10/27 Lucy PMPS=173;+2=101;+3=88;+4.5=85;+6 // little better

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

10/26 AMPS=131; +2=122; +6=124; +8=121
10/26 PMPS=122; +2=88; +3=106; +5=110; +8=146

10/27 AMPS=135; +2=128; +4.5=166
10/27 PMPS=173; +2=101; +3=88; +4.5=85; +6=106

Something happened last night that made her feel unwell right after dinner.
She was doing fine yesterday until dinner time, but half way through the 1st dinner she lost interest.
But in the end, I was able to finger-feed the whole dinner portion slowly.
After eating, she seemed lethargic, and refused to eat the bedtime snack.
When we went to bed, she didn't want to cuddle, but upto this point I wasn't too worried because it's not terribly unusual for her to be like this.

Then at 3am, she walked out of the bedroom towards the LB.
I thought she was going to pee, but I didn't hear anything for a while and she didn't come back either.
So I got up to check on her, and found her lying in the LB.
This is very unusual, she had never done this before, so I got scared that something was really wrong.
I thought she might be dehydrated because it was a warm day and I didn't see her drinking much.
While I was preparing for sub-q fluids, she came out of the LB, and lay on the sofa.
After the fluids, I decided to leave her alone until AMPS in case she needs to sleep it off.

When I woke up 3 hours later, I was happy to find her back in the bedroom, but she completely refused to eat her breakfast.
I've been feeding her Wellness Turkey, and she didn't want any of it.
She was blaming food for not feeling well,
So I gave her Wellness Turkey and Salmon, and this she ate, a little hesitantly but ate a normal portion in the end.
I don't like Wellness T&S to be her regular food because of higher phos. value, but I guess I will have to change the food again to T&S until she decides to accept T again.
Right now, she is still looking lethargic, but I don't think she is in pain or nauseated.

I really really do not understand what made her feel unwell last night.
I didn't feed her anything different, other than her usual Wellness Turkey.
I did start a new case from Friday dinner, and the consistency was different, but that's normal for Wellness.
The new case had the consistency that's not Lucy's favorite, but it shouldn't make her sick.
She pooped this morning, and it was a fairly normal poo, a little gassy smelling but solid.
:!: Is it possible that the small amount of gravy I fed her on Friday morning was causing this last night?
I thought if it was going to do any damage, it would have happened by Friday night.


I really really don't know what happened, and lying in the LB thing really scared me.
I spent the entire morning looking through Dr. Lisa's list, pet food company's websites, etc. etc.
I may give raw foods another try....

Hope everyone's having a nice Sunday.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

Hi Mariko,
I'm so sorry that Lucy wasn't feeling well and still is not quite back to normal. The lying in the litterbox is not a happy thought. Had she just used the lb? It could be because she was dehydrated, so it's good that you gave her fluids. I hope you can find a food that she likes. Rusty eats the Wellness Turkey "product of Canada", but will not touch the Wellness Turkey "made in the USA". I always check the cans (3 oz. cans) before buying any. I believe that the 5 oz. cans are all USA, most of the 3 oz. cans are Canadian, but sometimes you can get a USA batch. There was a Lantus forum thread about this problem in the spring.

Sending healing and eating vines to Lucy,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

(((Mariko))) I hope Lucy feels better soon. That is so worrying. It is possible that the gravy is taking a while to go through her system. I know that canned food takes longer than raw food to process through the system. I can see the effect of too much gravy on Neko's digestive system up to 24 hours later and she is getting raw food, so it might be a little longer for Lucy. Did you manage to get pepcid into her today?
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

Has Lucy ever had an issue with gluten? The HC, gravy-based foods all contain gluten and it can cause GI upset. (It gives Gabby a problem which is why I use syrup or honey plus her usual LC Wellness food to bump up her numbers.)
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

Thank you, Ella and Wendy,

When she walked to the LB 3am in the morning, she didn't use it, she just lay there.
She didn't even dig the sand which she normally does a little before peeing.

