10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157 PMBG 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107037

Good Morning wonderful people @Lantus board . . .

I attempted to copy yesterday's condo as a link up top . .. not sure if I did it correctly though ???

Monet's BG @5:45AM (EST) was 157 . . . so here I am again tryig to decide to give him his shot or not. I'm thinking I will hold off and test him 2nite when I get home from work to see where we are. His last shot was on Saturday (Oct. 26) @7PM (EST) - .5 unit. He is acting nornal this morning and ready for his breakfast :lol:
My husband is home working today so he can watch him to make sure he continues to act normal.

Hope everyone has a great Monday and all Kitties get good numbers today !
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Morning Rise,

A very nice number for Monet this morning :-D :-D I have no dosing advice - just wanted to stop by and say Happy Monday!

Jane
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Hello :-D
Your link to yesterday's condo worked fine. Good job.

You say that Monet's BG is 157 at 5:45am. I skimmed through yesterday's condo and it said that you are trying to hold to a 7am/7pm schedule, is that right? Since you are using the Alpha Trak and are not going to be home today, if he stays around 157, I would skip the shot, like you suggested. If you can test again at 7:00am and he has gone up, then you can think more about giving some insulin. Whatever you decide, I hope you both have a good day.
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Thanks Jane and Dyana for your comments!

After I tested this morning I had to leave for work (no shot) ...I work from 6am until 4pm. My husband feeds Monet ( & Picasso) around 6:30/6:45 since he works from home. He has not yet gotten comfortable with testing Monet by himself...but he can and does do the shots. At least he is around the house most of the day to keep a close eye on Monet!

I ( & Monet ) are so fortunate we sound this board .... I feel it saved his life !
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Have you thought about moving your shot time to when you wake up? You'd be able to get a test or two before you leave for work and it sounds like you'd be home in time for your PM test.
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Hi Sienne.... That is an idea I will definitely think about ... i get up Round 4:30 ish and lave the house about 5:45, so I could probably test @4:30 and then again at 5:30

Thanks for the suggestion!
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Good Morning Rise and beautiful sweet Monet ~O) :-D
I have watched your posts but don't think we have met yet! Twice and I are new here too and very happy we found this place, as I'm sure you are as well. Just thought I would mention that I am getting a +11 before Twice's AMPS and it helps quite a bit to see which way his numbers are going. Also offers some peace of mind when I give the shot and have to leave the house.
Have a great day Rise :-D
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Hi Kim and Twice ( and Annie Lizard, Rockford etc.). So nice to meet you!

Thanks for the tip about the 11th hour test.

Twice's profile/story is so heart warming.. . I am so happy you saved him! What a handsome fellow !
I enjoyed reading the profile and know now I need to do one for Monet.. However., his story will not be near as interesting as Twice's :smile:

Twice and Monet were diagnosed about the same time (approx. 2 months a part ) and are about the same age... Just thought that was kind of interesting.

Look forward to following Twice's progress on the road to remission!
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

I'm touched that you enjoyed the profile and I can't wait to read Monet's. I love reading everyone's stories. Yes, it looks like you and I have started this journey at the same time. I find that there is so much extra I learn from following the other "newbies" posts, like questions I have forgotten to ask, or situations that I might yet find myself in. Glad to have met you Rise! We will keep in touch :-D
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Welcome to LL and I'm sorry it's taken me a bit to get round to extend that greeting. Monet (love the name as Monet is my favorite artist and i am addicted to Impressionists) is doing really great.

My sister lives in Simpsonville! Such a small world. :-D

Let us know whatever questions you have.
 
Re: 10/28/13 Monet AMBG 157

Hi Marje and Gracie..... How gorgeous Gracie is and her pals !

You are so right about it being a small world with your Sister living here in Simpsonville. I actually listed Greenville/Simpsonville because I figured no one had probably ever heard of Simpsonville :smile:

I so look forward to getting to know you and Gracie !
 
Thank you....she is gorgeous :-D and itty bitty.

It will be interesting to see if Monet continues this. I would suggest you feed him at what would be +9 and then check him at +12 and see if he comes down. If the pancreas is trying to work, then you will see it bring the numbers down after food.
 
It will be interesting to see if Monet continues this. I would suggest you feed him at what would be +9 and then check him at +12 and see if he comes down. If the pancreas is trying to work, then you will see it bring the numbers down after food.

Hi Marje . . .
Hope things are going great for you and Gracie !

Based on Monet's numbers this morning (182) pre-shot (gave him .5 of a unit of insulin), would your above suggestion still be applicable ? I will not be home at +9 but would be by +10.5 ? His PM BG last night was low 104 . .. so we did not give him any insulin. In fact the last time he had any was on Sat PM (Oct. 26) .5 of a unit.

BTW . . .love love love Gracie's crown :-D
 
I'm glad you shot! The goal would be to see him in all green numbers and let him earn reductions down to a small amount of insulin. We can help you learn to shoot the green numbers.

The feeding at +9 is just to try and see if we can get the pre shot numbers down (e.g. if the pancreas is working, the PS numbers would come down). We try this with cats that look like they might want to stop insulin but if his numbers are creeping back up without the insulin, I wouldn't worry about the feeding at +9 right now. We might try it later.

Thanks....she loves her crown, too :-D :-D :-D
 
Thanks Marje for the info.. U guys r so smart about all of this...it is just confusing as heck to me right now.
Shoot the Green numbers , shoot or not shoot, feed or not feed, test or not test.... Maybe one day I will understand it all.
Let me know when u think it might be time to try the +9 feed option and again I sincerely thank you for all your help and support !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top