10/26 larry amps 379 pmps 275

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
maybe i gave or hv given some furshots? idk whats going on.
i have a question mel, whn u come back. b4 these last 2 shots was he doing well enuf? or u still feel pzi would be better. (for just mel) thanks.
 
Re: 10/26 larry amps 379

Hi Pam
oh boy i hate those unexplained high numbers. drives me crazy.
hope you and larry are ok
 
Re: 10/26 larry amps 379

Hi Pam and Larry!

It's been a while since I stopped by to say hi to you two. :-D It could be a fur shot or it could be a bounce from yesterday's blues. Larry has always seemed sensitive to bouncing to me. Hope he drops a little lower for you throughout the day.
 
As far as insulin change that is your call hon, Larry does look like he is doing much better numbers wise now with the Lantus, but how is he doing on the Whole Cat report? Is he still fighting the shots? Is he still twitching and looking sad and uncomfortable or as his numbers improve is that going away? The only reason I suggested the PZI is because it is a neutral base like N or Levemir so if his problems with shots is the sting of Lantus then switching to a neutral based insulin might be a better choice. And with Lev because of it's very late nadir and your health limitations that might not work well for you because many times you would be shooting a very low green preshot at night. Where with one of the P-insulins you could shoot what you see at preshot with a sliding scale. So in theory you could shoot less at night if he's low and shoot more in the morning if he's high. Some of that can also be done with Levemir as it is a little more forgiving about on the fly dose changes than Lantus but not quite as much as with one of the P-insulins.

Really just trying to throw out all kinds of suggestions that will make your and his life easier.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
ty mel. is there any chance of a cat going otj on pzi? slim? or what?
i need larry to get better. not sure how much longer i can care for him, as he needs. i am barely doing what i am doing, and i know its not enuf. ty for the help.
 
It is possible to go OTJ using just about every insulin type out there, including Lantus, Levemir, ProZinc, PZI, and even Vetsulin/Caninsulin, or Humulin/Novolin NPH.

But ... just being closer to regulated is OK, too. Not every cat gets to a diet-controlled state.
 
Ditto what BJM said they can and do go OTJ on all the different insulins. It takes holding them in normal numbers long enough for the pancreas to rest and heal if its gettingoing to, but not all cats go OTJ. Autumn very likely never will but remain a low dose kitty for the rest of her life. Which is fine by me and if she surprises me and does go OTJ then that's just icing on the cake. And if she doesn't she's still a healthy and happy kitty.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top