10/27 Dante- bounce again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheri & Spyder (GA)

Member Since 2009
I did hold the fat 3.5u

Also delayed 1/2hr this morning (7am instead of 6:30), knowing #1- I wouldn't be home til at least 7-7:30pm, and #2- may as well take advantage of the upcoming time change now, lol

Anyways AMPS = 445 (fat 3.5u) after last nite's +4 = 204

Why exactly DO they bounce like this? Does their body like freak out because it's used to being high and it thinks that more towards normal isn't a good thing?

On a good note.....he was acting like a ding-dong this morning, due to a bit cooler weather. But he and Bonsai were "fighting" under the bathroom door ohmygod_smile
 
Good morning Sheri.
Why exactly DO they bounce like this? Does their body like freak out because it's used to being high and it thinks that more towards normal isn't a good thing?
I'm still trying to figure out what, exactly, a bounce is and why it occurs. PurrFace hit a bounce yesterday after a mostly GREEN day before and now he's back down. There is so much to learn and we are so fortunate to have dedicated people here that are willing to take time from their day to teach us.
Seeing Dante and Bonsai fighting under the bathroom door. At least he's active. Have a great day.
 
good morning Sheri. Hey Dante. No more bouncing.
I don't know the actually answer to your bounce question Sheri. But I was just talking to DH about this before logging on. My layman's understanding is that 1) the kitties get used to the higher numbers and when we try to bring them down with insulin their bodies go on the offense to say 'hey we got a problem here' and it starts producing sugar to get them back into their 'comfort zone.' 2) Using food can help them surf more evenly so they don't go for those big spikes and drops. 3) I think that's why the protocol is start low and go slow so as to get their bodies adjusted to coming down more gradually and safely.

I'm sure there is more to it than that, but this how I make sense of it. I imagine more seasoned/experienced people will chime in.

Hope you have a great day!
karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top