10/27 Monet AMBG 116, +2.5 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
Tomorrow, at 8am, you'll want to test, feed, shoot...all within about 10 minutes unless he's under 200. We usually drop to 150 here in Lantus Land, but you're still so new and have so little data, I think it's probably best if you DO get a number under 200, you "Stall", DON'T feed, and post and ask for help.

Monet's BG @ 5am (EST) was 174 ( PMBG 174 +4 - hope that is correct way to type it) ...now at 7:50am his BG Is 116 pre-feeding & shot)(AMBG 116)
so by looking at all of the protocol info what I think is correct is to feed some hc wet food now and NO SHOT ???
He does not seem to be feeling good this AM .... Just laying around a bit too much for his normal routine.
Thanks !

Update....I went and got Monet's (&Picasso's) food out and Monet came ready to eat ! He was not running like usual but walking just fine. I am feeding him some med.HC wet food right now and he is eating well/ normal. I did not feed Monet his normal amount yet and what I did feed him was the Hill's w/d which is higher in carbs than the m/d and ff classic chicken feast which I had been feeding him.
Looks like no shot this AM or less I hear different from u guys ???
 
Re: 10/27 Monet AMPS 116

Do you have flexibility with your schedule? I'm wondering if it would make sense for you to stall for an hour and see whether you can shoot then. However, you will be off schedule for tonight and tomorrow and I don't know if that's feasible for you.

BTW, you realize that the M/D is 14% carb and the W/D is 25% carb? If you are routinely feeding Monet the M/D, I would encourage you to drop the dose to 0.5u and feed low carb food (i.e., the Fancy Feast). We consider the M/D to be MC and the W/D is a very HC food.
 
Re: 10/27 Monet AMNS 116

Sienne... Yes today I do have flexability .... So I could stall and test again in a hour if you think this would be best.
Only thing about tomorrow is I will not be here (work) ....my husband will and he can feed and do shot but not test his BG on his own, so I am thinking that would not work ???

I just started weening Monet off the M/D on Friday ...so I was doing a mixture of food (ff chicken feast Classic)for a few days to make sure it did not bother his tummy.

Since feeding Monet this AM @ 8:0o (EST) he is acting normal again, not laying under the bed.
 
Re: 10/27 Monet AMNS 116

How about getting a test and seeing where Monet's numbers are?

I also think if you have another set of hands when it comes to testing will be hugely helpful -- providing Monet will let your DH test. For the caregivers here where there are 2 people involved, it can really help to reduce some of the stress.
 
Re: 10/27 Monet AMNS 116

Just got your post and tested Monet. Got a reading of 151 (AMNS 151 +2.5) ...hope this is the correct way to write it ;-)
Any additional action on my part right now?

BTW....thanks so much for helping me thru this....I know I must be a pain right now but this is all so new to me and I am tying my best to get my baby better! I hope as I continue to get advise from u guys and read your links and condos I will get better at this.
 
Re: 10/27 Monet AMNS 116, +2.5 151

No worries!!

As for writing out the shorthand for testing, when you don't shoot, you refer to the time as AMBG (AM Blood Glucose vs. AM Pre-Shot).

If you are comfortable shooting and feeding now, go ahead and do so. Since you are transitioning Monet's food to low carb, you'd be safest shooting 0.5u since I suspect the M/D is what's propping up the numbers. As long as you're going to be home to keep an eye on Monet's numbers, have strips and HC food should yu need those supplies, you're good to go.

If you do shoot, i would test at +1 and +2. Any time you are shooting lower than usual, you want to get early tests. If you look in the New to the Group sticky, you'll see what a "typical" Lantus curve looks like. For most cats, the +2 is about the same as your pre-shot number. If it's markedly less, it usually means that it could be a busy cycle when it comes to managing numbers.

I'm going to be off and on the Board this morning. I have a few errands to run. If you need help, put a note in your subject line so folks know to stop in and lend a hand.
 
Re: 10/27 Monet AMNS 116, +2.5 151

Good morning Rise and Monet!!

