10/27 Ruby AMPS 247 / + 2 144 / + 3 94 / + 5 69 / +6 108 / PMPS 327 / + 2 304

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Let's see where Ruby goes today! A little uncomfortable shooting in the yellows, means it will be an eventful day usually, but maybe she will level out?

Happy Tuesday everyone!
 
I wouldn’t give mc but would give lc and test in an hour. When you have a lower preshot next time try and get a +2 and feed if lower than the preshot then too.
 
I'm just popping in from work so I can't stay on. That's a 100 point drop. I'd feed a teaspoon of MC to try and slow her down and test again in 30 minutes to see where she's at.
 
I wouldn’t give mc but would give lc and test in an hour. When you have a lower preshot next time try and get a +2 and feed if lower than the preshot then too.
I'm just popping in from work so I can't stay on. That's a 100 point drop. I'd feed a teaspoon of MC to try and slow her down and test again in 30 minutes to see where she's at.

Both of you are telling me different things but my gut is telling me to go with Carla and feed her some MC and test her again shortly.
 
The higher depot seems to be in okay despite the skipped shot and reduction. Try offering food again in 20-30 minutes. How much did you feed her last time?
 
Does she usually eat willingly? Test in 20-30 minutes and offer food again.
The problem is she cleaned her bowl this morning and now she is onto me and won't eat if she knows I want her to. :arghh: I think she is also a bit stressed by the pokings.

I usually feed her 4 meals, the next one would be in about a half hour but she doesn't usually come looking for food again for another few hours.
 
I just got her to eat a small spoonful of MC kibble. I know it's not as good as wet but it's what she will eat right now.
 
That’s fine. The take charge number on the AT meter is 68 so she’s not in danger. If she were to drop under 68 and won’t eat you can put syrup on her gums.
 
Last edited:
She decided that she wanted to eat more kibble so I gave a small to her on top of some wet MC food and she gobbled everything up. Will test again in a few.
 
Hi Katherine, Just saw your 69 - how's Ruby? Have you gotten another test? I'll be around for only about 30 minutes but if you need help - edit your title and throw up the ? mark .

And she's earned another 0.25 reduction on SLGS for going below 90. So your dose tonight is 1.25 assuming she comes up to a safe number to shoot.
 
Hi Katherine, Just saw your 69 - how's Ruby? Have you gotten another test? I'll be around for only about 30 minutes but if you need help - edit your title and throw up the ? mark .

And she's earned another 0.25 reduction on SLGS for going below 90. So your dose tonight is 1.25 assuming she comes up to a safe number to shoot.
Hi Susanne, thank you for checking in!! She's fine. I got scared by 69, so I gave her a drop of honey and some HC dry food that her sister eats. She doesn't seem to like the FF Beef in Gravy HC, so honey and kibble was the best I could do.

Noted re: dose reduction. I hope that we can somehow break this cycle of bounces and have a consistent dose for a few days.
 
Hi Susanne, thank you for checking in!! She's fine. I got scared by 69, so I gave her a drop of honey and some HC dry food that her sister eats. She doesn't seem to like the FF Beef in Gravy HC, so honey and kibble was the best I could do.

Noted re: dose reduction. I hope that we can somehow break this cycle of bounces and have a consistent dose for a few days.
I think you handled it just fine :bighug: I would have tested 30 min after feeding to make sure she was rising.

And I don't blame her for not liking FF Beef Gravy lol - whenever I open it for Jax, I comment to my hubby how disgusting it is (Jax eats it though). Maybe grab a different option next time you are at the store or you can mix honey/syrup into her LC to make your own HC.

Dose reductions keep everyone safe :) You could always reconsider TR if you wanted to shoot lower numbers...I didn't go back through your posts as to why you picked SLGS but you can always switch methods, especially as you have more and more data.
 
I think you handled it just fine :bighug: I would have tested 30 min after feeding to make sure she was rising.
Thank you! I'm starting to understand Ruby's patterns a bit better now that I have data to look back on.

And I don't blame her for not liking FF Beef Gravy lol - whenever I open it for Jax, I comment to my hubby how disgusting it is (Jax eats it though). Maybe grab a different option next time you are at the store or you can mix honey/syrup into her LC to make your own HC.

That Beef in Gravy looks totally BLECH! I have THREE more cans. Maybe her civvie sister will eat it. Ruby is so finicky that she doesn't eat food that has even water mixed into it, much less honey. If I can't get her to eat some wet food, either HC dry kibble or Fortiflora as a topper usually does the trick, but today the Fortiflora did not work.

Dose reductions keep everyone safe :) You could always reconsider TR if you wanted to shoot lower numbers...I didn't go back through your posts as to why you picked SLGS but you can always switch methods, especially as you have more and more data.

I knew shooting in the yellows would lead us down this road today. This is why I'm sticking to SLGS for now. I chose SLGS because I like the idea of going slow, I'm too scared to shoot too low at the moment, and I am still waiting for Ruby's system to stabilize a bit more under insulin before I consider TR.
 
Really? There's no gentle transition period? How does one get comfortable shooting at lower numbers then?

It depends on the cat. Most cats aren’t flat at a particular dosed or awhile and then move to another number range for a time period until tightly controlled. Usually people end up moving up and down in dosing because cats bounce from numbers lower than they are used to being in. Have you looked at other people’s spreadsheets? It was really helpful to me. I’ve tried to make that happen for a few very bouncy cats unsuccessfully. It’s because Lantus is a depot drug and dosed based upon how low it takes a cat I think. When you start to get green nadirs you don’t increase as quickly.
 
It depends on the cat. Most cats aren’t flat at a particular dosed or awhile and then move to another number range for a time period until tightly controlled. Usually people end up moving up and down in dosing because cats bounce from numbers lower than they are used to being in. Have you looked at other people’s spreadsheets? It was really helpful to me. I’ve tried to make that happen for a few very bouncy cats unsuccessfully. It’s because Lantus is a depot drug and dosed based upon how low it takes a cat I think. When you start to get green nadirs you don’t increase as quickly.
I have been peeking at other people spreadsheets daily in an effort to glean some sort of wisdom about how this all works. Most people seem to be on TR, which I am willing to do once Ruby and I get more accustomed to testing. It makes me very jealous to see other cats go OTJ with just a change in diet and small doses of insulin. I guess I’m looking for safe ways to make remission or even a long life possible for Ruby without me having a nervous breakdown every few days because of green numbers. Her diagnosis has really taken its toll on me emotionally, financially, it’s making my relationships suffer, I’m neglecting so many other aspects of my life because I’ve decided to take home testing on.

I guess I need to get used to the bouncing around.
 
I'm glad Ruby came back up for you. Unfortunately bouncing is just part of the process. Hopefully she'll get used to normal numbers soon and bounce less. She's lucky to have you take care of her. :bighug:
 
You are doing great. There are so many things to learn about FD. One is patience pants get passed around a lot. For most it’s a marathon rather than a race. Ruby is very new to FD. I used to get jealous too. It’s normal I think. :bighug:
 
Back
Top