10/28 Mikan AMPS 201, +2 158, +4 177: PMPS 225, +2 180, +3 171

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Very Active Member
10/27/24

Good morning.

We got the lab results back. Nothing surprising. It was a bad BG day so the values reflect that. There are some values slightly out of normal range that probably resulted from stress and dehydration. The vet will contact me today to set up the date for the dental procedure.

We also increased her dose last night, hoping to get her numbers down a bit. Fingers crossed!

Hope you all have a wonderful day!
 
10/27/24

Good morning.

We got the lab results back. Nothing surprising. It was a bad BG day so the values reflect that. There are some values slightly out of normal range that probably resulted from stress and dehydration. The vet will contact me today to set up the date for the dental procedure.

We also increased her dose last night, hoping to get her numbers down a bit. Fingers crossed!

Hope you all have a wonderful day!
Good morning Kit, so glad to hear that nothing on the lab work was surprising or out of range. That’s just about the best news you can hope for :)
Good luck getting the dental scheduled.
And good luck with the new dose. Hope it brings better ranges For Mikan:cool::D
Wishing you both a calm and gentle slide back down :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Glad to hear everything looked mostly good. :) Good luck with the increase.
Thanks Heather!
It was a relief that the lab results didn't show anything flamingly bad.
Hopefully, she can get a little more lower :cool: and high :D with this dose.
Happy Monday (if Monday can be happy :rolleyes:) and have a great day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Kit, so glad to hear that nothing on the lab work was surprising or out of range. That’s just about the best news you can hope for :)
Good luck getting the dental scheduled.
And good luck with the new dose. Hope it brings better ranges For Mikan:cool::D
Wishing you both a calm and gentle slide back down :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
I was relieved to see the lab results being almost normal. But her BG related values were worse than previous ones :oops:
The vet suggested switching insulin but I want to wait until the dental is done.
I'm thinking that she will not be able to regulate until her dental is taken care of. Hopefully, we can get that done soon and that will help her regulate better.
Hope you and Ivy have a nice day Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit I'm glad they're was nothing alarming on her labs results, Good luck with the increase and setting up her dental. Hopefully after the dental you will see much better numbers :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Have a nice day Kit :cat:
Thanks Diane!
I am very relieved to see nothing alarming in the results. Phew.
I'm hoping that this increase can help a little, although I really think we can get her dental done for overall better regulation.
I keep telling myself that it will get done, it will get done. Now where did I put my patience pants....? :p
Hope you are having a nice day, Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
I was relieved to see the lab results being almost normal. But her BG related values were worse than previous ones :oops:
The vet suggested switching insulin but I want to wait until the dental is done.
I'm thinking that she will not be able to regulate until her dental is taken care of. Hopefully, we can get that done soon and that will help her regulate better.
Hope you and Ivy have a nice day Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, hoping the dental makes a big difference.
And Levemir is being discontinued (so that may be an issue getting it in the future. There's Canada, but that will be more expensive and kind of a pain. I did it once and it was a headache when I bought Lantus from them before the cost came down in the US).

Let's see what happens after the dental. And hoping the increased dose brings good and SAFE results!!:cool::D
Have a nice day, Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit, hoping the dental makes a big difference.
And Levemir is being discontinued (so that may be an issue getting it in the future. There's Canada, but that will be more expensive and kind of a pain. I did it once and it was a headache when I bought Lantus from them before the cost came down in the US).

Let's see what happens after the dental. And hoping the increased dose brings good and SAFE results!!:cool::D
Have a nice day, Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
We got the appointment - next Monday! It'll be +7 so I could feed/shoot at the normal AM time with a normal dose, and she'll fast from there. She'll use an antiemetic before the anesthesia induction.
It's a relief to have this set up. Hope Mikan tolerates the procedure and her BG gets better!
Hope you are having a nice day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
We got the appointment - next Monday! It'll be +7 so I could feed/shoot at the normal AM time with a normal dose, and she'll fast from there. She'll use an antiemetic before the anesthesia induction.
It's a relief to have this set up. Hope Mikan tolerates the procedure and her BG gets better!
Hope you are having a nice day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh wow, that's quick! Great job! I am glad they will give that additional med to hope she will not be nauseated!
We will be watching and waiting to hear to make sure she's perfectly recovered!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit,
Happy to hear her lab results were mostly good. Sorry to hear about the dental though. Nestle is in the same boat. I'm stressing about that as he's never had it done before and I'm worried about him going under. Hopefully all goes well with Mikan's and it helps her regulated.

Wishing you both a nice and boring night.

upload_2024-10-28_23-35-48.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-28_23-35-48.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-28_23-35-48.jpeg
    37.4 KB · Views: 62
Hi Kit,
Happy to hear her lab results were mostly good. Sorry to hear about the dental though. Nestle is in the same boat. I'm stressing about that as he's never had it done before and I'm worried about him going under. Hopefully all goes well with Mikan's and it helps her regulated.

Wishing you both a nice and boring night.

View attachment 71305
Hi Karolina,
I read somewhere that sugar kitties are at risk of having dental problems that, in turn impact their BGs.
It breaks my heart to think of how scared Mikan will be - I wish it was my teeth that need to be taken care of.
Anesthesia is also scary. Everything is extra complicated for our kitties! :nailbiting:
I hope Nestle's dental goes well - Mikan will be doing it next Monday. Fingers and paws crossed!
Hope your week goes well, Karolina! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top