10/28 Shanga AMBG - 456, +9.5 55, +11 113,+12 130

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Pallid ~

That 130 is looking good. Is that after feeding or giving honey to Shanga? Or has some time passed since last feeding him?

"It's 11.17 pm here, I have flu, I didnt sleep for days because of feeding shanga and now waiting for the day comes..." -- Oh, Pallid, the caregiver needs to take care of herself too! Hope things calm down and you can catch up on your sleep tomorrow. The Diabeastie, my nickname for diabetes, can really wear us down if we're not careful. I know I haven't slept well either since Butters was diagnosed. I often get up during the night to be sure he's okay. I think I'm beginning to annoy him because he's usually sound asleep when I wake him up to be sure he's alive. :-)

Here's hoping Shanga's numbers continue to stabilize over the next hours.

Take care,
Eva
 
Hey Jill,,

Let me understand... She shot it with pen. I asked about the dosage.. She showed me from the syringes like in the pics... She showed the second line... So that means its 0.2... because I asked her again and over again... she said 2 Unit... But I check ur syringe pic, if the first line is 0.1 then second line will be 0.2???

http://www.medexsupply.com/popup_image.php?pID=45147

The syringe was like that...

Confused...
 
Pallid said:
Hey Jill,,

Let me understand... She shot it with pen. I asked about the dosage.. She showed me from the syringes like in the pics... She showed the second line... So that means its 0.2... because I asked her again and over again... she said 2 Unit... But I check ur syringe pic, if the first line is 0.1 then second line will be 0.2???

http://www.medexsupply.com/popup_image.php?pID=45147

The syringe was like that...

Confused...

01unit-1.jpg


the first long line on the left of the syringe barrel is 0.0 unit. this U-100 syringe is marked with half units. it holds 30u of insulin.
0.1u is measured by drawing the dose just a tiny bit past the 0.0u line. the plunger would touch the 0.0u line.

the syringe you showed me holds 100 units of insulin. can you get syringes that hold 30 units of insulin and have half-unit markings? maybe ask tifil& isil about what kind of syringes are available in turkey?

edited to add: the syringe you showed me --- the first line = 2 units. the second line = 4 units.
 
Ok then she gave 2 units of insulin... Because I remember that last number was 100. and She showed me the second line on it...( I think it was not same with that needle. It had 10lines from 1 to 10)
I asked to Isil but she couldnt find it here. I am gonna ask tomorrow everywhere, if i can not find here im gonna buy it from ebay...

Just send me the link which one i need to buy for lantus...

Thank You Jill :)
 
U100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for fine dosing. BD, Monoject, GNP, and ReliOn are some of the brands available with half unit markings. Needle gauge and length is your preference They come in ½ inch or 5/16 inch needle lengths. Needle gauges 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest).

syringe scales:

resource.gif


try to get U-100 syringes that have the scale on the left. they're easier to use when dosing in tiny increments.
 
i have to step away from the computer for a few hours. i'll catch up to you later. i hope you can get some rest today. others will be coming on who can answer your questions.
 
Hi,

Thank You for everything Jill, Thank You for being with us tonight...
Shanga is doing ok and giving u a big hug :)

Love and Hug,
 
(((Pallid)))...you are my hero!!! What an amazing job you have done with Shanga through all of this and your love for him shines through....he is a lucky, lucky cat esp where so many cats just live on the street without anyone to love and care for them like you are with Shanga and Isil is with Tifil.

I'm dealing with some gum issues with my kitten, Tobey. How did they determine it is stomatitis or do they think that is what it is because his gums are really really red? REally inflamed gums can be caused by many things other than stomatitis. Feline bartonella can cause red gums, herpes can cause red gums, early gingavitis also. If a cat is positive for bartonella, they take doxycycline antibiotic for an extended period. For Tobey, his is related to herpes. I had his teeth cleaned and then we brush religiously every single day and I put an antibacterial rinse on his teeth and gums at night.

I think if it is absolutely stomatitis, then Jill is right that interferon is the best way to deal with it....you don't want all his teeth extracted. Just be sure they know exactly what is causing the inflammation.

I hope you get some rest today. You did a great job!
 
+14 130...

I am leaving the computer now,He needs some rest... But I'll be checking him...
THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING... THANK YOU FOR SAVING MY BOY...
That means a lot...