Got a reading of 151 (AMNS 151 +2.5) ...hope this is the correct way to write it ;-)

OK...close...When I told you yesterday that if you don't give any insulin, you put NS in the U column of your spreadsheet, not AMNS

There are 2 cycles each day. AM and PM...When you ACTUALLY shoot in the morning is your AMPS (AM Pre Shot time unless you decide to skip. It doesn't matter if it's an hour past your "normal" shot time, or 2 1/2 hours....when you actually shoot, is the Pre-shot number (both AM and PM)

IF you decide to skip, then the test number you got when you decided to skip is your AMBG (AM Blood Glucose . There are going to be days when it IS appropriate to skip the shot for a cycle, so when that final decision is made that you're going to skip it, the last blood glucose number you got (the one that made up your mind about NOT shooting) is the AMBG or PMBG number

So for this morning, your Subject line here would read 10/27 Monet AMPS 151 (because it was this number that you actually shot)...in the body of the post you could have said "stalled for 2 1/2 hours due to low readings so our schedule is off now, but I can work around changing our schedule" (Or something like that)

Now tonight, 12 hours after the time you gave the shot this morning is the "New" shot time. You CAN go back 15 minutes per cycle if you want to get back to your former schedule. (so if you gave at 9am, you could do the PM shot at 8:45pm...then the next morning, at 8:30am..etc....until you're back to a time you want for your "normal" schedule.

While you're stalling, you can put the readings you're getting in the "Remarks" part of your Spreadsheet to show them so we know where he started and how he's doing and then be able to advise you when you'd want to shoot.

While you're home today, spend some time reading other's condo's. You'll learn a lot about all kinds of things!!!
 
Hi Chris...thanks for all your comments!

Since it was late in the morning when I received some suggestions, I decided not to shoot because it would have put Monet so off the schedule we are trying to keep him close to (7 am and 7 pm). I will continue to test today and hopefully tonight @7 it will be more clear to me what to do. I will continue to update my numbers ...

I will definitely spend time looking at others condos to become more knowledgeable about all of this. I so hope I am not being a nuisance to anyone during my learning time.

Thanks again for all your assistance !
 
Sounds good Rise!!

Don't worry..you're still very new to this dance and the learning curve is fast and steep. It'll level out soon and just become part of your daily routine

Hope you and Monet have a wonderful Sunday!
 
if you don't shoot and monet is over 100, you can have a "save a strip" day and skip testing. we test after shooting the insulin to see what happens to the blood sugar after the insulin gets in there.

don't hesitate to ask questions - we've all been in your shoes and needing help with a zillion questions - that's what we're here for. there is a steep learning curve and we get it. ask away. :-D
 
Julie, I had told her that yesterday since she wasn't giving insulin then either, but for some strange reason, her vet wants her to do a 2 day curve (I have no idea why...it's not going to tell him/her anything since there's no insulin on board)

Rise, just a housekeeping note..each day when you post your condo, put the link to your last condo into the body of the post. It makes it easier for us to glance back and see what issues you might have had the day before, what you'd already been told, etc. Most of us put it first and then say whatever it is we want to for the new day's condo.

Yesterday's condo
 
Thanks Julie and Chris for your continued support and advise!

I just tested Monet again and his BG was 120.... So 2nite I will not be giving him a shot. Last shot was yesterday(oct 26 @7pm (EST) .5 unit. He seems normal .... In fact he is wanting his dinner already ;-)

Since u guys think it's pointless 2 b testing him Whe not injecting today I am not going to do any more 2nite!
In the morning prior to leaving for work I will test him.... If still less than 150 I will not give his shot ???

I am really confused with what is going on with him ... Since Thursday he has only had 3 shots ( two at 1 unit and then yesterday I reduced to .5 of a unit. I know with Lantus it's best if he is getting 2 shots per day...but his BG readings have not called for that as far as I can tell with my little bit of knowledge about all of this.
 
it's totally possible that once you dropped to the lower carb foods, that's all Monet needed. We've seen it before.

Monet is skirting right along the higher side of normal now on some of his tests, and totally normal on others. About all you can do is try an even lower dose (like.25 or .1) and see if it brings him down a little more and keeps him in safe, shootable numbers
 
Thanks once again .... I have Monet 2nite eating the LC FF Classic only for the first time, not mixing any of the M/D with it. Hopefully I have him totally transitioned off the M/D now. How you have a great evening !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top