? 10-27-25 HELP with Panzer 307AMPS/204@+3.75/113@+8.25/PMPS 129/177@+3/175@+4/190@+5/193@+6

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
I haven't had to make a post for help with Panzer for quite some time. He has been acting off for a couple of months now not sure of the exact date. First I started noticing him second guessing himself to jump up on the chair to the table, that's his test station box, lunch bag & his notebook. I've had to carry him & put him in the box more often than not.

I finally got his spreadsheet updated late last night & had to work today. I've been changing his meds up & taking him off of one all together.(Provincial DC probiotic which I gave him the last of it
10-22. My business is not doing well & my best friend will be looking for a job after the holidays.

I documented on his spreadsheet that occasional runny poop started on 5-28-2025. It's started getting to be more often the past couple of weeks. I thought maybe it's his stomach not agreeing with the chicken beechnut baby food, so I went down to giving him his probiotic every other day in the AM for snack & kept Slippery elm at every other night both mixed with baby food &
Mirilax every other day at lunch. I've had to skip it here & there because of the runny poop,but then he struggles to go but gets small turds out.

Yesterday I got up from my broken sleep at lunch time & he had pooped some runny poop. While I was getting ready to test he puked in the kitchen (water & a tiny bit of food floaties) he got in his box to test & he growled at me the whole way through but let me test & ate his chicky & ate all of his lunch. He went under my bed & laid in his favorite spot for a couple of hours & came into the living room & started to lay in my lap which he does often,but decided to lay on the stool instead. He was fine for the rest of the night. His numbers stayed in the 200s & his AMPS was 307(reference title for #s so far today) When I got home from work right before PMPS shot he squeezed out a couple of small soft turds. He got in his box & I started testing & he growled the whole time but let me do it. I had ordered zobaline from Amazon last week & it finally came today. I have not been able to give it to him yet because apparently I threw the pill crusher away & the pill pockets were expired November of 2024. I tried to get him to eat it out of my hand just the pill (remember the Advil he ate what a nightmare) he licked it but would not take it. He ate all of his food at shot time & laid on my bed. So I ran to Walmart & grabbed a pill crusher & some pill pockets.

He's been favoring his back legs a lot the past couple of weeks & 2nd guessing on jumping,so I ordered the zobaline that I took him off of shortly after he started on cosequin. I don't think the pill crusher will be dry by his +6 PMPS bedtime meal. I washed it with hot hot water it being new.

Should I start him on it tonight with a pill pocket? And what is your thoughts on what's going on?

I'm in the process of filing for bankruptcy long story had to go to court they were going to try & garnish my wages. They wouldn't have been able to because my income is poverty level but 2 more are after me as well. The judge dismissed the one because I told him I was filing a chapter 7. I've retained a lawyer but have to have $300 more before he can file with a total balance left of $898. He wants me to pay it by early December in full. It's going to be a struggle but I'm going to try.

Panzer has not been to the vet since 2023 & I don't have $ to take him. I've been racking my brain trying to figure this out & my conclusions are diabetic neuropathy, stomach issues from what though? & I don't even want to think this or say it but he's been peeing more & I know that's a sign of kidney disease. Please help me help my boy!!! I don't remember how to put a link on here @Diane Tyler's Mom GA . I'm going to try & tag more people not sure who's still on here @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko HELP PANZER
 
Christina , trying to save you some money if you are going to continue giving the Methyl B-12 Zobaline

Another member told me about a long time ago
the Vitacost brand
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6


14.49 for 100 capsules

Tyler/ 16 yrs old and 3 months / Born 4-29-2008 / Dx 9/2018 /Vetsulin 9-2018- LANTUS 12/30/19 / SLGS/TR 1-6-20/ Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health OTJ 1-24 -21
Tyler’s Spreadsheet Passed away 8-26-2024
 
Hey Diane Panzer did really well on it & I took him off of it shortly after starting cosequin. I already ordered the zobaline & got it today, I'm hoping to only have to give it to him every other day but I will check out the other one before I buy anymore.
 
Hi Christina
I’m sorry you have so much on your plate at the moment.
Re the Zobaline… I think it’s a good idea to restart it. I used to sprinkle it on top if Sheba’s food and she just ate it.

What food are you feeding at the moment?
Are you giving any probiotics?
Bron
 
Re; the Zobaline. It should crush easily. Put it in a teaspoon, put another spoon on top and press down. Zobaline and Cosequin can both be given. They work in entirely different ways.
Okay I will crush it up & put it in his +6 PMPS meal tonight. He has cosequin every morning @ AMPS feeding.
 
Hi Christina
I’m sorry you have so much on your plate at the moment.
Re the Zobaline… I think it’s a good idea to restart it. I used to sprinkle it on top if Sheba’s food and she just ate it.

What food are you feeding at the moment?
Are you giving any probiotics?
Bron
Okay I will start him on it tonight with his +6 PMPS meal. I gave him his last dose of Provincial DC on 10-22-25 I thought maybe the baby food was messing with his stomach. He will only eat it in baby food as well as Slippery elm which I just gave him. Should I order more of the probiotic & start him back on it. I didn't want to change anything that I've been doing but $ is really tight but I will figure it out if it's important to start him back on it?
 