LOVE&HUG FROM SHANGA :) and ME
 
Hello Marjorie and Gracie ,

He has diagnosed with Feline eosinophilic granuloma first. When I am back home I started to research about it on the internet. Shanga has something different in his mouth. Its like stomatitis . I told the vet about it but she said It was granuloma. Without any test ....
I Changed the vet and he just looked his mouth for a sec and told me that He has herpes... Without any test... He gave me interferon... and said It was stomatitis because of herpes...
I wasnt satisfied about what he said...Because he didnt made any test.
I changed the other vet and he said its a stomatitis, and there is no cure...without any test...
So I wanted to treat it by myself... I emailed all universities all over the world, talked with different vets and i decided to keep using interferon.
His mouth is not so bad but He has two wounds back of the hind teeth... (Check the pic, he has same thing)
http://www.dentalvet.com/vets/cats/feline_stomatitis.htm
I found out something today, Research about it, It boosts immune system and it works very well on herpes virus... Thats what people said about it...
It called L-Lysine...Just research and ask to ur veterinary about it...
I want to clean his plaques first actually and i will try every way to make his mouth healty again. But I am just trapped with diabetes at the moment... I need to keep his BG lever under control that he can get surgery....
Sorry for Tobey. Hope he will be ok soon... Dental diseases can be so painful....But I believe that If u find the right cure u can figure it out...So I keep trying... :) What does he have? Gingivitis? I will send you some links later if u like...
And I really thank you for your support, If you all wouldnt be there for shanga , i dont know what i would do. YOU ARE MY HERO...
Thank You Very Much...
 
I'm just coming back on line and getting caught up. You've had quite a day.

One of the best ways, I've found, for dealing with vets is to speak their language. I'm attaching an article from one of the top veterinary journals. It presents the research on the dosing protocol we use. Let your vet know you want to use an approach to Lantus (or Levemir) that has research to support it. If you want, we can also provide the links to information on interferon. If you do research on your own and can't get articles, let me know. I have access to a medical and veterinary library system.
 

Attachments

Hi Pallid:

Thank you for the info!!! I've looked at many of these, too. Tobey does have herpes but he's doing wonderful. We have him on L-Lysine. His mouth looks pretty good now. I really admire you for all the research you have done on your own to improve Shanga's health. You are such a great mama!!!
 
Dear Sienne and Gabby,

Thank You for the document. It is a really good guide for me to understand about all of these...
Im gonna take this with me to the vet today...
All I know I wont let her to shot my baby again.
And I am just researching for months and reading but i would be thankful if you send me the links...
I am just about to decide to quit interferon and see his blood BG. I would be so thankful if you would send me the links about interferon...

Dear Marjorie and Gracie
Everyone here is a great mama :)
I am glad I found here. I couldnt handle all of these alone...
And I am so glad to hear Tobey is great. :)
What do you think about L-Lysine? I am planning to order one...

Thank You,
 
As a person who is a citizen of Turkish Republic, I must say that every word of Pallid is true about the vets in my country. It's nearly impossible to make them accept a new idea, and if this idea is from internet then all of a sudden, you become an enemy!! Pallid and I are one of the rare people who explores, investigates and questions. You can understand this by not seeing any other Turkish diabetic cat owners instead of us. I must say that there are many diabetic cats in Turkey ( I am not sure if they are regulated and I am not sure if they are not euthanized!!). This is the truth of our country, and it is impossible for us to find a good vet who knows anything about diabetes. I went to 6 different vets after Tıfıl was diagnosed and non of them helped me as much as you did. All of the things I learned from here was the opposit opinions of these 6 vets! They didn't give knowledge but they emptied our pockets with no hesitation! So believe us, we are really in a bad condition :sad:
It's impossible to find food to give, supplements to give, vets to heal, caretakers when going out of town, syringes for small doses. Instead, there are many poeple making fun of you, telling you to euthanize your cat, making opinions that it is not normal to take care of a cat that is taking your time and your sleep.
We talked with Pallid on the phone today, she lives in İstanbul I live in Ankara, the only common idea about the vets in two different cities are that they are not as helpfull as the people here......
 
I have to tell both of you, Pallid and Isil...
it is truly inspiring to see folks like you fighting very difficult conditions to care for your lovely kitties.
I think I can honestly speak for everyone here when I say that people as wonderful as you are with their animals
are a great example to the rest of us!

Thank you for showing us such strong & loving spirits!

799110-bigthumbnail.jpg


celi & binks
 
I agree with Celi about you and Isil....amazing ladies you are!!!

Pallid: I think the l-lysine helps Tobey but when I know he has to go to the vet, I usually give him an oral anti-viral called Famvir so he doesn't get an ulcer in his eye. For his mouth, we just stay on top of the tooth brushing every single day. Time will tell but his gums look much better than they did even six months ago.
 
Hello Everyone,

I see,Isil already said what I wanted to say here. Dealing with the situation is really hard with all of these...
I really share same feelings with Isil that vets didn't help us as much as you did here.So I really feel lucky that I found you...
I feel so down at the moment... It's 03.09 am here and just can not stop thinking... Feel so desperate,It's like something really heavy on my chest and so I can't breathe... I will make new condo of Shanga in a couple of min and I am gonna tell there what happend with vet today...
Thank you for your support, thank you for being there for Shanga, Thank you for making me met with someone who has really great personality and soul.Isil is a really great person... I am so glad to have her in my life... I'm so glad to have you all...

Big Hug from Shanga and Me :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top