10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353 +2/391 +9/371

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.25/64 +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25

PurrFace just came in and jumped up on the computer desk. That was great to see him do especially since he has been fighting these low numbers and has neuropathy. Due his aecond test, which will be 90 minutes since his last HC feeding, in 15 minutes. Hopefully it will be above the 70 mark.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.25/64 +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25

Recap of BG readings this cycle so far.
96 AMPS
Ate +1 (Fancy Feast Classic Low Carb)
39 +2 Fed honey and High Carb Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers .75 oz (1 and 1/2 U.S. tablespoons)
44 +2.25
63 +2.5 (Good!)
54 +2.75 Fed 1 teaspoon HC and 2 drops of honey
58 +3 Fed 1 tsp HC with one drop of honey
64 +3.25 1 tsp HC with one drop of honey
101 +3.75 1 tsp LC
97 +4.25 1 tsp HC
98 +4.75 1 tsp LC
81 +5.25 1 tsp LC
70 +5.75 No food. Didn't beg for any just wanted to take a nap on computer desk with me.
75 +6.75
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.25/64 +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25

Fingers and paws crossed, PurrFace stays above 70 and keeps surfing. That's great PurrFace jumped onto the computer and even with neuropathy. I wonder if they get a sugar high like we do! :-D You both did a great job and stayed calm, but I know on the inside it had to be nerve wracking.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.25/64 +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25

My goodness PurrFace. You definitely gave the expected busy cycle as predicted. So glad you had some people to walk you through John. You and DW, Just keep breathing! You are doing great and how wonderful that PurrFace earned a dosecrease. Yeah! Excited for you all.

You deserve a couple :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Karen
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Well he made it above the 50 range after 90 minutes since his last HC feeding. I didn't feed him after this test as Dyana suggested. I think he is getting full so it's good. The "How to handle low numbers" outline stated that after getting 2 consecutive tests where numbers are satble or rising test in an hour and follow the same steps. His last test was a 70 and the test prior was an 81 would those two numbers be considered stable? If so I'll begin testing every hour. He ususally hits his nadir around the +5-+6 time frame so I think he will begin to rise but it's hard to be sure since he didn't get fed after this test.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Thank you Ann, as I mentioned before I can't imagine what it would be like without all of the wonderful people here. Karen you sure called it this morning when you said it would be a busy cycle. I sure hope they don't get any busier than this. Ok for next test to be in an hour?
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Something happened because my last post didn't get posted and I lost the last two, one from Ann and one from Karen.

Is a 70 and 81 considered stable numbers? Per the How to Handle Low Numbers article it said if you get 2 consecutive readings that are stable or rising to test every hour as long at they stay that way.
Is it ok to test every hour. PurrFace ususally hits his nadir around the +5-+6 time frame so normally I would expect his +7 reading to be pretty close to his +6 or a bit higher but he didn't want any food after his +5.75 shot so I don't know if I can depend on that.
Strange....the lost posts are back???
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Hi John-
I'm not the best advice giver, but it looks like PurrFace last ate at +5.25 so your last test numbers are still being influenced by food. I would probably be tempted to test again in 30 min if PurrFace is willing to be stuck again. He's given you lower numbers later in the cycle (10/25) so you want to make sure he stays safe with his surf. If you need to feed Marje advised me to just keep using LC at this stage so as to use the least amount of carbs to keep him surfing safely.

Hopefully someone else chimes in if my thoughts aren't quite correct.
You are doing great!
Karen
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Something must be wrong with my computer because the last two messages I posted and the one from Karen and one from Ann are not showing up again. I hope this one makes it. The odd thing is the subject update is there. Anyone else ever experience this?
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Hey John-
Are your noticing that there are 2 pages of posts now? I'm wondering if you are missing the 2nd page. Notice at the end of posts on the right side, there will be 1 and 2 pages.
Hopefully that makes sense. :smile:
Karen
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Thank you Karen. I found the "page 2". It's past his 30 test time. I wasted the time trying to find the posts. His one hour is up in 10 minutes so I'll wait until then. I sure hope I didn't mess up anything at this stage.
He's asleep on the computer desk in front of the monitor. If I touch him he opens his eyes and stretches so I hope that's a good sign.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

John, Nice job handling PurrFace low numbers today! Didnt want to clutter your thread earlier in the midst of the excitement. Congratulations on PurrFace earning a decrease the low way, you said you wanted some green now you had some GREEN :mrgreen: hope he settles into some nice easy numbers for you.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

Thanks for checking Dale. I'm doing ok. Please if you have to prepare for the storm do so. I would hate for you to not be prepared because of this. As much as PurrFace means to us your safety as well as your families is more important.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +3.5/101 +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75

You are doing fine! Testing once an hour is fine I think, but if you are nervous go ahead and make it 45 minutes. Eighty and 71 are far enough apart that I wouldn't call this a EDITED to correct: I wouldn't call this a FALLING BG (not "rising" Duh!), but it could be stable. This means I wouldn't be worried about PurrFace enough to test more often than every hour, but I wouldn't feel comfortable that his nadir is past or close to passing. So, as long as you stay with him, all should be fine.

