10/26 Tiny Sole AMPS 184, +5: 220, +9: 137, +11: 89, PMPS: 94

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-12-84-13-144-14-144-ns.205407/#post-2277785

Tiny did really well through the night last night.
I did get up to test twice:
+6: 137 at 1 AM, same as 10 PM, so she held steady!
+10: 142

Today, 10/26:

AMPS: 184, 2.25 U given at 7:30 AM

Based on what she's been doing, I imagine by later this afternoon she's going to come down again.

We'll get a 12 PM and a 4:30 PM today - it's always later in the day that she really starts to dip.

I'll touch base soon and update the SS as we go.
 
Haha, I didn't know there was a club!

I've calculated that Emmett's ears have around 2000+ little holes in them...my app for my meter doesn't go back more than 784 or something, lol.

He seems to love his little flippy flip of his ear (I kinda flip it back and forth to get blood flowing), prick, then press. He purrs the whole time. haha. Crazy cat.

I think it's food motivated. He hears the meter beep, and I think it tells him food time shortly.


R
 
@Rob W. & Emmett
@Olive & Paula
@Rosie & Bailey
@Bobbie And Bubba
After 9 months of testing without a problem Ravan has started to protest. His right ear is just about useless no blood & he has a bunch of tiny bumps all along the edge that won't go away.
I'm stuck with using only the left ear. He runs now when I get ready to test? I use the Neosporin & all the other "tricks" I think he's just had enough? Any suggestions?
I told him if he doesn't like it he better start heading for remission :D

Joanne tell your little Sun that if she doesn't want her ears to look like swiss cheese she better start thinking about Remission also :woot::woot::woot:

Hope you all have a Great weekend!:)
 
Well...
+5: 220 at 12:30 PM

Looks like either the depot drained a bit or she's bouncing?

Experienced friends, weigh in!
I anticipate she will drop a little later this afternoon. Whatchathink?
 
Now's when you look at the SS & check what happened last time you skipped a shot. The more you study her SS the more you learn what she "might" do.
After 9 months of doing this I have a better idea of what Ravan's going to do but he still surprises me with big drops sometimes!
I keep index cards by my computer with Important advice I got from the Experts here. Late at night ( when I'm half asleep) it comes in handy to look thru that info.

I read, from some of the experienced people here, that any dry food can cause problems with the BG. I know it's convenient to use but if you've read the sticky note
by Dr Pierson about dry food you'd understand why it's not good for our kitties.
Info Dry Food - PLEASE consider more than just carbohydrate content

The more you know the easier it will get.:)
 
I think it's just the drained depot but it could be a little bounce too. Hard to know exactly where her depot is at right now between the dose reductions and skipped shots. I wouldn't be surprised to see her come down somewhat later in the cycle. Fingers crossed! :D
 
On the ear. The bumps will go away in time. A couple of things you can do.

Make sure it's nice and warm. Use other ear when you can. Smaller Lancet might help. Does meter require large blood drop? Use law pad if Tiny allows it. Plenty of pain relief ointment each time. Pressure applied after poke.
 
Sorry for butting in Joanne but in exchange you, and everyone else, get a lifetime membership in my other program.
C.T.M.F. Cannot tell my family we lost a cat because it's much easier to avoid the condescending eye rolling remarks.
I'm not bitter, I like everyone here a lot more. A whole lot more than my idiot sisters and my in-laws and whomever else.... :rolleyes:
You and Tiny Sole have a good night. :)
 
Wow!
So, I think she'll come in high at her PMPS due to the food she ate...I will give her LC after testing.

Something tells me it's going to be a busy night tonight! :eek:
 
Well that puts my potential theory out to pasture. Thought perhaps both kitties might be experiencing some sort of allergic reaction to Neosporin. Some kitties could definitely be more prone to developing some scar tissue but that shouldn't happen unless the same spot was being poked repeatedly/ Some cats have one ear that bleeds much better than the other (mine did) but I could still get blood from either. I do recall someone here only being able to get samples from one ear but not due to scar tissue as far as I remember. :blackeye:
 
If it is scar tissue, massaging the area well in between pokes whenever cuddling for instance might "break' it down somewhat.
 
I'm shooting tonight?
Why is it at night?
Her reducie goes to 2 U - she earned it today.
Do I give her a full 2 or less?
I can't tell you how sorry I am to ask again.
 
Well then, Tiny has pushed for yet another reduction and we are left with the big question..... shoot 2.0u or a BCS or skip. The other option, like last night would be to stall without food for 30 minutes and see if she is still coming up on her own.
 
Obviously Tiny has a plan and doesn't get put off with skipped shots so again I think this is going to come down to caregiver condition/circumstances because if you shoot you are going to have to monitor.
 
I'll test at 8 pm, but I'm thinking a BCS or skip.

The salmon she ate at 6 PM was sweetened a bit (a little honey), and even so, she didn't come up much...89 to 94. And she was ravenous when I fed her at 94
 
You are too quick for my typing! :p No point in worrying about testing again because then there will be food in play to at least some degree which muddies rather than "clears" the picture.
 
The honey...just a little bit was on OUR baked salmon...she only had a little of our salmon...sorry!!!! All cats like to surround us as we eat, so we give them some. I swear it wasn't much, and she only rose 5 pts
 
No need to apologize. I thought you intentionally added honey to salmon kitty food but you were just spoiling your little sweetie! :cat::kiss:I like that but next time no sugar laden people food unless she really needs it!;)
 
She may have only gone up 5 points but we don't know if she dropped below 89 in between 6 and 7:30pm so it might have boosted her more. In the big scheme of things, the change in BG in that 1.5 hours was negligible which suggests she wasn't going up any time soon on her own.
 
Back
Top