10/28 Spencer AMPS 144, +2 105, +4 51, +4.5 51, +5 48, +6 101, +7 124, +9 199, +11 189

Ok good.

The honey wears off fairly quickly, but we have a little time. Can you leave out some LC wet and head to the store for some HC wet food? We would want to test in about 30 mins, if that works?
 
I think I will run out for 10min and get a few cans of HC wet food. Any recommendations? Friskies is a brand I've read others use for this?

FF Gravy Lovers Beef is 20% (Turkey gravy lovers is 15 and Chicken gravy lovers is 15 - both are good MC options to have on hand too).

If you like Friskies, here are HC options -

FRISKIES Indoor Homestyle Turkey Dinner w/Garden Greens in Gravy - 25%
FRISKIES Indoor Chunky Chicken & Turkey Casserol w/Garden Greens in Gravy - 25%
FRISKIES Indoor Saucy Seafood Bake w/Garden Greens in Sauce - 25%
FRISKIES Indoor Flaked Ocean Whitefish Dinner w/Garden Greens in Sauce - 27%
FRISKIES Savory Shreds With Whitefish & Sardines in Sauce - 18%
FRISKIES Tasty Treasures w/ Cheese WIth Turkey & Cheese in Gravy - 17%
FRISKIES Tasty Treasures w/ Cheese With Chicken, Tuna & Cheese in Gravy - 17%
FRISKIES Tasty Treasures w/ Cheese With Chicien & Cheese in Gravy -17%
FRISKIES Tasty Treasures w/ Cheese With Ocean Fish, Tuna, & Cheese in Sauce - 17%
FRISKIES Gravy Sensations With Beef & Chicken in Gravy -20%
 
Fancy feast gravy lovers beef is on the list as 20%, but not sure if that is ok for kitties tummy. You said he was on steroids I think?
 
I got some HC food from the store. Fancy Feast Liver & Chicken Feast in Gravy - I think it's 17% carbs. They didnt have a lot of options. He tested 101 just now. What's next? Feed the wet food with higher carb content? Not sure he is keen to eat...
 
We have 2 rising tests now, and I think we are hopefully on the up and up. let’s hold food and test in an hour. :bighug:
 
Wanted to get that in quick lol. You just want to keep monitoring for a bit to make sure he stays up. Well done, everyone panics the first time they have low numbers ;)
 
Good job on going to the store, and good job today :bighug:

I know it can be scary, so lets take a nice breath :)

As long as the next number is not dropping again, you can feed snacks as normal till PMPS. I might test and post a bit early to see if you need help at shot time.
 
You guys are awesome. Thanks for sticking with me and my panicky mode. :nailbiting: wI definitely feel like I learned a lot. For example that stupid look on his face when he is low BG :smuggrin:

I will update in 40mins when I test again. Until then I will try to relax and eat some food myself!
 
:bighug:Ok, now that we are through the lower numbers, I have a couple notes for you :)

@Bandit's Mom had said that what food combos will work takes a bit of trial and error. Here is what we did:

144 preshot: ate 1.5 oz of LC
105 +2 no food
+3.5: ate 1.5 oz LC
51 +4 ate 5 Salmon greenies
51 +4.5 1 tsp FF LC and 5 salmon greenies
48 +5 honey and 3 greenies
49 +5.3 honey and 5 greenies
87 +5.7 LC wet left out (went to the store)
101 +6 no food

I think the importance of food is something for next time. Making sure that kitty eats all their breakfast and then snacks if kitty is dropping before numbers go too low. @tiffmaxee had suggested at +2 to feed some MC food to help slow the drop a bit. The other 1.5 oz was given a little late maybe at +3.5, so breakfast didn’t quite meet the insulin today. We feed to meet the onset of the insulin and then feed snacks to surf the nadir. Sometimes, higher carb content is needed to slow a drop early in the cycle. If the MC had been able to be given at +2, we may have kept a higher surf today.

We made it through, so all is good, just something for next time :)

Many of us feed at preshot and then at least 2 other timed snacks. Mine looks like this:
preshot, +2, +8 on both am and pm cycles. More if he is dropping fast or sharply and more if too low. I’ve seen others that feed at other predetermined times with an auto feeder. @JaxBenji has a good snack routine as do most others.

With SLGS, you definitely earned a 0.25 reduction beginning tonight bu dropping under 90.

Breathe well! I’ll check in a bit later :bighug:
 
Yeah getting the insulin and sugar dance down is what it's all about it seems! Thank you for the summary.

I just checked him and he is 124. Steadily rising :) I don't have syringes with .5U gradation, so I don't know if I can reduce him successfully tonight. Would harm be done if I go NS tonight?
 
Good evening! Sorry I wasn't around earlier...I'm trying to be on vacation - but that has been a total failure - at least as far as my boss is concerned...vacation, smacation...

Looks like you had plenty of great supporters throughout the day and you did a fine job with Spencer swooping down to visit the sharkies (those lime greens)...

Next time, if he goes lower than he should, you could try putting the sweet stuff on the back of his paw...Luci is a glutton for sweets so she'd lick honey off the wall if it was dripping down...sometimes cats get upset when you start messing with their mouths...but put it on the back of that paw and they just can't seem to help wanting to 'clean up that mess'...looking at you all the while with the 'how dare you look' on their faces...but guess what, honey or karo goes in with the clean up...and they are none the wiser that it was a plot (by you to get his numbers up)...

Looks like you're doing a great job overall. Keep up the great work and WELCOME to the forum!:bighug:
 
I am glad Tanya was around to help you. It’s scary the first few times they drop under 50. Post at PMPS to see if it’s safe to shoot if you want to give it a try. He might bounce high by then. There’s no harm in skipping though.
 
Good evening! Sorry I wasn't around earlier...I'm trying to be on vacation - but that has been a total failure - at least as far as my boss is concerned...vacation, smacation...

Looks like you had plenty of great supporters throughout the day and you did a fine job with Spencer swooping down to visit the sharkies (those lime greens)...

Next time, if he goes lower than he should, you could try putting the sweet stuff on the back of his paw...Luci is a glutton for sweets so she'd lick honey off the wall if it was dripping down...sometimes cats get upset when you start messing with their mouths...but put it on the back of that paw and they just can't seem to help wanting to 'clean up that mess'...looking at you all the while with the 'how dare you look' on their faces...but guess what, honey or karo goes in with the clean up...and they are none the wiser that it was a plot (by you to get his numbers up)...

Looks like you're doing a great job overall. Keep up the great work and WELCOME to the forum!:bighug:

I like the idea of putting the sugar or honey on his paws. He would get all fussy and then definitely clean it up. He is a cat after all! Good suggestion. And thank you for the warm welcome.
 
Sounds good. If under 200 ask for guidance. No matter how high the bg is you won’t shoot more than .75 as he let us know 1 unit is too much.
 
He earned a reduction yesterday but your ss shows you did not take it this morning. Did you shoot 1 unit again? His dose is.75.
 
He earned a reduction yesterday but your ss shows you did not take it this morning. Did you shoot 1 unit again? His dose is.75.

That was my mistake. Yes he got a unit. I did not have the proper syringe to give 0.75U. My partner is picking them up today. SO 0.75 from now on. Especially because he dropped way down again today...
 
Back
Top