I'm no where near the storm, but that's so sweet of you. I'm in San Diego. I think you might have meant that for someone else.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75

Since he went up a tiny bit..5 points is ok to feed him a small amount? He's tell us he's hungry.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75

Ooh, +6.75 is 75! That's great.

(By the way, did you edit the post you made earlier to add in this 75 reading to the recap or did I miss it the first time?)
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75

I think it's fine to feed him too, just a little. You're doing great.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75

Hi Dale. Yes I edited the post with the +6.75/75 number. I think it's the second one down from the top on page 2. Thank you again for helping with that all day.

DW just called me away from the computer to eat. That will be a nice 15-20 minute break. Be back soon.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75

Good for Dear Wife -- she doesn't want you to get low blood sugar either!

I think you can relax now. PurrFace is probably surfing. I'd like to see another test to be sure, but I am fairly certain you will see a 70 or above at your next test. FYI, for the future, it would not be terribly important if you were having a lazy Sunday at home, but if you were trying to get out the door to be somewhere you would want to see the next number ABOVE 80 or 85, maybe even higher.

Now that the issue is (mostly) resolved, you should know that a BG of 40 to 50 is nowhere near hypo for most cats, and even a BG in the 30s isn't a reason to be too scared. What is scary is to see a 39 and then see a number below that for the next test and even lower for the next. If you can stay at 40 or above that is great, and you don't want the cat in the 30s because you don't know how low he might go, but merely being in the 30s does NOT mean that -- for most cats --you are seconds away from disaster. I asked about your emergency plan because you want to have someone to drive while you test and feed, and you want to know where you are going. If you had to call someone to come home to you, the time to do it would have been after you saw the next number below 39. Tossing a map to the nearest emergency room in your hypo kit might not be a bad idea given that you are 30 minutes away.

The Low Number Procedure is a way of preventing hypo. You always want to step in and feed the cat teaspoons of HC when you see a number below 50 anytime before nadir (or if you don't know when nadir will be), but, of course, it's even more important if it is early in the cycle. The same goes for being
below 50 after nadir UNLESS you really know your cat and you feel very comfortable that the BG is going to be going up. It never hurts to offer food regardless
for most cats.

Also, feel free to post when this happens again. You get more than one of these little episode with support here -- as many as you like. Don't feel that because someone walked you through it the first time you should know it and be able to do it by yourself. It's hard not to panic and be nervous and make mistakes. Just having someone here with you makes it more likely you will do fine on your own with no mistakes. Someday, you won't need the support, but until you feel that you don't, please post for support!

(By the way, I have found that posting the recap in a new post when you get a new number is a more reliable way to make sure the people who are following your saga see it.)
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.25/97 +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75

Recap of BG readings this cycle so far.
96 AMPS
Ate +1 (Fancy Feast Classic Low Carb)
39 +2 Fed honey and High Carb Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers .75 oz (1 and 1/2 U.S. tablespoons)
44 +2.25
63 +2.5 (Good!)
54 +2.75 Fed 1 teaspoon HC and 2 drops of honey
58 +3 Fed 1 tsp HC with one drop of honey
64 +3.25 1 tsp HC with one drop of honey
101 +3.75 1 tsp LC
97 +4.25 1 tsp HC
98 +4.75 1 tsp LC
81 +5.25 1 tsp LC
70 +5.75 No food. Didn't beg for any just wanted to take a nap on computer desk with me.
75 +6.75 Ate less than an ounce
103 +9Ate less than an ounce
71 +8 Ate just under an ounce
103 +9
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75/75 +8/71

Thank you for the information Dale, it is definitely helpful. You were right on the mark when you said PurrFace's next test would be in the 70 range; it was 71.

I just read Krisa's post about Tashia's diagnosis. It really brought home the fact that PurrFace's situation, although critical to our inexperienced minds, wasn't anywhere near as tragic as some of the other kitties and their owners. I feel so bad for Krisa having to go through this.

Thank you again.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +4.75/98 +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75/75 +8/71

You are doing fine. I have my guests arriving for the party this afternoon. I read that about Krisa's cat, too. So sad.

I'm very stressed today. It seems to me that Max's abdomen is smaller today, and his skin isn't as tight across his belly today. My husband say no, I'm imagining it. I look down at him from above, and he looks different than he did before. He used to look pregnant. Now, he looks a bit overweight. However, I can feel the tumor right in front of his left hip, and the difference between the way the two sides feel is significant. I don't know what to think, but he's eating and drinking, and wanted to hang out outside before the guests starting arriving. He still wants to be out here in the family room sitting on the love seat despite the fact that there are 3 more children here and 3 more adults.

