10/27 Buddy AMPS 318 PMPS 312 +4 284

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/27 Buddy AMPS 318

Good luck with the new dose....stick with this for 6 cycles and then maybe increase again, depending on the numbers.

"He usually doesn't use the litter box for such events, but this is a new place he's trying out. . . ."
Does he share the LB with another? He doesn't use the LB when he poops?
Maybe Google that..there is much written...
 
Re: 10/27 Buddy AMPS 318

Pat,

He doesn't like the litter box for poop, period. He uses it to pee though (didn't always but since all the carpets are up in the house, he only pees on the hardwood about 1X a month). I have tried all kinds of things from different litter(brands and scents he likes unscented best), crystals, non clumping, moving boxes to more convenient places (one per floor for a total of 3). Always used the N+1 method for determining how many boxes to have. All this even before I got Jade and he was the Prince of the house. I've just come to accept it. For a while, he stopped pooping upstairs in favor of the hard concrete floor of the basement, but since we had flees this summer, the basement has been off limits as I believe this is how they entered the house. He actually poos in the box more now than ever, about 1X every other day sometimes 2 days in a row.

Tony

PS. I am going to try to move his shot time up in 15min. increments cause this Saturday I have my cousin's wedding to go to and have to leave the house by 5pm. Should I move 15min one time a day or can I move 15 in the AM and PM. So don't like having to do this with a dose increase coinciding. . .
 
Re: 10/27 Buddy AMPS 318

Tony, I was reading through your condo from yesterday. I think the increase is a good idea, hopefully that will start to pull his numbers down!

Just a thought here, try not to get too set in thinking that 0.75u is too much for him. It may have given you a low PS# once, but as Pat said, sometimes the low part of the curve is late and close to the next PS. Also, what was too much before may not be too much now. Dosage needs do change over time, sometimes you need less, sometimes more...there's no such thing as the "right" dose....just the dose that is working now.

Personally, I think he is going lower at night and bouncing after, giving you those higher AMPS. He had the opposite pattern several days ago, lower AMPS and higher PMPS. The bouncing is just part of the sugar dance, he'll bounce until he doesn't anymore. The answer is to keep shooting a consistent dose on a 12/12 schedule, collect as much data as you can and work your way up (or down) the dosing ladder following the protocol. Keep in mind that it often takes weeks (or months) to get regulated.
 
Re: 10/27 Buddy AMPS 318

Laurie,

Thanks for the reassurance. Sugar dance is making me feel like I have 2 left feet right now. We'll see how he does going fat 0.5 BID. I did notice that when he was on 0.75, he seemed more happy and content. I can't put my fingers on any one behavior, just a general overall feeling about him and how he is doing. You are right that perhaps 0.75 may have been an ok dose for him, or he may need a bit more. I will admit that I am very tentative about giving too much insulin ( I know, after shooting blind for almost a month - bad old days before I came here). An aside. I'm glad my vet mentioned the possibility of being able to hometest, but really wished she would have suggested testing all the time before shooting at a minimum. I mean at DX, in the back of my head I kinda wondered about shooting blind. A human diabetic would never do that (unless really stupid), why do we do it to our animals. Ok, back on track. I am gone for too long of a day and cannot re-test even 15 - 30 min late because of my current situation. If I have to stay to get a new reading, that means I have to stay late and then get home late for his next shot. My commute work commute is pretty much a cycle - 12hours. I shoot leave and test/shoot first thing getting home. Not conducive to being able to retest. Possibly getting a new job soon (at least for 3 mos.) that will be 30min. door to desk. The workday will probably be a bit longer, but the time I save commuting will allow me to retest if needed and also to start having a life again. Can't wait till I can Mambo with the Sugar. . . .

Tony

PS. Nice catch on the changeover a couple days ago, I bet he's been going into the high blued during the day now that he's been high in the evenings. . . . wish I could get that data to be sure.
 
Re: 10/27 Buddy AMPS 318

hey buddy! Why are you up on the pink floor? Don't you know all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels today? I hope you get that memo soon and come down and hang out ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/27 Buddy AMPS 318

Thanks Peter, didn't you know, Buddy is a bit of an adrenalin junkie, so he likes it up high . . . . even though poor old dad wants him to come down and be safer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top