10/28/22 - Squeaky PMPS 394 AMPS 47 PMPS 40 end of life question

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
PLEASE SCROLL TO BOTTOM FOR 911 THANKS


Last spreadsheet post was in April, but please read my post from yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-diabetic-cat-not-eating.270108/#post-3011870

Today's spreadsheet:

Why do cats always get their way? They are purr-suasive!

Oh I see that JL and Chip answered my question a lot. Further info and advice would be helpful.

Squeaky is winding down. In addition to all his other issues, he has cancer. As of yesterday, he is not peeing in his box any more. However something about him still feels vital and interested in life. He is not suffering. We played chase before his meds this morning and he did run. He just isn't eating much at all. He likes an organ mixture and sometimes eats a little kibble. As per JL advice I did syringe him a little baby food and I will take him outside in the sunshine in a little while which will help a lot I think. I also think he needs a small dose of fluids.

All the eating tricks, don't work any more. He even turns up his nose at tuna. Animal communicator says he says he is ready to go any time. That there is a smelling problem which makes it hard for him to eat. This is the issue, he is not eating..... which is natural and normal at end of life, however I'm not sure he is quite there yet.

Thanks to everyone for just being there. Since I felt we were doing pretty well, to save time I didn't post every day but it was so comforting to know you were all there in case something came up.... and here it is. Wishing that you all and your sweet kitties are thriving!

Thank you so much. Much love and big hugs,
Jan and Squeaky

@carfurby
 
Last edited:
Just stopping in to send love and hugs! I have found they generally do tell you when it is time. Having said that it isnt an easy decision nor one anyone else but you can decide :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Support and love for whatever happens you know him best and know what he needs <3 <3
 
Just stopping in to send love and hugs! I have found they generally do tell you when it is time. Having said that it isnt an easy decision nor one anyone else but you can decide :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Support and love for whatever happens you know him best and know what he needs <3 <3

Thank you it was helpful to read that. He has not told me yet.
 
When the end is near they just naturally stop eating, but can still be loving. Simba just slowly stopped eating. One day she went to sleep and never woke up. Just love Squeaky and make the most of the time you have left. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you all for your lovely messages of compassion and care, I am so grateful for all of you. Thank you also for your stories. Squeaky is enjoying being outside right now, it's a pleasant sunny day. I feel that we are doing this well. Thanks for your help, in the past and now. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
When the end is near they just naturally stop eating, but can still be loving. Simba just slowly stopped eating. One day she went to sleep and never woke up. Just love Squeaky and make the most of the time you have left. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sending you love and hugs, just keep loving on him, we are here for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
:bighug: :bighug: not much more I can say, but you will both be in my thoughts.

Thank you all so much. Squeaky is enjoying being outside today as he sleeps in the shade.
 
I’m sad to read this Jan. It sounds like he’s enjoying some things. You will need to make the decision I think as he’s so connected to you. I hope for a peaceful passing when it’s time to cross.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you Elise. it is so nice to hear from you and others who have helped us in the past! Glad everyone is still here, hopefully with kitties.
 
HERE IS THE 911. Hi friends, Squeaky is nearing end of life and is not eating regularly. This morning, Squeaky's AMPS was 47. I gave him some honey instead of a shot, he ate a few kibbles and I syringed him with baby food once. He enjoyed being outside during the day and ate some rabbit several times. However this evening his PMPS was 40. Again no shot, and I put some honey on his tongue, afterwards he would not eat. I fear he will not make it through the night. I will keep offering him different foods. Nights are harder because I have to wake up three times to try to feed him and he doesn't always eat. Ideas? Or how should I be prepared for.... what? Diabetic coma? Dying in his sleep? Thanks in advance for any responses. @Bandit's Mom

Update he did eat a little raw organ mixture.... but I know it's not enough to keep his BG high all night..... What will happen?
 
Last edited:
Hi Jan, I am so sorry to hear that Squeaky has cancer and is nearing the end of his life. I am afraid I have no experience with this. Since you skipped the AM and PM shot today, the depot can influence his numbers only to some extent. Did you get another test? How is he doing?

Sending you hugs and hoping that Squeaky passes peacefully when his time comes. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

(It felt like to old times to read your kitty puns/jokes)
 
Hi Jan, I am so sorry to hear that Squeaky has cancer and is nearing the end of his life. I am afraid I have no experience with this. Since you skipped the AM and PM shot today, the depot can influence his numbers only to some extent. Did you get another test? How is he doing?

