MumfsFriend
Member Since 2021
Hi friends, let me start by saying, I know I should’ve been testing before shooting. But I have not. I see my mistake, I don’t need a lecture. That’s just as an opener.
So I have been working very closely with my vet, and I don’t have a spreadsheet yet. My sugar cat Mumf has been on Lantus since Sept. 14, we recently increased the dose to 1.75IU.
Today I came home and Mumf had thrown up a little bit and left his afternoon meal untouched (nothing to worry about, he just overslept his meal, it happens; when I came in he made a dash for his bowl ).
His PMPS was 59 (at almost +12). He was really hungry, and alert, so everything seems good with him. I called the vets office to ask about the dosing and they said not to shoot tonight. I asked them how his AMPS should be for me to shoot and the vet tech couldn’t really say. She did say however that 59 is too low and that he should be at around 150 generally.
The vet wasn’t available to talk. The vet tech told me to base the dosing on my experience with the blood glucose curves. That’s funny because I have been relying on my vet to look at the curves and tell me how to do dose. I guess that was my mistake. She had also told me I don’t need to test before shooting every time, which the vet tech (and you all) disagreed with. Please don’t crucify me, I am aware of my mistake now.
Is there some type of guide to dosing? Now that I feel confused and pretty much let down by my vet’s office.. and I will finally also start a spreadsheet.
So I have been working very closely with my vet, and I don’t have a spreadsheet yet. My sugar cat Mumf has been on Lantus since Sept. 14, we recently increased the dose to 1.75IU.
Today I came home and Mumf had thrown up a little bit and left his afternoon meal untouched (nothing to worry about, he just overslept his meal, it happens; when I came in he made a dash for his bowl ).
His PMPS was 59 (at almost +12). He was really hungry, and alert, so everything seems good with him. I called the vets office to ask about the dosing and they said not to shoot tonight. I asked them how his AMPS should be for me to shoot and the vet tech couldn’t really say. She did say however that 59 is too low and that he should be at around 150 generally.
The vet wasn’t available to talk. The vet tech told me to base the dosing on my experience with the blood glucose curves. That’s funny because I have been relying on my vet to look at the curves and tell me how to do dose. I guess that was my mistake. She had also told me I don’t need to test before shooting every time, which the vet tech (and you all) disagreed with. Please don’t crucify me, I am aware of my mistake now.
Is there some type of guide to dosing? Now that I feel confused and pretty much let down by my vet’s office.. and I will finally also start a spreadsheet.