10/27 Cole AMPS 403 / +2 324 / +5 466 / +8 351 / PMPS 587

Odd day - this afternoon showed his numbers rising and then a drop at +8...

Any thoughts on what's happening? Usually by now his numbers are going the other way...

Still acting just fine
 
Good luck with the new dose. I hope it brings Cole into better numbers.

As for what is happened today so far, one possibility is that Cole is simply bobbling around in high numbers. When you take into account that meter variance can be as much as 20%, he looks closer to flat today. Just my observation.

So happy to hear he is acting fine. This is important. :)

Are you checking for ketones? Always a good idea to do this, but especially important when a kitty has been more regularly in higher numbers. You may want to start noting ketone checks and results in the remarks on your spreadsheet, so that you don't get asked the question repeatedly.;)
 
Good luck with the new dose. I hope it brings Cole into better numbers.

As for what is happened today so far, one possibility is that Cole is simply bobbling around in high numbers. When you take into account that meter variance can be as much as 20%, he looks closer to flat today. Just my observation.

So happy to hear he is acting fine. This is important. :)

Are you checking for ketones? Always a good idea to do this, but especially important when a kitty has been more regularly in higher numbers. You may want to start noting ketone checks and results in the remarks on your spreadsheet, so that you don't get asked the question repeatedly.;)

Thanks :) I haven't been checking ketones - do I need special strips for a cat?
 
Nope! You can buy the ketostix at the drugstore. :) Cheap and cheerful option. While Cole is stuck in these high numbers, I'd recommend checking at least daily or even twice per day or more depending on results. When not stuck in high numbers, I tend to check once per week.

Have a read through of this page on Ketones and DKA if you want to know more. It also talks about using a human blood ketone meter, which works very much like a glucometer. In fact, there are meters that check for both, but using different strips. The strips for ketone meters cost a small fortune though.
 
Nope! You can buy the ketostix at the drugstore. :) Cheap and cheerful option. While Cole is stuck in these high numbers, I'd recommend checking at least daily or even twice per day or more depending on results. When not stuck in high numbers, I tend to check once per week.

Have a read through of this page on Ketones and DKA if you want to know more. It also talks about using a human blood ketone meter, which works very much like a glucometer. In fact, there are meters that check for both, but using different strips. The strips for ketone meters cost a small fortune though.
Thanks so much! :bookworm:
 
Early on after an increase, you can see a phenomenon we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness. NDW results in a cycle or two of temporarily higher numbers, possible as a result of the depot adjusting to the new dose.
 
Back
Top