10/28 Mumf PMPS 59

MumfsFriend

Member Since 2021
Hi friends, let me start by saying, I know I should’ve been testing before shooting. But I have not. I see my mistake, I don’t need a lecture. That’s just as an opener.

So I have been working very closely with my vet, and I don’t have a spreadsheet yet. My sugar cat Mumf has been on Lantus since Sept. 14, we recently increased the dose to 1.75IU.

Today I came home and Mumf had thrown up a little bit and left his afternoon meal untouched (nothing to worry about, he just overslept his meal, it happens; when I came in he made a dash for his bowl ).

His PMPS was 59 (at almost +12). He was really hungry, and alert, so everything seems good with him. I called the vets office to ask about the dosing and they said not to shoot tonight. I asked them how his AMPS should be for me to shoot and the vet tech couldn’t really say. She did say however that 59 is too low and that he should be at around 150 generally.

The vet wasn’t available to talk. The vet tech told me to base the dosing on my experience with the blood glucose curves. That’s funny because I have been relying on my vet to look at the curves and tell me how to do dose. I guess that was my mistake. She had also told me I don’t need to test before shooting every time, which the vet tech (and you all) disagreed with. Please don’t crucify me, I am aware of my mistake now.

Is there some type of guide to dosing? Now that I feel confused and pretty much let down by my vet’s office.. and I will finally also start a spreadsheet.
 
Data driven is good, I'm all for science. I am working on getting that spreadsheet edited, my laptop is old and lagging, so it will take a bit. But I did test Mumf again and he is now at 131, so the food is working its magic at least.

Hello Jana!

Welcome to the Lantus forum! :)

Here's the sticky on the dosing protocols we follow:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

We would need to see testing data to be able to give any advise on dosing. Unfortunately we arevery data driven here!


Link to your first post in the Main/Health forum:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-7-18-confused-and-terrified.250019/
 
But I did test Mumf again and he is now at 131, so the food is working its magic at least.
How low you can shoot depends on (a) which dosing protocol you are following - for e.g. you can shoot any number over 50 mg/dl (on a human meter) while following TR, (b) how much data you have on how your cat behaves on insulin and experience in handling lower numbers and (c) whether you can monitor if you shoot.

When you encounter a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, we suggest stalling for 20 mins without feeding and see if the numbers head up on their own wthout food.

59 to 131 is more than a food bump. I am not sure how long it is since your shot was due, but if you can accommodate the delay and can get another test a couple of hours after the shot, it should be okay to shoot.

The normal range for blood sugar on a human meter is around 50-100/120 mg/dl.
 
If you do shoot in two hours, your next shot would be in 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot as we only recommend shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. If that puts you too far off schedule it’s better to skip.
 
the shot would’ve been due at 4:45 PM so it’s been over an hour now.. but I’m not going to shoot because I have to be at work tomorrow by the time I would have to shoot again. you guys, I feel horrible that I haven’t been testing before shooting because I know that at this number I would’ve probably done something life-threatening to him tonight.


From what it looks like I think my vet had me on tight regulation, at least that’s how we’ve been proceeding as far as I can tell..

I have some glucose curves from two and three weeks ago on a lower dose, I can also add those to my spreadsheet if that helps..

If you do shoot in two hours, your next shot would be in 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot as we only recommend shooting 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. If that puts you too far off schedule it’s better to skip.
 
you guys, I feel horrible that I haven’t been testing before shooting because I know that at this number I would’ve probably done something life-threatening to him tonight.
Better late than never! :-)

It's also possible that the current dose is too high for him. A drop below 50 mg/dl on a human meter is a reduction in dose per TR. The idea with testing is to ascertain how low he is going on a dose.

Btw, could you please add his date of diagnosis to your Signature? Thanks!
 
Don’t worry about the past. Let’s concentrate on the present. If you want to follow TR please add that to your signature. If you can add the most recent curve numbers to your ss it will help a little but things might be very different now. Now that you will be testing at home you won’t need to take your cat to the vet for curves where many cats are stressed which reflects in the curve numbers. With TR you will need a minimum of two tests each day. Here’s information on following TR when working full time. You might find that a test at +2 will be an indication of whether more testing is needed. If lower than the preshot it very well might.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
 
Just for sake of clarity: I have a timed feeder. if I need a pre-shot number in the morning and we shoot around five, When is the last time the feeder can open for my sugar boy to eat something? 2:30am? (and this goes for the afternoon as well)

he tends to wake me around 4am anyway because then he gets hungry again
 
You don’t want him eating 2 hours before you shoot. They get very hungry when not regulated and also if they drop too low. That is why the testing going forward is so important. I think he might be going low given the pmps. How many hours after you give insulin until you leave for work? Where are you located? If you post first thing in the morning. Maybe a half hour early, someone can help you decide whether to shoot. There are people here from all over the world. Bhoona, @Bandit's Mom is in India for example and I’m in California.
 
I‘m in Germany.. so fairly close to UK ;)
I usually aim for a 4:45/5am (depends on this feral little monster) shot, then leave for work between 5:50 and 6am. I gotta be honest though, if anything is off tomorrow morning I’m calling in sick. Not putting my sugar boys life at risk for a job I don’t like. ;)
 
Would it be possible to move your shot time so that you can get a +2? Then you can set the auto feeder based upon that result. If not even a +1 will help.
 
Tomorrow I’ll be working at a facility that’s closer to my house, so I can leave a little bit later. I could shoot tomorrow around five, assuming that his numbers are OK and then test again at six before I leave for work.

for now I’m working under the assumption that I will probably be giving him a reduced dose tomorrow (like 1.5 instead of 1.75, obviously depending on his AMPS). I just need to prepare myself mentally for something so I won’t panic and not sleep all night. So that’s my working hypothesis right now. Lol

Several times during the week I have a 1 1/2 hour commute so there’s no moving anything around. so I guess it’s good that this is happening now, close to the weekend.
 
Back
Top