10/27/10 Squamee AMPS 260 .8U

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Very Active Member
Whew. Glad to see a lower number. So unsure of what to dose as it goes up. Afraid maybe .8 was too little this morning, or too much of a drop from 1.2, but , I guess, more afraid of going too low, as I will be out most of the afternoon. Wish us luck!
 
Judy,
I was thinking back to my initial research on Gab and remembered that Ele had it made into capsules initially.. You could PM her.
and someone else mentioned compounding it into fish oil,
and someone else mentioned compounding it into VAL syrup, which is a vet vitamin complex that's "YUMMY".

Carefully read through this post again and yo can see who suggested what.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=14418

Could you ball the powder into a Velvetta pea?
 
Hi Nancy,
I read that post and will again. I looked up VAL and it has sugar in it. Does that mean I can't use it? I will try the Velveeta, but it is a rather large amount of powder. I am also planning to call my pharmacy (and others) to see if it can be compounded without the almond oil. (or what other choices one might have). THanks for thinking about us!
 
Hi Rob, nice to know you are around.
Today was not a good day, although the BG numbers were much better than yesterday. She was in hiding most of the day and ate very little. very passive whenever I picked her up. Tonight she finally ate about 3 ounces, and that was after the evening phenobarb, and even so, with considerable mouth struggling. I realize I don't know how much a cat needs on a daily basis. She is about 8.5 lbs (used to be 9 and some). Anyone know what quantity she should be eating daily?
 
There's a rule of thumb I saw somewhere: don't raise the dose immediately on one high #, but lower it immediately on one low #. (Low being really low, like under 40-50). Meaning you may not need to worry about a high PS if it's just now and then, only raise if you start seeing 2 or 3 in a row. But regardless, looks like whatever you did worked Judy, so... yay!!! :)
 
Yes I have a calculator for figuring out how much your kitty should eat. It is not perfect. Maintaining the weight of the kitty is WAY more important than any calculator.

You just happened to ask the right person lol. I became a bit of a nutrition nut.

Here's the link:
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... nhPTXBEUUE
Let me know if I can help you with the SS. You will need to download it and upload into your own google to use it - or just use it with any SS on your own computer.

Again, my best advice to you is to weigh on a scale [twice per day is my 'hard-core' numbers junky rec] like the MyWeigh KD-8000 which can be found though google shopping fairly inexpensively. I also believe in weighing the food [I have tips for that is wanted]. But I know I'm a little numbers nutz.
 
Hi Gator,
I looked at the spreadsheet and am completely lost, and waaaay too tired to try to figure it out. Also don't know how to download and upload it (my computer illiteracy is showing!---When I first got here, about a year ago, it was a major task for me to figure out how to post!!!). SO that is something for another day. Truthfully, I am not even sure I want to know how much she should be eating, as it will probably turn out to be something else I can torture myself with---I am relatively sure she is not eating enough, and there is nothing I can do about it. I can't tell you how many cans of cat food I go through a day. WHat she likes best is the juice from the FF classic beef, so I am always opening another can to get that little bit of liquid!)
 
Have you thought about appetite stimulants like cyproheptadine or mirtazapine? Of course that would take actually being able to get medicine in S...
judy and squamee said:
Truthfully, I am not even sure I want to know how much she should be eating, as it will probably turn out to be something else I can torture myself with
oops maybe you asked the wrong person. :smile: I completely understand. There were many times I did not weigh H when I felt I should have just because I did not want to know.

Quick instructions for the SS:
File -> Download As -> Excel -- Then, File -> Import...
If you have Excel or another SS program on your puter than you can just skip the Import part and use the SS program to open the Excel file you have saved to your puter.

I just changed the lbs in the SS to 8.5 for you and that will at least tell you for a multiplication factor of 1.2 the MER Kcal or the # of Kcal a lower energy kitty of 8.5 lbs should supposedly eat perhaps [223 Kcal/day]. But again this is inexact. I think maybe H was eating below 1.2 and keeping or perhaps gaining his weight - I really am not for sure on that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top