10/28 Clyde +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 93 +8 76 +10 82 +11 71

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87

Ahh, a nice, quiet, boring numbers day! Sounds good, hope Clyde cooperates! :lol: :lol:

Have a good Monday,

Jane
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48

So much for a boring day...at +2 he's at 48.

Does this mean he's earned another reduction?

It would be his 3rd in almost as many days. Also, knowing that visits to a vet's office can increase BG. He is headed there in about 30 min (vet wants to compare BG on my meter and their meter so she can better understand my spreadsheet). Should I try and steer with food now, or see what the vet visit does?
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48

I would give Clyde some LC at this point. You always want to "feed the 40s."

Clyde doesn't get another reduction. It looks like the depot hasn't caught up to the dose reduction.
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would give Clyde some LC at this point. You always want to "feed the 40s."

Clyde doesn't get another reduction. It looks like the depot hasn't caught up to the dose reduction.

I didn't think so, but it didn't hurt to ask :smile:

At +3 he's at 68 without food.

Just got back from the vet. She is reading all of the material I gave her on TR. She seems supportive. Her background, she had typically used PZI and Vetsulin. It was only recently because of one of her newer associates she is using Lantus. She has a couple of concerns that I may be testing too frequently: build up of scar tissue in the ears, Clyde will start to dislike all of the testing if done long term, and I won't be able to sustain it.

Right now she agrees with my reduction to 0.75 but wants me to do a curve at home today and call her with the number before I do the evening shot.
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48 +2.5 54 +3 68

At +4 he's still at 68 and I got my exercise for the day hunting him to check his BG :smile:
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48 +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68

Just tell her that you're getting some help from the FDMB and there are LOTS of people following the protocol. I've never heard anyone say that their cats ears got so much scar tissue that they had any problems.

My vet looked at my spreadsheet (and saw all the tests) and said "Wow! Her ears look great for as much testing as you do!"

Good to hear that she's being supportive and it's GREAT that she's learning more about how to deal with any future kitties that have the diabetes diagnosis! You're now teaching your vet something new! (lots of us are...LOL)

Looking pretty good today! Hope he surfs safely for you!
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48 +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68

The ears can build up scar tissue over time but if you use a really fine gauge lancet...either 30 or 33....and just poke lightly along the edge, he should be fine. Warming his ears and using a meter that doesn't require much blood also helps. We've been at this three years and test a lot and her ears look great...no scar tissue.

Good luck with this dose. It's best to no.t take reductions too close together...you want to give the depot from the higher dose time to drain a bit so you can see how the reduced dose works. While the depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles, in most cats, it's likely about four but ECID.
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48 +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68

That's good to know. I'm using the Relion Ultra-fine lancets (33 gauge) with a Relion Confirm meter so I don't need much blood (3 µl). When he decides to hold his head still, I am free-handing a shallow poke on the edge. :smile: Otherwise, well, it's not always exactly where I want it to be, but I get it done.

She was a little confused about what the numbers on my meter meant since they were lower then what was showing on her meter. (She has an iPet, which is designed for cats. I understand after doing some research it's similar to an AlphaTrack.) I was prepared with the chart that BJM posted in one of my threads that gave an approximate equivalence between the meanings of a human vs feline calibrated meter.

I did tell her about the FDMB. Hopefully, she will check it out. She does have a cat who is diabetic and that was diagnosed about 6 years ago.

I noticed when the vet's office pricked the ear for the sample, they used the outside of the ear, while I've been using the inside. Is there any advantage of one or the other?

At +6 he's 93.
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde AMPS 87 +1 79 +2 48 +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 9

The pet meters run about 30 points higher, give or take 20%

It doesn't matter what part of the ear you use to test. Blood is blood, it doesn't matter where it comes from

Sure hope that if she has a diabetic cat of her own, she'll give the TR a try! Be kind of cool to have a vet here learning the protocol, using it on their own cat, and getting them under better control (or OTJ completely)

Nice safe surf for Clyde!!! Way to go Will!!
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde +1 79 +2 48 +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 93 +8 76

At +8 Clyde is at 76. So far a nice fairly uneventful day with the numbers :smile:
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 93 +8 76 +10 82 +11 7

At +11 he's at 71.

The vet likes his curve, agrees with the dosage we've reduced it to, and would like me to call in to their office next week with another one.

I'm hoping the reduction holds and he gets a nice green/blue week.
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 93 +8 76 +10 82 +11 7

The vet better like it! It don't get much better than this!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 93 +8 76 +10 82 +11 7

Very nice cycle for Clyde! Great numbers! It is nice too that your vet is supportive. Always a plus. My guy was adiabatic for close to 5 years before He crossed to the Bridge. I tested alot too, and never had any issues with scar tissue. Surf well tonight Clyde!
 
Re: 10/28 Clyde +2.5 54 +3 68 +4 68 +6 93 +8 76 +10 82 +11 7

Very nice cycle today!

The pet meters run about 30 points higher, give or take 20%

Actually, the higher the BG, the more variance between the Pet meters and human meters. The 20% variance is the allowable variance for a specific meter type to have. So the variation allowed in human glucometers is 20% from reading to reading. The 20% does not refer to comparisons between meters.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top