where they need to be. Come on Tibbs you can do it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top