Really....okay but they may tell me he has to have his rabies vaccine he's overdue but sick cats shouldn't have one when there sick? I took him to a vet clinic in 2023 or 2024 because they offer the purevax rabies which is all Panzer has ever had 2xs in his 13yrs of life. They told me after giving it to me that I couldn't bring him back unless he's drugged. I did go with my daughter & her 2 cats & 4 dogs about a month ago & talked to them about it. The vet said to give him 100mg of gabapentin which all I have is expired & another 100mg a couple of hrs before bringing him & she would see him but he's sick.
 
Usually we recommend giving 100mg the night before and then another 100mg 2 hours before the appointment (Gabapentin)

No, a sick cat shouldn't be given any vaccinations and at his age and with diabetes, most vets agree they shouldn't have them. (but there are still a bunch that require them even in an older cat with a chronic condition)....but since he MAY be sick, they shouldn't be requiring you to vaccinate the day you go.
 
Usually we recommend giving 100mg the night before and then another 100mg 2 hours before the appointment (Gabapentin)

No, a sick cat shouldn't be given any vaccinations and at his age and with diabetes, most vets agree they shouldn't have them. (but there are still a bunch that require them even in an older cat with a chronic condition)....but since he MAY be sick, they shouldn't be requiring you to vaccinate the day you go.
Okay I will talk to them about it when I get there with him or over the phone as they might say something about it.He has 2 different vets so which ever one will allow him to come without being vaccinated will take him too.
 
Okay I will start him on it tonight with his +6 PMPS meal. I gave him his last dose of Provincial DC on 10-22-25 I thought maybe the baby food was messing with his stomach. He will only eat it in baby food as well as Slippery elm which I just gave him. Should I order more of the probiotic & start him back on it. I didn't want to change anything that I've been doing but $ is really tight but I will figure it out if it's important to start him back on it?
Have you tried visbiome probiotics?
They are really good for cats with any digestive or bowel issues .
 
Hi Christina
I’m sorry you have so much on your plate at the moment.
Re the Zobaline… I think it’s a good idea to restart it. I used to sprinkle it on top if Sheba’s food and she just ate it.

What food are you feeding at the moment?
Are you giving any probiotics?
Bron
Sorry I was just reading back over the comments. He is still eating fancy feast pate's. I know there high in phosphorus but he hates werva & so does my other boy Spook.
 
Sorry he’s not feeling good. You can get Visbiome from the manufacturer. They ship it for free and keep it cold. Amazon has it but charges more. Get the capsules. You will only need to give 1/4 and not the whole one like they say. You sprinkle in the food and it’s tasteless
Visbiome® Vet
 
Sorry he’s not feeling good. You can get Visbiome from the manufacturer. They ship it for free and keep it cold. Amazon has it but charges more. Get the capsules. You will only need to give 1/4 and not the whole one like they say. You sprinkle in the food and it’s tasteless
Visbiome® Vet
Thank you for the info I will look into it tomorrow. I wanted to tag you in this post but couldn't remember how to spell it & every thing I tried wasn't right, now I can tag you thank you @tiffmaxee
 
For runny poop, you can also give S boulardii. It is a yeast based probiotic, and can be given in addition to a regular probiotic. The regular probiotic balances his gut flora, the S boulardii mops up the bad flora. More details and brands/dosing here: Probiotics – IBDKitties

His spreadsheet doesn't look like neuropathy should be an issue. If you do go to a vet, get them to check for arthritis, which is quite common in older cats.
 
The Visibiome dose may vary because ECID. 1/4 of a capsule for months made no difference to Leroy so he's on 1/2 now and it's still not making any difference. Then again Leroy is a weirdo with all his issues 😵‍💫

Are there any low cost vet clinics in your area? Some are "pay what you can afford".
 
The Visibiome dose may vary because ECID. 1/4 of a capsule for months made no difference to Leroy so he's on 1/2 now and it's still not making any difference. Then again Leroy is a weirdo with all his issues 😵‍💫

Are there any low cost vet clinics in your area? Some are "pay what you can afford".
No unfortunately there are no low cost vets. There are low cost spay & neuter vets,but I live in the town that is home of EliLilly.
 
For runny poop, you can also give S boulardii. It is a yeast based probiotic, and can be given in addition to a regular probiotic. The regular probiotic balances his gut flora, the S boulardii mops up the bad flora. More details and brands/dosing here: Probiotics – IBDKitties

His spreadsheet doesn't look like neuropathy should be an issue. If you do go to a vet, get them to check for arthritis, which is quite common in older cats.
Okay thank you Wendy
 
For runny poop, you can also give S boulardii. It is a yeast based probiotic, and can be given in addition to a regular probiotic. The regular probiotic balances his gut flora, the S boulardii mops up the bad flora. More details and brands/dosing here: Probiotics – IBDKitties

His spreadsheet doesn't look like neuropathy should be an issue. If you do go to a vet, get them to check for arthritis, which is quite common in older cats.
 
For runny poop, you can also give S boulardii. It is a yeast based probiotic, and can be given in addition to a regular probiotic. The regular probiotic balances his gut flora, the S boulardii mops up the bad flora. More details and brands/dosing here: Probiotics – IBDKitties

His spreadsheet doesn't look like neuropathy should be an issue. If you do go to a vet, get them to check for arthritis, which is quite common in older cats.
@Wendy&Neko quick question is it okay to give the S boulardii to my other kitty Spook? I stopped giving him Mirilax a long time ago because it gave him runny poop. Ever since then his poop is sometimes hard & lot of times he runs from the litter box because the turd gets stuck to his butt or in his long hair fur & that's how he gets it off & I have to pick it up wherever he drops it.
 
Back
Top