10/26 Newman AMPS 378 , shot 1.5, 209 @ +6, PMPS 320, shot 1.5, 274 @ +3

Yes it would appear so :/

I don't think there's much you can do besides hold the doses the way they are. He's seeing some decent yellows and blues when he isn't bouncing.
 
Yes it would appear so :/

I don't think there's much you can do besides hold the doses the way they are. He's seeing some decent yellows and blues when he isn't bouncing.
From your experience, would you expect or believe it is possible for him to get past the bouncing at some point?
 
My best guess is not really; usually that happens within the first 6-12 months. And that's because in order to really get him to spend time in those numbers we'd have to be a little more aggressive with dosing - but as you know he can take some surprise dives, and from where I sit at least it's not worth the risk.

His BGs really aren't too terrible with all things considered. As long as we can keep him seeing mid to low blues when bounces clear, I'm pretty happy with that.

I do think Lantus is worth considering at some point. Cost wise, most people are able to get it for the same or cheaper than ProZinc now.
 
es, the poop, but I failed to post that it is both cats, so perhaps something about the food or treats for testing.
This is interesting. Several of my cats have had diarrhea (well, it's been really bad diarrhea) and haven't had a good appetite and have been lethargic. Fortunately, Ginger is getting over it. Now Amber is sick. A few others are having diarrhea but are still eating. When I was at the vet yesterday with some kittens getting their shots, I was telling my vet about this and I asked if it was possible that this was just an intestinal virus (like people get sometimes) -- she said yes (but of course cautioned that if it continues I need to bring them in.) Oh, I also forgot to mention that I tried a course of Metronidazole on Ginger for the diearrhea. I'm not sure it really helped since normally my cats will respond to Metronidazole within a day or so -- and her diarrhea continued. I also gave probiotics of several different kinds. I'm glad she's getting over it since she refused to use the litter box for several days when pooping. Anyway, this is a long story to say that I hope Newman and Ozzie are already both back to normal.
 
So, I'm trying to catch up a bit with what's been happening with Newman. Did you try the split doses and then decide it was not working or too complicated?
Still trying the split dosing, but my advice was to increase the PM dose first and see what happens to the AM numbers as a result. Right now...not much lol
 
So, I'm trying to catch up a bit with what's been happening with Newman. Did you try the split doses and then decide it was not working or too complicated?
Did the split dose for 6 cycles, the 16th thru the 21st. I had been sitting on 1.25 for too long, so the split involved raising the daytime dose to 1.5 and keeping the 1.25 at PM. It just wasn't working, so I increased the PM dose and he seems to be bouncing ever since! Oh, Newman!
 
I do like Lantus. I like Levemir even better for giving flat cycles, but every cat is different. Lantus can give you some very nice gentle cycles. You would have to get used to shooting low preshots though because it works completely differently than ProZinc. The mantra is "shoot low to stay low" - you shoot lower numbers and it keeps them low but it doesn't drive them down like ProZinc can do. Anyway, you're right that the best thing to do is to read up on it. :bookworm: There's lots of good information on the LLB forum about how the depot insulins work. You don't need to be in a hurry to make any changes.
 
Suzanne makes a good point with Levemir - it tends to nadir later which may be better for you. Not sure ...

Lantus he'll probably continue to bounce for a bit (likely another few months) but should be more muted.

Really the question is what is your desired range for him?
 
How’s it going, Linda?
Hey Suzanne, quiet day here, so far. Newman slept most of the day and I am resting my back, apparently having strained it. I am feeling a bit bummed out if I can't do better in helping Newman get better regulated. I took a quick glance at the Lantus forum information pages but not yet in the frame of mind to study. In the meantime I will stay with the current dosing, hoping he gets past the bouncing. I would like him to at least get to yellow preshot numbers and mid to high blues in between most of the time.
Thanks for asking and please continue to share your thoughts and advice. I would not have gotten this far without you and Melissa.
 
Well, we are not super human, and we have to live within our limitations. I have quite a few myself (that I don’t like to talk about, of course! Lol.) Now what I mean is that I frequently find myself, without fully realizing it, being very hard on myself and expecting that I should be able to know everything and do everything correctly. It’s ridiculous of me. I just can’t. Nobody can, although we all have different areas of expertise and competence. You are an amazing person. You do such a great job with so many things, and are very strong and independent. I admire that.

Just keep on trying and tweaking Newman’s dose if needed. Then when you are ready, you can do some research. No rush.

And remember, you said Newman, in his behavior, seems very happy and well. You are responsible for that positive change in him since the time before he was diagnosed. Without your care he would not be doing well. You have made such a beneficial change to his life.

I’m sorry about your back. I’ve had quite a lot of back problems in the last month or so. Very painful. I hope yours will be better very soon.
 
Thanks, Suzanne.

It seems like most adults have some back issues from time to time. Thankfully so far, my backaches and pinches respond well to a day or two with the heating pad. I'm feeling much better.
 
Back
Top