10/27 Tink AMPS 435, +2=296, PMPS 93 *head spin*

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127409

So, I wound up skipping Tink's PM shot on 10/25. When I got home and tested him at what would have been +7, he was still in the 300's, so I felt I was better off waiting 5 hours and giving his next dose as scheduled, versus using the 18hr cycle and having him get less insulin over a longer time span.

Unfortunately, we've not seen great numbers since then. He's been hangin on the 3rd & 4th floor. :( Of course, I know his depot is depleted, so that could be part of it. Hopefully he'll sink into some more reasonable numbers over the next couple days and I can increase his dose this coming weekend, like I'd planned to do this past weekend before remembering I had that event.

On the bright side, the event was great - brought in around $150k for the no-kill cat shelter that saved both Tink and Hoppy.


PM update: Whoa. Didn't expect a green PMPS! Makes me wonder what the heck he did all day. nailbite_smile He did have a hefty +2 drop, but started out so high I just gave an extra lc meal in the feeder (so he had regular meal at +3 and another at +4) and went to work. I swear, I feel like I'm gambling with his life every time I leave the house - the way he likes to dive. And a couple of the scary drops (in the last couple months) didn't look like they'd be scary at +2 - but went super low from +2-+3. There's just NO way I can get a +3 every day. I could do it in the morning if I moved AMPS to 4am @-) but there's no way I can be home 100% of the time at 4pm for PMPS. Getting home by 5pm is hard as it is some days. And I have to work to support his insulin habit (and ya know, keep a roof over our heads and all). :roll:

Hoping I'm not in for a wild ride tonight. We haven't had a lot of luck with shooting low so far. I swear he must get on the computer during the day and read my posts - every time I mention a dosecrease he does something like this. :roll:
 
Oh my, what a rainbow cat you have! :shock: :mrgreen: I think it's working Tink, you are driving her crazy! Good luck tonight Jen.

Rainbow_Cat_Eye__by_strappermelon.jpg
 
OH yes, THAT part is definitely working!!! @-) :lol: nailbite_smile @-) :lol:
 
+2 = 84, +3 = 69. So far so good. He's gotten some extra lc just to keep him from falling too fast - but I think we've got a nice surf going. :mrgreen:

I told him this morning that I'm tired of the yellow/pink/red and I want to start seeing low blue preshots and upper green surfs. He doesn't normally listen... but I could get used to this! ;-)
 
nice that he's surfing now! woot!

i used to hold my breath every morning when i opened the door to our downstairs, hoping punkin was still alive. 2.5 years of having that be my first thought every morning. ya just do the best you can, jen.
 
I'm not sure why - but I hadn't realized that Punkin wasn't with us any longer (nor had he been since I joined this group). Your last SS entry had me absolutely bawling for you last night. I get so emotional over my animals. It's crazy - I've lost grandparents I was close to and just accepted it as part of life - but even now I tear up as I think about some of the pets I've lost. Most of them I'm able to move on from - but I think we all know that there are those certain pets that we bond with SO much more than others. They just don't stay with us long enough!! Unfortunately, that thought just gets scarier and scarier as pets age or start battling chronic diseases.

We lost our dog Bindy about a year and a half ago - that was devastating. Lost an older cat that same year - but she was one of those that I wasn't as bonded with, despite having her for her entire 17years. She had a good life. But now, I've got Tink and Hoppy - both almost 12yrs old and both with some major health concerns. Tink's diabetes worries me a lot - but I feel like it's at least manageable (at least some days I feel that way - others, not so much). With Hoppy, we just don't know. He was born with deformed front legs and a slightly misshapen head. God only knows what the inside of his body is like. We really never expected him to live a full life - but he has THRIVED. He spent his first several years as a feline advocate for the shelter that rescued him (he was left at a high kill shelter at just 8 weeks of age). He'd attend MAJOR events (Northwest Women's Expo and such - events with attendance in the thousands) and would just waltz up to anyone, wriggle up their leg begging for pets, then flop over for belly rubs. We also dressed my car up as a cat (eyelashes, ears, tail) for all the big Seattle area parades and would have Hoppy sitting on my lap with his arms resting on the window, looking at all the people lining the streets. The comments were awesome. "Look, the car looks like a cat!" "Look, it even has a tail!" "OMG LOOK! There's a REAL CAT!!!". :lol: This cat is the poster child for cats that think they're dogs. He's also swayed a few self-proclaimed "cat haters". They say they hate cats... but within minutes of meeting Hoppy, they're baby-talkin' to him. :lol: Here's a pic of him at a cat show we attended (he's only about 3yrs old in this pic). You can see how enthralled he is with all that's going on.

Anyway... long story short, I've already lost one pet (Bin) that I was extremely close to and I just know that the next few years doesn't look good either. I always wish they will just pass in their sleep one night - but it never seems to work out that way. Definitely the worst part of having pets.
 

Attachments

  • Hoppy-small.jpg
    Hoppy-small.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 155
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top