I have to go. Good luck with the rest of your cycle!
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75/75 +8/71 +9/103

Looks like he broke his GREEN spell by hitting a low BLUE. At what number will it be ok to give him his reduced PM shot? A few days ago he got his shot with a PS of 110 and another at 118 but neither of his cycles were like this one today.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75/75 +8/71 +9/103

Recap of BG readings this cycle so far.
96 AMPS
Ate +1 (Fancy Feast Classic Low Carb)
39 +2 Fed honey and High Carb Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers .75 oz (1 and 1/2 U.S. tablespoons)
44 +2.25
63 +2.5 (Good!)
54 +2.75 Fed 1 teaspoon HC and 2 drops of honey
58 +3 Fed 1 tsp HC with one drop of honey
64 +3.25 1 tsp HC with one drop of honey
101 +3.75 1 tsp LC
97 +4.25 1 tsp HC
98 +4.75 1 tsp LC
81 +5.25 1 tsp LC
70 +5.75 No food. Didn't beg for any just wanted to take a nap on computer desk with me.
75 +6.75 Ate less than an ounce
103 +9Ate less than an ounce
71 +8 Ate just under an ounce
103 +9
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace +5.25/81 +5.75/70 +6.75/75 +8/71 +9/103

That's a good question. It mainly depends on you and what are you able to take. There's no rule that says don't shoot if you have had an active cycle.

If you can stay up with him all night and have enough supplies -- at least 20 strips, I would say -- you should be able to shoot tonight. Definitely shoot the lower dose unless he bounces really high -- 300 or higher. If he does bounce, some people would say to "shoot through" the bounce with the old dose, and others say go with the reduced dose.

This is what I recommend: Take a +11 test and post it at that time. Then, Take your PMPS reading about 5-10 minutes early tonight. If PurrFace doesn't bounce, and you are uncomfortable with shooting the number you get at PMPS, stall (don't feed him) long enough to post in your headline "PMPS is # --Shoot tonight?" and see what others have to say.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353

Dale, as you can see he tested at PMPS @353. My DW and I discussed it and decided to shot him with the reduced dose. I hope we did the right thing. We can stay up with him tonight and have plenty of supplies. Thought we'd give him a break and do a +11 but he hid on us. We finally found him up on the lower shelf in our closet behind some of DW's dresses. By this time 30-35 minutes passed so we waited until the PMPS. It kind of worries us because earlier today he ran from my DW when she tried to take him to the test site and now he went in the closet. Once we got him to the test site he was fine as he was after the test as well. I hope he was just tired and wanted to be left alone. He came right away tonight and seems to be fine. Thank you for all of your help today, I really do appreciate it.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353

Hi John-
To my inexperienced mind I would say PurrFace is bouncing. I suspect his body didn't quite know what to do with the low numbers. You've done great with the tests. Make sure you and DH stay calm and BREATHE. Our kitties feel our tension and stress.

Way to rock the day! Congrats to you all. :smile:
Karen
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353

Thank you Karen. My wife and I mentioned that to each other several times today....calm down, calm down. We have been so lost without the help and support of you and all of the other people today. It is such a relief to be able to turn to someone when you are in new territory. We were surely blessed the day we found this forum. Have a great evening.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353

HI John,
I hope you and your DW and PurrFace have a wonderful, quiet, calm surfing evening.
Give each other hugs from me. And Oliver sends along his furry best.
mary and oliver

mary, mark, oliver, greg and marble
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353

Thank you Karen & ecurie for your support. Dale I'm glad Max is eating and drinking normally and it's a good sign that he wants to be outside patroling his territory and isn't bothered by the children. We're thinking of you both. Thank you all again for the help today and have a great evening.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353 +2/391

Hi John!

What a day and you and DW did a great job with Dale and Dyanas help. Those first ventures into low numbers can be quite nailbite_smile

There are a couple things I'd like to add for the future.

The first time kitty goes low like this, we have you test a little more often mostly because it makes you feel calmer to see numbers coming up. But, one thing that can happen if you test too often is the carbs don't have time to work so you feed more carbs and more carbs, and then you get a carb overload.

Generally, once you get into the 40s, you can tst every 30 mins until you get the two numbers over 50 they are not food influenced.

Also, I don't like surfs in the 40s. Are they safe? For most cats, probably. But you don't have any cushion if the numbers wobble and go back down. Especially with a late nadir cat. So I'm glad you all got him up into the 50s pretty quick.

You all did really great and I'm glad Dale was here to help. Now you've learned how he responds to carbs which is great.

Super job! Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 10/28 PurrFace PMPS 353 +2/391

Thank you Marje. I can't say enough good things about all of the wonderful people that helped yesterday as well as those that were following it in the background. It was amazing how smooth everyone works. If someone had to leave for a while someone else stepped right in to pick up where they left off. If businesses and the government worked that smoothly it would be a better world.
Thank you for the added info especially on being able to test every 30 minutes after the numbers get into the 40s. PurrFace will really like that if we get in that situation again. Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top