10/27 Trinity AMPS 247 +3/121 +6/226 +11/316 PMPS 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeyB

Member Since 2013
I've been away for some time so have no condo from yesterday to note, but please feel free to catch up on the recent past in Trinity's SS.

It's been something of a wild ride with Trinity since the rapid reductions of the 10/1-4 period when she was showing such promising numbers, but I'm sad to report that the reductions didn't hold very well at all.

I'll say first, that despite the higher set of numbers over the last 2 weeks, that Trinity has been her usual healthy self. The only real item that pops into my head about her symptoms are that she is still urinating a bit more then normal. Considering her test results have been mostly 200+ during the recent rises in her dosage, I'm not surprised at this. I do remember during the early October green results that her urination did come back to normal for a short time and look forward to it again when I get her final dosage figured out.

I spent a bit of time earlier tonight re-reading everything I could in regards to Tight Regulation, just to refresh my memory since I've been somewhat busier then usual with work lately. I've put off her recent rise in dosage from 1.5 to 1.75 due to the lower test results that came in after the 1.25 to 1.5 increase. But I think tomorrow morning I will likely go ahead and make the increase to 1.75.

I'm a bit confused how the random blues and greens sneak into her SS when she eats pretty much nothing but 4-8% Fancy Feast, unless she is so sensitive to carbs that the 7-8% varieties keep her higher, and the lower stuff lets her drop into more normal ranges. I've read online of a few cats being extremely sensitive like that, so will probably keep a closer eye on what she eats to keep her on the lowest carb I can get.

As an added note, I did recently pick up a cat vitamin from Hartz to give both of my kitties an added boost to their vitamin intake. Will this affect Trinity's BG levels at all? I give her the two a day recommended crushed up over her wet food since she doesn't just eat it as it is like Nubi does. Cats are soooo particular sometimes!
 
Hi Joey, I found your last post for those who are interested.

Some cats are very carb sensitive. I've heard that Jill's Alex gets a carb boost from freeze dried chicken treats. It's probably best to stick to just 4-5% for a while and see how Trinity does on that instead of mixing up foods with different carb %. You don't need to stick to very low carbs, but consistency is good. There are a lot of things that can impact a cat's blood sugar besides food. A number of us have cats that like to visit the color spectrum on their spreadsheets. :roll:

Do you have a name for the vitamin you are giving? It would be good to look at the ingredients to see if there is anything not FD friendly in it. When I searched for Hartz vitamin for cats, I found one that is a chew tab. Often chew tabs will have corn syrup in them.
 
Here's the link to Trinity's 10/15 Condo. It's ok if you don't have a condo from yesterday to link; we just link the last condo no matter when it was.

You're doing a great job of testing, Joey :-D I do think the dose needs to go back up to 1.75u because she just hasn't had much green on 1.5u. Sometimes they lose momentum and a dose that worked before, won't work now. But also, sometimes it just takes a few cycles on an increase to get them going again.

The blues and greens might be creeping up due to changes in absorption rates. Absorption can vary by up to 50% from shot to shot on the same dose. And if you aren't using calipers to dose, there is probably a little bit of variation there as well based on the inaccuracy of syringes.

If look at the ingredients on the vitamins. If they have any sweeteners, like maltodextrin for example, I would find something else. I looked at the hartz precision nutrition for adult cats but couldn't find an ingredient list. Often times, chews have some kind of sweetener in them.

Good luck with the increase.
 
Found the ingredients list for Hartz Precision vitamins:

INGREDIENTS: Brewers Dried Yeast, Dicalcium Phosphate, Taurine, Potassium Chloride, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Choline Bitartrate, Natural Fish Flavor, Hydrophobic Silica, Stearic Acid, Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (Source of Vitamin C), Hydrolyzed Yeast, Magnesium Oxide, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Potassium Iodide, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Niacin Supplement, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenate, Folic Acid, Vitamin A Acetate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin D3, Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride

Good luck with your dose increase.
 
Wow, Wendy! You are good. I don't see anything right offhand unless it's the brewers yeast but not sure about that and whether it will raise BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top