10/26 Michael pm 128+2 88+3 50+3.5 49+ 3.75 50 +4 74+5 97

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/26/14 Michael amps 404 Dose Advice Please

Unless this AMPS is a "high before a break" (i.e., numbers drop this cycle), I think you've got plenty of room for an increase. Good call!
 
Re: 10/26/14 Michael amps 404 Dose Advice Please

Hi Paula
I'm no help but I just wanted to say what a pretty boy he is!
Good luck with the increase.
Grace
 
Re: 10/26/14 Michael amps 404 Dose Advice Please

Thanks for the replies.
Should I increase (if I need to) .25u or .5u :?:
 
Re: 10/26/14 Michael amps 404 Dose Advice Please

make sure you get tests in today to see if this morning's amps was the high before he comes down. Sometimes that really high number says that he's going to come down after it appears. So don't assume he'll stay high today just because he was this morning.

If not, then you would increase by 0.25u. He's having nadirs in the 200's.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 10/26/14 Michael amps 404 Dose Advice Please

I hope Michael has come down some cat_pet_icon . If not, good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 10/26/14 Michael amps 404 Dose Advice Please

Work that increase, Michael - I hear you look very handsome in blue!!! Have a great day, Paula!
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224

I have some concerns on increasing the dose. Looking at the SS on 10/20 49 @4.5 earned a reduction, 10/21 new dose 1.25 started am cycle during a bounce. 10/23 bounce clearing no test after pm 1.75 may have went green on pm cycle given the bounce on next am cycle.
10/24 increased back to 1.5 with out knowing is the reduction held.
It seems the reduction was not given a chance to see if Michael held the reduction.

And if it were me I would be less concerned with the bounce numbers and get overly concerned when Michael is dropping in low numbers, (10/20 49@4.5 and no more testing till 5.25) having Michael in too low of numbers is much worse then him in the high numbers. "Better high for a day, then too low for a min"
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 128

Michael is finally in his "dress blues". So handsome ;-) (pmps 128)
I think I know why his amps(404) was so high. I don't think I got any insulin in him at pmps yeasterday. I thought I did, but he jerked, so I must not got any insulin into him.
More questions.
Has anyone given their furbabies Taurine :?: If so, what brand,how many mgs and did u use capsules :?: Also, is it water soluble :?:
Any thoughts :?:
Thanks
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 128

Your bounce is clearing and he may still be falling, +2 test and a pre-bed test will be needed. At any point he is getting close to 50 you will have to test at 30min intervals, then when he drops below 50, higher carb food and karo and testing every 15min till above 50, then needs 2 rising numbers above 50 without food influence before he is safe.

About your amps being high, to me it looks like a bounce that peaked, started clearing @ +5.25, and really cleared by pmps.
About taurine, its already in the cat food you are feeding Michael. Why are you asking about it? Do you think Michael had tuarine deficiency?
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 128

Darin,
The reason I asked was because I was looking at the label on the cat food (sheba) and the taurine was towards the end. So I thought maybe their was very little in the food.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 128

Thanks Darin.
Michael is in the lagoon (pmps +2 88). I will keep an eye out.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 128

That is a pretty good drop its going to be an active cycle, I would get a +3 maybe even +2.5 he could easily be close to 50 in the next hour.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 128 +2 88

you don't need to add anything if you're using canned cat food. they have to meet certain regulations on nutrition to sell it.

Michael's numbers went straight down today - 404 to 88 right now. With the drop from pmps 128 to +2 88, you can't stop testing now. Get another test in 30-45 minutes after the last one. You have to keep up testing tonight until he's bottomed out and on his way BACK UP in numbers.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

Paula you need to feed higher carb food to keep above 50 and test every 15 min. He has came down 38 pt in last hour he can't afford to drop another 38pts
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

i agree with Darin's advice. Stick with Michael now to keep him safe. You can't go to bed yet.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

Please post what action you are taking to keep him safe, if need be I can carb up charlie and come help you.
562-215-1270
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

Thanks Julie & Darin.
Michael"s pmps +3 50. Looks like an active cycle. I have to figure out how to stay awake.
I have a very hard time keeping my eyes open. I hope this isn't going to be a pj party. I am going to have a pretty rough time waking up @ 5am and focusing. Without balance and being woozy all I need is to fall and then there wouldn't be anyone to care for Michael. (SCARY :!:) So far I have done very well considering my challenges. Hope I can do this.
Paula nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

if you feel like you can't stay awake, pop open a can of high carb food and leave it out for him. Better to have him too high from being overcarbed than to risk you falling asleep and leaving him alone in low numbers.

I think you should assume he would've gone below 50 and reduce his dose by 0.25u in the morning. Leave yourself a note now by his insulin so you don't forget and give today's dose again.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

Thanks again Darin, That is very nice of you.
Right now I am going to test him @ 8:45 and depending on what the #'s are, I will do what you have advised.I will keep you posted.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

I can come over and help.. 562-215-1270 Michaels safety needs to come first another 38pts and he is going to be in hypo land. And yes this is a PJ party, have you fed higher carb or tested again.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

by the way, sometimes to stay awake i don't sit down. do dishes, vacuum, play the piano, anything to keep from sitting down.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/26 Michael amps 404 +5.75 224 pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50

Paula

You are doing a great job! I am so proud of how far you have come.

I am hoping you fed that +3 and I would suggest another test 30 mins after he finished eating if he's doing ok with his testing tonight. I agree with Julie that you can abort this cycle and get numbers up by giving high carb food. It's fine to do it.

I know you are focused on numbers right now so I'm going to post the information on taurine so I don't forget and then you can read it tomorrow.

