10/28 Alska AMPS=407 PMPS=311

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
I think he has become insulin resistant so all I can do is keep him comfortable until he succumbs to this disease.

No reason to keep posting condos anymore.

Sorry - I am just very disappointed.
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Robin!!!

No reason to give up. Do you honestly believe Alska became a diabetic in five months? Well he didn't and he isn't going to be " cured" either in five months.

Go look at Autumn's spreadsheet We've been up and down the dosing scale multiple times. Look at Lucian's spreadsheet. He and Deb have been dancing for awhile too.

This is NOT a sprint it's a marathon, but it is also not a death sentence either.

if he's insulin resistant then you keep jacking up the dose until you break it or you switch insulin. There is no magic formula to fix them all we can do is work with what they give us.

So no more giving up!!! Lace up those steel toed ballet slippers and get back on the dance floor!!! The music is still playing and your dance partner is waiting.

Also remember REGULATED is 240 or under at preshots and 100s or under at nadir.

Now a very basic: Did you retest that amps? Are you sure he's that high? Autumn did that a few days ago and on retest she was actually 85

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Robin,
ALSKA'S not giving up and neither are you...but I know EXACTLY how you feel this morning. Look at Dakota's spreadsheet - I shot and shot and raised and shot and raised again - nothing but higher and higher numbers...and higher numbers....feed lowest carb I can find, he either won't eat it or it doesn't lower that ugly number.

Then, suddenly a few days ago, WE BROKE THRU! We've seen more blues and greens in the last 6 days than we've seen since he arrived at the end of May!!!!

KEEP Pokin' Robin - you're NOT alone and you ARE doing things right....BIG HUGE LOOOOOOOONG HUG!!!
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Hello Robin!
Never say die! cat_pet_icon
Are you sure your glucometer is working properly?
Could it be that the insulin itself is damaged in some way (became intransparent or something else has happened?). Do you have a possibility to try the other cartridge of insulin?
Are you sure your dearest fluffy is not suffering any inflammation (for example, UTI)?
Any changes regarding food and feeding regime? Maybe Alska is constantly stealing your candies at night? (Ok, I'm just joking regarding the last question, trying to cheer you up ~O) )
If all the above are not the issue, I would consider a further dose increase. What about 2U BID? Looking at Alska's numbers I think 2U would be safe atm. Well, of course, I'm not an expert.
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

I don't understand. We were there... August and September his numbers were good and then October hits with a new batch of pens and kablooey! I didn't retest this morning because he took off while I was getting another test strip out. He didn't eat much of the raw food but snarfed the Tiki. Could it be because he is a heavier cat now - at least 11 or 12 pounds? Could all the pens in this batch be bad? If I hadn't had to dole out several thousands of dollars for an emergency root canal that insurance would not cover then I would take him to the vet to switch insulins. I may just do that anyway. Maybe he should be on Levemir or Prozinc. I just don't know.

Thank you all for the encouragement.
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Robin, please, do not rush. And yes, I have no doubt that gaining some weight could be the reason you are searching for. 1,75U is not a large dose. Wait a little, relax and think about increasing a little ;)
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Lyresa

We'll blame Ronda for these crazy up and down boys!!! :razz:

Even though he is no longer a foster - I may give her a call and see if she has any ideas. The danger there is that she will want me to foster another one...
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

HEY ROBIN! GOOD IDEA! It's Ronda's fault!

You're only shooting 2 units? We were shooting 4+units before we broke thru! I even decided I'd missed the right dose and took him back down to 1u then marched back up....right back to that 4u's. TODAY I only poked 2.75u's!! It COULD be the pens too - I think my last one was weak.

BIG HUGS! Ronda's ALWAYS posting babies that I'd love to raise...good thing I'm nowhere near her....she flew Dakota 5 hours to me....
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

There are so many factors that could be at play here including Alska just begin a cat.

I really wish it was feed x amount of food at x percentage of carbs to a cat that weighs x and add x amount of insulin. It just isn't Every Cat Is Different.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

NO NO NO! If Lucian and I can get thru the hell that we have, you and Alska surely can get thru this setback!

You have no idea how many tears I've cried, how many things I broken (seriously, just out of anger)! How many times I just wanted to throw in the towel! Right now, with the way Lucian is doing, I'm feeling the same thing. But you cannot give up! You're too good a momma bean for that! At one point I was starting to think that I should have put him down when he was sick in the hospital. I feel so bad for even letting that thought cross my mind.

When things aren't going well, you'll run the gamut of emotions, anger, fear, depression and sometimes they hit you all at once. Been there.......but Hon, you can do this and Alska will be ok, you just gotta hang in there.

Maybe you need to consider a vet trip, make sure he hasn't got a UTI or bad teeth or some other infection that can make their BG levels go sky high. I may be having to do the same thing VERY soon. If you can't afford it, check with DCIN and see if they may be able to help you with at least part of it. I may have to do the same if Lucian's vet won't let me make payments. I hate being broke!

But Hon, you can't give up, you and your baby have too much invested to quit now. We're all here for you.

