10/27 Twice PMPS 292 +2 328 +3 319 +4 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Yesterday
Recap:
326 AMPS
335 +1
295 +2
265 +4
232 +6
151 +11.3


Good morning all ~O) Twice is under 200 minutes before shot time. Should I give him his insulin? I will be here all day to watch him. His dose was Increased for pm last night to 1u.
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157

I went ahead and have Twice his insulin as scheduled. I looked at his chart and decided that as he generally has a bit of a climb then coasts for a bit, I should be able to tell by +2 how he is going to do (and I will be here testing all day if I made the wrong decision). His appetite is very good again today and he is bright eyed and purry. I have started feeding him more throughout the day as opposed to the bid schedule I originally tried, and this seems to help his #s a bit. As I have to go back to work tomorrow, I decided that giving the insulin today was a good opportunity for me to see how he is going to react (possibly) when his numbers are below 200.

Come on Twice Man! Let's kick this beast :-D

Happy Sunday to everyone in LL ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157

You are exactly right. I hope you have a good day, and Twice surfs along real evenly for you.
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157

Hi Kim,

I would have done the same, especially since you will be home all day!! I hate seeing a lower # than usual on a workday ~

Happy to hear how good Twice is feeling :-D

Jane
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157

Exactly the right thinking! FWIW, we use 150 as the "shoot and ask for help" number on this Board if you're new to managing your cat's diabetes. I would definitely get a +2 test.
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157 +2 223

What in the world?! I am sure I didn't do a furshot. Everything was nice and relaxed. Even the smell test was a go. Why the rising numbers Twice? confused_cat It looks like I missed the shot....but I'm sure I didn't. So much for my peace of mind going to work tomorrow. Sigh
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157 +2 223 +4 236 +5 311 +6

Just looks like a bit of a bounce Kim....or NDW (new dose wonkiness)

Those 100 numbers are new to Twice's liver, and it thinks something is wrong. It's used to being at much higher numbers, so when they drop lower, the liver "panics" and thinks there's something wrong and sends out hormones and sugar to bring it back up

Bounces are normal (and an important part of saving their lives). If Twice was "in the wild" and for some reason, his BG went too low, his liver would kick in and keep him alive by raising that number. Mr. Liver doesn't know that Twice has diabetes, or that there is no "emergency" that requires his assistance.

Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, so about all we can do is hang on tight and go along for the ride.

As you progress, his liver will "relearn" what normal is, and not react quite so badly. He won't bounce as high, and he'll clear them quicker

Also, many times, when you change dose, the numbers just get wonky. We don't know why, but if that's what's going on, he should level out in a few more cycles
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157 +2 223 +4 236 +5 311 +6

Good luck with the dosecrease and hopefully he will start to come down now. Come on Twice, work that joose!
Have a great Sunday Kim!
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157 +2 223 +4 236 +5 311 +6

Thanks for checking on our ? Chris and Pam. I feel alot less baffled now. He is also looking a little rough, so the whole bouncy & Mr. Liver scenario helps that to make sense. You will know what I mean when I say I just wish I could explain it to him so he might get some comfort knowing that the rest of his life isn't going to feel so crappy. Instead I will give him extra snugs and the nip while we watch some football :-D
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157 +2 223 +4 236 +5 311 +6

This looks like a bounce to me, as well. Twice's numbers dropped over 200 points in the last cycle. His liver an pancreas are just a little confused. When this happens, counterregulatory hormones and glucagon are released in order to compensate. It can take roughly 72 hours for the bounce to clear.
 
Re: 10/27 Twice +11.3 151 AMPS 157 +2 223 +4 236 +5 311 +6

Thanks Sienne. I am really grateful you gals know how to interpret these charts so well. I know exactly how his poor liver and pancreas feel confused_cat :? :dizcat
 
Poor Twice. He's been in bed most of the day. Still purring but 3rd eyelids are up, he's drooling a bit and looks maybe nauseous. I hope we can get his bg somewhere reasonable soon. I feel so sorry for him and I miss him :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top