Sending you hugs and hoping that Squeaky passes peacefully when his time comes. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

(It felt like to old times to read your kitty puns/jokes)

Thanks Bhooma, yes it feels like old times, it was about 2 years ago that we started this journey and I am happy to communicate with you and everyone again (although not happy about the circumstances).

He ate a little after his PMPS test, but I fear it was not enough to change his numbers much. He is in the corner of the room curled up in a ball, asleep. Lately when he sleeps I worry about him. He has gotten very skinny with bones (spine) protruding.

Stopping eating is a normal end of life response...... The thing is I don't think it is wise to force-feed him with syringe and if he is not accepting food.... and his BG numbers are low..... perhaps I should just not worry about it and allow him to pass? Probably I will try to wake up every two hours during the night to try to feed him (ugh).

We ended up having such a nice day today outside and this evening he came and sat on my lap. But he is so weak. He is definitely declining, not peeing in his litter box any more. And he looks very weak. He is not suffering, though. I have an end of life coach (Bright Haven) and she says, sounds like he is not suffering; in a case where an animal is so well supported, it is the caregiver who suffers more with worry and concern.

Well I am going to the kitchen now to take some raw chicken out of the freezer. he seems to respond best to rotating his foods.

Thank you for your response; I hope you and Bandit are both doing well.
 
911 Well I am going to sleep now (for 2 hours). Squeaky has not eaten more. I will try to feed him again in 2 hours. Hopefully he will survive the night. Many thanks to all who have answered and supported us over the years.
 
I'm glad you and Squeaky had a nice day and that he is not suffering. Although I have not followed your journey until now, I believe Squeaky knows you are doing everything you can to make him comfortable.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad you and Squeaky had a nice day and that he is not suffering. Although I have not followed your journey until now, I believe Squeaky knows you are doing everything you can to make him comfortable.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for your kind message. I think you are right, that he knows. I am not able to sleep, and we have been comforting each other. He has been laying on the bed (which is a thin futon on the floor) next to me, and we are together. It is lovely. I think the angels are coming and going, however it also could be that he will make it through another day or two.
 
When the end is near they just naturally stop eating, but can still be loving. Simba just slowly stopped eating. One day she went to sleep and never woke up. Just love Squeaky and make the most of the time you have left. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Carla, was Simba a diabetic cat? Sending hugs back to you. Thank you for your prayers all these years. It has meant a lot to me.
 
Carla, was Simba a diabetic cat? Sending hugs back to you. Thank you for your prayers all these years. It has meant a lot to me.
Simba was my civvie, but she died of cancer. All I could do at the end was make sure she was comfortable. I chose not to force feed her. I think they know that their bodies are shutting down and don't need food. It's not easy. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Gabby's numbers were all over the map as she was nearing her time. She was in multi-organ failure (high blood pressure resulted in cardiac issues, kidneys, etc.) She had lost considerable weight. FWIW, there was a point where I knew it was time. She told me that she was tired of fighting. It broke my heart but I listened.

Squeaky will tell you.
 
Simba was my civvie, but she died of cancer. All I could do at the end was make sure she was comfortable. I chose not to force feed her. I think they know that their bodies are shutting down and don't need food. It's not easy. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Gabby's numbers were all over the map as she was nearing her time. She was in multi-organ failure (high blood pressure resulted in cardiac issues, kidneys, etc.) She had lost considerable weight. FWIW, there was a point where I knew it was time. She told me that she was tired of fighting. It broke my heart but I listened.

Squeaky will tell you.

Thanks so much Carla and Sienne. I loved your quote, Sienne.

He didn't eat anything all night last night, had just a little baby food this morning. He's still active! Wanted outside first thing but it was cold. Came in and jumped up on the sofa. He's getting really skinny. He is my teacher.
 
Don't worry, Squeaky will tell you his time has come. For my Zoé, she stopped eating and was communicating less and less, as if she needed all her energy to get ready! One day, she looked at me and I knew....
Sending you all my prayers! This is not easy... :bighug::bighug:
 
Don't worry, Squeaky will tell you his time has come. For my Zoé, she stopped eating and was communicating less and less, as if she needed all her energy to get ready! One day, she looked at me and I knew....
Sending you all my prayers! This is not easy... :bighug::bighug:

Thank you this is helpful and encouraging (that I will know what is the right thing to do). He's definitely not ready to go, yet!
 
Back
Top