10/28 Frip AMPS 288, +6.5 65, + 10 68, PMPS 65, +1.5 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frip&Grip

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Ouch AMPS 288...

Not sure what happened?
• Fur shot last evening?
• Insulin opened 44 days (I’m not keeping it in the fridge – I tried to keep the last cartridge in the fridge but my pen blocked) – hum… but the insulin looked good yesterday…
• No breakfast this morning (he doesn't seem to like DM wet anymore and Gripet doesn’t either??) – Just gave him LC FF and he ate that…
• Dose too low?

He still looks fine today... purrring and exploring the backyard... cat_pet_icon

Will see results later today..
 
Re: 10/28 Frip 288 Ouch...

Maybe a bit of a bounce from the skipped dose on the 25th catching up (the amount of insulin being absorbed was less due to the skipped dose reducing the depot)
 
Re: 10/28 Frip 288 Ouch...

If your insulin is 44 days old, I'd be thinking about new Lantus. I've never had a problem with keeping the pen in the refrigerator. The pharmacy here keeps all Lantus refrigerated so it's certainly possible that your insulin is losing potency. What is even more possible is that Frips's numbers dropped considerably overnight and you're seeing a bounce. With a low pre-shot, I'm very nervous about what the nadir was. He could have easily been in the 30s. You really need to think about PM tests. Can you move your shot times? Can you set an alarm and get a test?
 
Re: 10/28 Frip 288, +6.5 65

Oh boy.... what a dive!! I thought we were going to have a yellow day...

Sienne, I was going to change insulin soon anyway... My pen is almost empty... it's a rechargeable ClikSTAR... When I kept it in the fridge, I was not able to dial the dose after I removed the insulin with the syringe (I do that to remove the air from the cartridge)… I ended up with lots of bubbles in the cartridge and gave up… Is that what you do?

Anyway, I’m thinking it was not the insulin after all… I need to keep shot time after 11:00.. 11:30 works best…

I’ll try to get PM tests for a while… but he is normally higher in the evening cycle...
 
Re: 10/28 Frip AMPS 288, +6.5 65

wow - what a nosedive! I think he's in league with Spitzer!
 
Re: 10/28 Frip AMPS 288, +6.5 65, + 10 68, PMPS 65

PMPS 65 is a little low... I think I will give him a little HC FF before we go to bed... Will see what the next test looks like...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top