10/27 Noodle AMPS 331 Fructosamine a waste of money??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Noodle was slightly higher this morning than he generally was before I did the dose reduction. He had barely trace ketones so I'm sure the increase was needed and am working him back up. He always seems to feel a little worse after I mess with his dose and after this weekend it's not surprising. I am waiting for a call back from the vet. He mentioned a fructosamine last time but I thought if we were testing faithfully at home it wasn't necessary. Experienced members, would you give me your thoughts on whether that test is of any real value? Many thanks, as always, for all the help. Maybe someday these eggplants under my eyes will go away :?

Christi
 
Hi Christi.

I think the general opinion around here is that, if you are testing regularly, the fructosamine test is a waste of money. I'm sure others will weigh in.

Hang in there. I know this is hard work. Your kitty is worth it, though! :YMHUG:
 
I agree... no need for a fructosamine when you are consistently home-testing. I'm glad those ketones are coming down!
 
Once a cat is on insulin, I don't think a fructosamine test is useful at all.
If you are testing frequently, it is just going to tell you what you already know.
If you aren't testing, it indicates an average over the last 3 weeks, but you won't know if it is an average of fairly flat numbers, a deep curve, or a bouncy cat that is going between 500s and 30s every day.
A curve is more useful for a cat on insulin and even that just represents the day you pick and could be influenced by other things.
A fructosamine test can be a useful diagnosis tool, but after treatment has started other methods are better to monitor progress. Like the hometesting you are doing :-D
 
Thank you all so very much. You verified what I thought might be the case after my research but wanted to hear from the more experienced members before letting myself be talked into anything else :? I appreciate your input and I'll save my money ;-)

Christi
 
some vets insist on them, but i think i can say that all of us who hometest think they are a waste of money. you have a spreadsheet with a bazillion numbers that gives more information than one test that reflects the past several weeks.

you definitely need to get mid-cycle tests in, just one in each cycle, especially since you raised his dose back up to 3.0u. which i think was smart, but then we also need to know how low it's taking him.

have a great evening, christi!
 
Even my vet agrees that it's a waste of money for those who test regularly. if you really want a 2 week average of your cats' BG, your meter probably already has it calculated.
 
I concur! That test is a waste of money. We gather more data by home testing, more accurate data too, as the kitty isn't as stressed out as they would be in a vet's office. Ann is right too - I used to get the averages for a week, a month from my meter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top