Yes....you can give additional taurine and I give it to Gracie even though she gets canned food which includes taurine.

Kirsten Roomp is one of the authors of the TR protocol and she has a webpage on feline diabetes entitled "Tillys Diabetes Homepage" . She discusses six important factors and one she mentions is taurine. She states:
• Taurine has been found to affect blood sugar and insulin levels favorably in humans and other animal models.
• Supporting kidney function with taurine: kidney cells do not require insulin to take up glucose. The high plasma glucose levels caused by diabetes result in high intracellular levels of glucose. Via a chain of events this leads to a decrease in the taurine quantity in kidney cells. Organic osmolytes - such as taurine - play an important role in the regulation of cell volume.
• The clinical state of diabetes is often accompanied by elevated blood levels of cholesterol, triglycerides, and free fatty acids. Taurine is important for the formation of bile acids. The formation of bile acids represents the most important route for the elimination of cholesterol. Too little bile acid can entail increased cholesterol values. In studies of diabetic rats, taurine also lowered plasma triglyceride values. As many diabetic cats have elevated cholesterol and triglyceride values, taurine may help to lower them. Additionally, according to the lipotoxicity hypothesis, chronic exposure to high concentrations of lipids contribute to deteriorating beta-cell function in diabetic patients.
• Taurine has been shown to reverse neurological damage in diabetic rats.

I buy NOW Taurine Powder and give 1/8 tsp daily mixed in food. Gracie does not act like it has a taste to it.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

Darin,
Michael's #'s @3.5 49 I put karo in his food and will test again @ 9. I don't mean to worry you, I think M will be okay. Why is he dropping so fast :?:
He seems fine.
Paula nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

Paula

Are you able to stay up and test at +4 to be sure he's coming up and then feed him HC food?
 
10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 + 3.5 49 +3.75 50

Darin,
Michael came up 1pt. pmps +3.75 50 should I test in another 15mins or 30mins :?: do I give him more food with karo :?:
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

He was clearing a bounce during his am cycle and may have been still falling at pmps would be my guess. And with him starting to earn reductions and coming into lower numbers, times like tonight will happen in the future.
Charlie's doses peaked at 3.75 and now we are at 1.25, I have had to do what you did tonight 10 tines so far.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

Paula

Please give him some more high carb food and let's see if he will come up some more.

How are you doing and when do you need to go to sleep?
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

You will want to test in another 15 if he is higher then 50, test again in 30, did you only do Karo or did you give higher carb food or just the Sheba.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

I would not test again in 15 at 50 unless you need to get to bed right away, Paula. It takes about 30 mins for high carb food to affect the BG. Since Michael has not been crazy about testing, I would give him 30 mins after he eats.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

Marge. Thanks a bunch for the info.
I am going to try to get a +4 maybe M's #'s will be up.
Paula nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

Darin I put a couple of drops of karo in friskies liver&chicken food'
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

Ok...thanks, Darin.

Paula..I shoudl have said it takes any food about 30 mins to affect the BG. You can see a faster response with karo but Michael is safe right now so I wouldn't over poke him. I'd feed him the 12% friskies. Let's see where he is next test. We can always add more karo but if you bring numbers up with karo instead of food, then we worry more thst the karo will wear off and numbers will come back down.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

hanging out on facebook is another good way to stay awake until you test michael again next time. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49

You did a great job tonight Paula and let's hope when this happens again its during the daytime hours.
The reason I worry is cause of your situation and know its hard for you to test and stay up late.

Just a side note, I find it strange that Michael dropped 38pts from +2 to +3 then only dropped 1pt from +3 to +3.5 without food intervention.
What do the pro's think about this?
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49 +3.75 50 +4

How much friskies did you give when you fed him?

That is a good jump in 30 min, if you have to go to sleep then leave the friskies out for him to eat. Or if you can test in another 30 to make sure he is still rising and still leave friskies out for him.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49 +3.75 50 +4

I couldn't tell in the posts that she did not feed the +3.

However, to answer Darin's question about the big drop and then numbers stopped, if we assume Paula did not feed the +3, there is no concrete answer. Maybe today, Michael decided to nadir early. maybe his onset was dramatic but then he leveled out. I've had this happen with Gracie as well and while I'd like to know the answer, I don't. When we are dealing with cats and hormones and the variability of absorption rates, etc, it's just something we have to accept and roll with.

I'm sorry I don't have a better answer.

Paula...I agree with Darin...I would leave out a nice helping of Friskies 12% and get some sleep!

You all did super!
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49 +3.75 50 +4

M's #'s are pmps +4 74 do I need to test again in 30 mins :?:
I didn't give karo by itself, I put a couple of drops in the friskies food. Does that mean when the karo wears off, his #'s will go back down :?:
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49 +3.75 50 +4

from Marje:

Paula...I agree with Darin...I would leave out a nice helping of Friskies 12% and get some sleep!

he should be ok now tonight. sleep well! great job!
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pmps 12 8 +2 88 +3 50 +3.5 49 +3.75 50 +4

You could leave a good amount of the friskies out for him so you can get some sleep.
Its just that the Karo does not stay in the system as long as the higher carb food does.
With leaving food out ensures that he is going to have the carbs in him to counter act the insulin.
 
Re: 10/26 Michael pm 128+2 88+3 50+3.5 49+ 3.75 50 +4 74+5 9

Thanks guys for staying up with me.
I will leave food out.
btw Julie, is that you that is on facebook who answered my question about the normal bg range for a diabetic cat?
I must confess I am really really tired. I'm wobbly and woozy, and no I'm not drunk although it would appear that way if you saw me.
Good night All and thanks again :!:
Paula I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top