10.28.13,Shadow,AMPS~101,+3~64,+6~99,PMPS~102,+3~72,+6~62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steven & Shadow

Member Since 2013
0.25U @ AMPS 101
Fed 1.5 oz. Friskies Turkey Giblets Pate at PMPS

* I decided to shoot low to stay low since I can do paperwork at home this morning. I think I gave him some insulin but 0.25U looks like next to nothing.




Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107048
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,

It is difficult at first. The most important thing is to be consistent with the amount.

Just wait until you get to the one drop.... ;-)
I had to practice and backtrack because I found nothing came out at all with my syringes. I had to experiment.

Hope you and Shadow have a great day.
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,

That's because it is next to nothing!!

There are even 2 doses smaller if you can believe that! .1 and what we call "some"

Insulin is a very powerful hormone. I was shocked at how little we use too!

How's Shadow doing this morning?
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,

Shadow is sleeping and snoring right now but he was active from 4am to 7:30am. I'm thinking I'll do a BG test at +3 since that seems to be when the Lantus kicks in by his history.
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,

Great job shooting! Hope you got some rest last night.

Out here we have a saying that goes...Never trust anyone who lives below 6,000 ft...unless they have a cat!
:lol: :lol: :lol: our house is at about 3,000 feet elevation...we live in the foothills of the mountains. We consider anyone who lives in a place with less elevation changes to be flat landers. We get slot of tourists here and even at that change, they huff and puff :lol: :lol: you must really see it!

Have a great day and hope he has a perfect green surf.
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,

Steven your boy is coming down the dosing ladder so quickly...how exciting!!

I weened hank from .25 to .10, to 2 drops, one drop, etc... And you are right, you NEVER feel confident that you got the right amount or any in there. There have been all kinds of kitties on the board that need a drop for awhile. But once they start earning reductions on those teensy micro-doses..you know where you go from there (anti-jinx)
I am so impressed how far you have come in such a short time. It's only been just over a week right?

something you said earlier:
All this makes me wonder what was going on inside of him when the only thing I was doing was checking his urine glucose from time to time and following the vet's not always timely advice.
No kidding! Can you believe how much he has benefited from all you have learned. Awesome job!

I don't know about those altitudes (I'm in the hill country but nothing like that) but LOVE your saying too about not trusting anyone below 3000 ft el... unless they have a CAT! That could be the end of many sentences.

Go Shadow!
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,

Yeah, well the flat land out here is 4,500 ft (Reno). Reno of course gets its share of tourists and yeah, they huff and puff. The skiers from AZ, Texas and what all really huff and puff at the nearby ski areas, most of which are above 7,000 feet.
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,+3 64,+6 99,

Shadow's +6 results were a little higher than expected.....99. Not sure what to make of it except that maybe I didn't really give him much insulin. I'm going to feed him some LC food in 30 minutes unless I hear otherwise.
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS 101,+3 64,+6 99,

That's fine..several small meals are better for a healing pancreas than a couple of big ones anyway

Don't read too much into one number. Nadirs can and do bounce around and aren't always going to be at the perfect +6 every cycle.

Looking great Steven!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS~101,+3~64,+6~99,+9~110,PMPS~1

Gorgeous cycle Steven!!

DId you shoot? I see your PMPS number so think you did. But I don't see your shot in your SS.
Did you give him .25?
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS~101,+3~64,+6~99,+9~110,PMPS~1

Yes. Shadow got his 0.25 units of insulin at PMPS. I had some trouble with the syringe and wasted a unit or so getting it right. So far, so good.
 
Re: 10.28.13,Shadow,0.25U@AMPS~101,+3~64,+6~99,+9~110,PMPS~1

Looking great Steven and Shadow!

Doesn't look like Shadow is going to need a lot more help. He's really doing fantastic, especially if you've been on insulin for over a year

Maybe Shadow doesn't like us talking about him :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top