10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +6~32 Yikes! PMPS 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterdays Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28277

OK there is just a little too much drama going on around here for my liking. Tori did OK during the night. Her sugars ranged from 208 at +2 to 82 at +6. This morning she was 120 at AMPS and 187 at +2. She ate a pretty good breakfast all things considering and she was 187 at +2. I thought OK she's had the Mirt and I've left plenty of food out so I sure be good to get a couple of hours sleep. I set my alarm for +4 but slept right through. Thank God I woke up at +6 on my own .When I tested her I noticed her ears were ice cold and her one paw was twitching very slightly. She what do i get ? 32.

Normally when Tori goes low it's not that hard to manage because she'll want to eat. Not this time. I grabbed some high carb food and at first she wouldn't even look at it. Yikes this isn't funny. So I stuck some in her mouth and she kind of fought me but then her will to survive kicked in and she started eating with gusto.

Things seem to be under control now. We lathered and rinsed and she went up to 48 and then 68. I'm just going to retest now. This is all too much excitement for my little brain.
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

whew! good catch!
nice job getting her numbers up right away. had she eaten the food you left out for her?
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

I've noticed that ice cold ear thing too, when Shadow has gone low (not 32 low - whew! talk about drama). I thought maybe it was a coincidence. I bet that 32 woke you up in a hurry. I hope you guys have had a good day. Except for the low number, how has Tori felt today? Did you get to speak to your vet about the pain management? or LACK of pain management, actually.
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

Well it's now +8 and she is holding steady at 88. Right in the middle of all the drama Doug called to see how she was doing. He was shocked to say the least.I'm glad to say that I was wrong. Tori had received pain meds while she in the clinic on the weekend. Because I didn't have the Bupe with me when I took her in on Saturday morning DOug decided to give her some Torb and they just continued on with that for the rest of the stay. They just didn't put it on the bill but then there are many things that they don't charge me for so that is not out of the ordinary. I really believe Doug is telling the truth on that. If it was the other vet saying that I wouldn't be so trusting but Doug has looked after her for the whole time since this journey started and I trust him completely. He did say though that if he had been on he would have switched to the Bupe.

We had a very good talk actually. So the battle plan is to try and get Missy Kitty over this hurdle and take one day at a time. The priority right now is the Pancreatitis and the Diabetes and the Lymphoma is a distant third. We agreed that I would hold off on the squids today seeing the hypo and her history of tanking with squids and then go daily and see how it goes. I will give the Bupe q8h for at least three days and continue with the Mirt q 2 days. If she doesn't bounce to the stratosphere tonight I will reduce her dose to 1.25 tonight otherwise will do so in the morning.

We are on the same page about continuing treatment. Doug said that as far as he is concerned apart when she has a flare Tori has a good quality of life and as long as she does and I am willing he thinks continuing to treat her is very reasonable. He did say though that he has never seen a client who is willing to do for a pet what I have. Made me feel kind of good.

Anyway I think I'm rambling. I must go out for a couple of hours. Daniel is home and will continue to monitor her while I'm gone. Latest BG is 101. Will check in later. What a roller coaster this is.
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

I wish you guys well. what a day today, what a journey. admirable, truly admirable. Tori is one amazing cat. I am glad to that you were able to talk to your vet. It is so nice too have a vet that is willing to work with you, and keep you informed.

good catch on the 32 ! great job getting her numbers up today too. I hope you guys have a great night!
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

Wow, what a wild day! What a relief, too, to find out Tori did get pain meds. One day at a time sounds like the perfect plan. You're a wonderful mamabean, Barb, and Tori is as lucky to have you as you are to have her.
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

Wow! Lots going on today for Tori, but you and she have done everything with skill and love. Carry on, Barb & Tori. Have a good, uneventful night!!!

Hugs,
Ella
 
Re: 10/26 Tori AMPS 120; +2~187; +6~32 Yikes!

yikes is right, but nice catch! and if your vet HADN'T said it...we all know it for sure...you have gone to wonderful lengths with your tori-girl...and she is a fighter extraordinaire.

celi & binks
 
Well she bounced just like I expected although with all the high carb food she ate to get her BG up it really could have been a lot higher than a 295. When I finally got back home when I walked into the kitchen there she was chowing down on some of the food that I had left out for herl Looks like the Mirt has kicked in. She ate a good supper for me as well. Seeing her BG was high and She also received her evening dose of Pred I shot the 1.5 units. Tomorrow morning I will go with the 1.25.

Lord I really wish I didn't have to go t o work tonight. I'm so darn tired. Hopefully it will be a nice uneventful shift. I will give my Missy KItty some Bupe before I go. Well I have an hour before I have to leave so I better hit the shower. After I'll try and get back to see what's happening with all the marvelous kitties and Beans of Lantus Land. Thanks again for everything you do for me and Miss Tori. We are so very grateful to have a marvelous family like you.
 
Barb - we think you are very special & love what you are doing for Tori. These little furballs are easy to love & doing all the work just makes it all sweeter, doesn't it? Take care dear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top