? 10/26 Lincoln PMPS 349, +4 313 When don't you shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Too new to advise but not too new to bump you up! :bighug: Since you need help answering that here's what I would do
I'd add the blue ? Prefix and change your thread tool to Something like
When not to shoot?
( just like you asked but so folks see your thread has a Q..
 
Hello and Welcome to LL, I see you got a lot of great advice on your previous post
Here is your last post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-on-forums-need-help.167149/
(NB we usually link previous thread to new thread:bighug:;), makes it a wee bit easier to look through history)
I also stalked the site for a while before joining, about this time last year:), with the help of everyone here, we got to grips with FD and lantus and BFG went OTJ 5 months later, I still hang around to help where I can and keep up with all of Georges pal here in LL.
:cat::cat::cat:

Best of luck with the dosecrease, with the depot it can take up to six cycles for you to see the effect of the dose.
Did you decide on TR or SLGS? Hopefully he' not getting into the kibble.

To answer your question
If you have decided to follow TR/ (remember it will be necessary to make sure he isn't getting any kibble) anything over 150 should be OK, but whenever you shoot something lower than you have previously shot, it's advised that you get a +1 and a +2, and that you are prepared to monitor a little more closely.
See this sticky for more detailed info

On SLGS the advice is slightly different.
From the SLGS sticky
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.

  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:


If in any doubt just post up, and don't be afraid to bump up your post if you are not getting any response, it' a very busy forum, so your thread can end up sliding down the list and then it's missed.

 
TR makes me worry so i think for now i will be going with the SLGS method. So far we are still kibble free. My dad is coming over today so might see a spike because of that. He gets a little worried thinking dad is taking him to the vet. Hasn't in 2 months but Lincoln still thinks that is why he is here. I would love if we could get Lincoln OTJ but worry i waited too long to come here for help. At least i am here now and we are getting somewhere.
 
You can always change your mind later, when you feel more comfortable.
Can you add LGS to your sig block, that way you won't be having to answer the same question.

LOL No problem with Lincolns memory
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top