10/28 Comet PMPS 261 - change from drop to .1?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenny and Comet (GA)

Member Since 2020
So, as suggested in this thread, I have been giving Comet drop doses for a few cycles, in search of a dose of insulin that he could get both AM and PM so it would be steadier.

So he's been getting regular amounts for a few days, which is good. But his numbers aren't dropping enough, and when I test his urine, it always goes to brown. (Ketones are negative.) So he is not getting enough. I am thinking I should try going higher again, to .1, and am wondering if that is the right move? Advice appreciated. Thanks.

Editing to add that I am guessing I will not have an answer in time for tonight, as I posted late, but would love to have an idea for how to handle tomorrow, assuming that I get the same sort of results tonight that we've been seeing before.
 
Last edited:
I have to say all those tests threw me until I realized your kitty is on a Libre! You haven't said whether you are following TR or SLGS but since you aren't feeding any dry, and you have heaps of data, I would say you can go back up tomorrow to 0.1u. My thinking is that you haven't seen any nadirs under 150 for the last 8 cycles, and while SLGS would have you hold the dose for 7 days, your ample test data makes me feel inclined to say a wee bit more juice might help. With TR you could have increased after 6 cycles. Where selecting a dosing method comes more into play in your case is knowing when to take a reduction, so please do read this sticky, if you haven't already.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
I have to say all those tests threw me until I realized your kitty is on a Libre! You haven't said whether you are following TR or SLGS but since you aren't feeding any dry, and you have heaps of data, I would say you can go back up tomorrow to 0.1u. My thinking is that you haven't seen any nadirs under 150 for the last 8 cycles, and while SLGS would have you hold the dose for 7 days, your ample test data makes me feel inclined to say a wee bit more juice might help. With TR you could have increased after 6 cycles. Where selecting a dosing method comes more into play in your case is knowing when to take a reduction, so please do read this sticky, if you haven't already.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Thank you, I appreciate the help! I have read the sticky a few times before (and will keep rereading it); SLGS is more our speed, but we're still new to this and I am hesitant about making changes without input (had a hypo a week after diagnosis, and I am very scared of it happening again). We had reduced to the drop after the nadir was under 90. We'll try .1 tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top