Much love girl! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

yeah, I would switch to Lev.... one of my cats had erratic numbers when on Lantus but she was smoother and even acted better on Lev - within 2 days! So, changing to a more gentle insulin will help.

Also, if you look at the ss numbers, earlier you tried the 1.75 but it was too high so you dropped down.... last nite you shot 1.75 and then in the morn, you gave the 2nd shot of that dose.... because you don't know how low Alska went overnite, I would be willing to guess that the 400 number is just a bounce from going low!

You are doing just fine and about the only thing I would suggest would be to get one test just before bed because there are some cats who do go lower at night time... you may catch a low green and need to feed some higher carb before you go to bed and then you will not wake up to a high red number!

There are some cats who are very sensitive, and they can register a slight bit of stress or a tiny bit of carb diff in food, so that's another factor to consider.

Your signature says adopted 9/28/13, so maybe some adjusting in that regard is ongoing.

You are doing fine, so just continue on as you have been because he needs the insulin or his body will slowly starve. We have all been at the frustration point, and many times, but we just plug along and get by with a little help from our feline diabetic friends.

I am betting you can try the drop method as well, to make your doses fat or skinny, and that will help with the numbers. You need to know that in the middle of his cycles, he could well be getting terrific numbers, but you just don't see them because of no numbers along the 12hrs... if they were very low, you would be seeing high preshot numbers like the 400, but you are getting quite decent preshot numbers..... you ARE doing just great.

Gayle
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Thank you all for the kind words and for being my cheerleaders. I don't know that Alska is noting any differences with being adopted except he has been scrapping with one of my civvies. It's all noise and Alska wears the marks but takes the win. He did get a micro-chip on adoption day. Don't think that is doing it. I think I may break out the emergency credit card and take him to the vet. Probably not a UTI but maybe some dental problem. We have a great vet right in my neighborhood that the foster agency uses. He didn't even squelch at the idea of a raw diet so he's a keeper.

I also wondered if the 407 was a bounce. I will look at before bed shots this week. That will give me at least a +5. Maybe his cycle at night is not as flat as his daytime one.

Debbie - thanks for the kick! I needed that :razz:
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Ruta - thanks for your kind words. All my cats are on raw and Tiki so there are no candies in the house to steal. I have just raised him to 1.75u so I will give it a week to see if this is a good dose. It may be too high and then I will have to fat and skinny his dose down a little.

He just may not be a Lantus baby.
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

I think it's in Lucian's condo yesterday or day before, there are several antibiotics that are good and one that is a no-no. Lucian had it in the hospital and didn't have a reaction, thank goodness. But, as I understand it, you could lose them if they do. So I asked everyone which ones are good and got several answers from the 'board angels'. o:-) o:-) o:-)

Just in case there is some type of infection, you'll know what to accept or refuse from the vet. OH! It's Convenia that you do NOT want. I think that's spelled right. That antibiotic was designed for skin type infections, but the vets want to give it for anything and everything and even though the chance of reaction may be fairly rare, it's not worth the risk in my opinion, so stand your ground girl! I have to write all that stuff down, got CRS ya know! ;-) I'm sure there is another one, not as dangerous, but also not a good idea, but can't remember what it's called. But there are several that are safe for kitty if he needs it. :thumbup

Just trust me when I tell you, I truly doubt that there is anyone on these boards that has not been as frustrated as you are right now. Sometimes over and over.......hear me Lucian??? :lol:

I'm quite sure, if using Lucian's new pen doesn't make a difference, there's a good chance of an infection somewhere and we'll be taking a ride! He has done too well on the Lev to suddenly start throwing the kind of numbers he has in the last week or so. When Lev looks like Lantus for Lucian, something is wrong. :o
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

Yeah, they know about me and Covenia. I have stickers on his file to remind them. They gave it to my civvie for his bite wound that would not heal. Afterwards I found out that the reason I got to see the vet that day is because everybody else knows not to take an appointment with him. I didn't realize what he gave him until I got home. It did heal him though and there were no after affects - I watched him for 60 days, scary.

Poor Lucian. I hope he is okay so when they are both over their little maladies they can get together and play like they used to. Did you take Lucian to the vet recently or are you still just waiting to see if he resumes his appetite?
 
Re: 10/28 Alska AMPS=407 - giving up

No I haven't yet. With the appetite issue, I think that he just doesn't want as much because he had been running so much lower. For some reason, he only eats half of what I give him, but 2 hrs later, he wants the same amount again. Instead of eating 1/4 can every 4-5 hrs like he used to, he wants to eat 1/8 can every 2-3 hrs. I haven't a clue. Sometimes he goes a little longer between wanting something, not really any kind of schedule. He's turned into a snacker. But hey! He was a grazer for 14 yrs, he never ate much at any given time. Guess he's decided he likes it better that way, but it's a real PITA during the night. ohmygod_smile

Good! I'm glad you know about the antibiotic issues. I had remembered that I didn't want him to have what he had before, whether he had a reaction or not. He could always develop an issue with it. Will make sure that Lucian's file has a No Convenia rule when I take him back. :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top