I didn't give her Pepcid this morning.
Maybe I should have, but I didn't think of it this morning.
From the way she got sick right after dinner last night and how she didn't want the bedtime snack (also Wellness Turkey), I half expected her to blame Wellness Turkey.
This often happens with Lucy, and it takes a long time for her to accept that food again.
Same thing happened with her old food, Hypoallergenic vet food.
She never accepted this again, but it was fine because she became diabetic and vet food was too high in carbs, and I found out that she does OK with Wellness.
It's really hard to find food that she likes and her stomach can take.
From now on, I will only buy 3oz Wellness even if it comes out more expensive.

Lucy is sleeping on the sofa now.
She is stretched out and looks comfortable.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

Sienne,

I wasn't aware that she might have an issue with gluten.
But maybe she does.
Everytime I used a lot of HC food to steer her numbers before Friday, she got really sick at around the next cycle.
She sometimes refused to eat in the next cycle, and I ended up skipping a shot a couple of times after HC.
That's why I only used a small amount and only once on Friday.
I thought it was a lot of extra HC food that was upsetting her body, but maybe it's the gluten in the gravy.
I had never given her any gravy prior to TP because she never really liked gravy food.
She always preferred pate type. She does not like bits of food swimming in the gravy, different texture in one bite annoys her.

I believe rice has gluten too.
She used to eat Hypoallergenic vet food which had quite a lot of rice, but did fine with that until she stopped liking it.
Maybe gluten in gravy is different?
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

rice doesn't contain any gluten - i had to eat GF for 7.5 months :shock:

you might try eliminating that and seeing if the problem resolves. Gabby isn't the only cat i've heard of that doesn't seem to do well with gluten. anything gravy is likely to contain gluten - it's the wheat in it. wheat, barley, rye all contain gluten.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

I'm sorry Lucy wasn't feeling well last night. I hope she's doing better now. Sending prayers for Lucy.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

Mariko, so sorry to hear about Lucy :sad: It's so hard when we can't figure out what's wrong with our babies :roll:
Hopefully you'll get it figured out soon and Lucy will get feeling better. You are such an attentive Bean. If anybody will figure it out you will.
Sending feel better vines to you and Lucy ♥
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

Mariko

I'm so sorry to read this. I wonder if she might have been constipated? Perhaps she had tried to poo before you came in and couldn't so she just laid there. Have you seen her poo recently?

Sending her healing vines.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy AMPS=135;+2=128;+4.5=166 // something happene

I'm adding our prayers to the pile...I sure hope Lucy is feeling better this evening.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy PMPS=173 // little better

Lucy seems to be feeling a little better this evening.
She hasn't done anything too odd since the lying in the LB thing early this morning although her number is higher than usual.
Thank you all for your vines and prayers.

Julie - You are right. Rice has no gluten. I got confused between gluten and starch. Thank you.
Marje - Lucy wasn't and isn't constipated. She's been pooping regularly, plus I didn't even hear her dig the sand which she usually does vigorously before sitting in a pooping position.

Lucy ate Wellness Turkey from a 3oz can this evening, so I am happy about it.
(I spent 3 hours and nearly $100 at a couple of pet food stores this afternoon collecting more Wellness T&S as well as various gluten-free low phos food including raw, but she decided to eat 3oz Wellness Turkey which I already had, but I'm not upset. This is a great thing.)
She didn't want to eat more than half at first, but with a little bit of encouragement, she finished the 1st dinner.
Her mood seems be still on a lousy side - she hissed when I poked her to give insulin, but she was happy to cuddle before PMPS and purred when we napped together earlier.
So she is definitely improving.

Thank you again for all your vines and prayers.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy PMPS=173 // little better

I forgot to mention......
I still don't know what made her unwell, but I can't think of anything else other than the gravy on Friday morning.
I thought it had been way too long since she had it for it to be gravy, but maybe it's possible for her system to take that much time.

So... I am eliminating all gravy food from her hypo kit.
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy PMPS=173 // little better

Hi Mariko,

Glad Lucy seems to be feeling better, and that she ate her dinner. Hope you solved the problem by eliminating the HC gravy food.

Have a good night,

Jane
 
Re: 10/27 Lucy PMPS=173 // little better

Hi, Mariko, I'm glad Lucy's doing better tonight. That must've been alarming to find her in the LB this morning. I hope the non-gravy experiment helps her out. Have a great evening, and give her some extra scritches for me ♥
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top