10/28 Kiki's Charlie PMPS 101 +3 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
[>>>>I'M USING A PET METER = ROUGHLY 30% HIGHER NUMBERS THAN HUMAN METERS<<<<]
I think Charlie is close to a trial. She has been within the recommended numbers 'bandwidth' for 6 cycles. She's on a dose of 0,1. Last night she had 104 at PMPS and 56 at +3, then she had a bounce this morning. This evening she had 101 at PMPS. Hoping that she was finally ready for a trial (and also trying to avoid those low numbers), I tried to not give her any insulin. Now at PMPS +3 she's on 126, which is a bit high for her. I'm now a little bit at my wits end. What do I do? I need advice on what to do in the morning if her numbers are high? Quickly go back to the last dose? Hold the no-insulin for a while longer? If so, how long? It feels like every little move I make right now is crucial, so advice would be much appreciated!!
 
Charlie is bouncing from yesterday's lows. Are still feeding her a small snack at +9? Her preshots are looking better. I'll ask a few people for input on what to do next but those lows last night look like she's about ready for a trial.
 
Looks like you didn't get an answer what to do this morning. She's in the blues so I'd try skipping this morning too. Charlie could still be bouncing this morning from the lows the other night. The worry is that she's going pretty low with the .1U dose. Unless you count the drops and think you can consistently do a lower dose, then no insulin might be the answer. Hopefully we'll get some more answers for you by tonight on whether or not to start a trial.
 
I skipped the insulin this morning again (her AMPS was 185)... I'm curious to see what will happen. If her numbers keep going up like this, I suppose I will have to go back to 0,1 again this evening?? I'll keep you posted.
 
PMPS was 135 so will not give her any insulin tonight either... I think she's doing OK even though the numbers are maybe a bit on the high side still. Her pancreas is definitely doing something!
 
Hi there, not sure if you got the official OTJ trial instructions, so thought I'd post them:

If Charile is green at your normal test times (below 135 on the pet meter), no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give her the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If she gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of her life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh he monthly. Her weight should remain stable. If she seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test her blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.
 
Thanks for the trial instructions, I have seen them somewhere before, but its good to have them here!
After 3 days of trial, Charlie's numbers seemed to to go up and I was feeling a bit frustrated. But now all of a sudden (the last two cycles), the numbers have come down to 110-119, so am starting to feel hopeful again that she can pull through with this!! Will keep you posted : )
 
We love it when people do an "OTJ Trial day x" count in their subject lines - it encourages those still working towards OTJ to see others on a trial.

Go ahead and start a new condo (thread) each day so we can keep track of how she's doing and help if you need it.

Fingers crossed for Charlie! keep it up, little girl! cat_pet_icon
 
OK will do! Unfortunately we had a terrible day today. The fire alarm mistakenly switched on and was on for four hours with the cats inside, before we got home - terrible loud sound - the cats were totally stressed out and the numbers were of course really high tonight (it must have been soo stressful for them : (( ) I hope the numbers go down again tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top