10/26, Corduroy, AMPS=278, PMPS=371. Food Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

It's been awhile since I've been on here and I apologize for not keeping up. I've been working a lot this week and it's hard to keep up with everything. We started feeding Corduroy and Joe Weruva Steak Frites because I saw on Dr. Lisa's food chart list that it is the lowest in both carbs and phosphorous (5 grams carbs and 57% phosphorous). Can someone tell me if I'm I reading this correctly? If so, is Evo 95% Chicken and Turkey only 2 grams carbs and 88% phosphorous?

I was/am worried about what the phosphorous might be doing to his kidneys. This is why I ordered Weruva. But, ever since we've been feeding him this, his blood sugar is sky-high again! We've up'd the dose to almost .25, but it's staying high and he's having issues walking.

Do you think it's better to stay with a higher-carb, lower phosphorous food and up his dose more OR go back to lower-carb, higher phosphorous and keep his dose lower? What is better in the long-term?

Have a good night all :smile:
 
The Weruva Steak Frites is 5% carbs and 118mg phosphorus.

the Evo Chicken and Turkey is 2% carbs and 155 mg phosphorus.

You're reading them correctly - i'm not sure about the percentages shown on the catinfo chart, but the mgs of phosphorus is what i have used to compare, not the percentage. you want to stay under 200mg as much as possible when the kitter has compromised kidneys.
 
Does Corduroy have kidney issues?

The Weruva is 0.57% phosphorous if you are going by dry matter basis (DMB) and 5% carb. Most of the prescription renal diets are around 0.5% so Weruva Steak Frites is a good choice for a cat with renal issues and who's diabetic.

Evo is 2% carb and 0.88% phos.

Unless Corduroy's lab values for kidney function are showing signs of renal problems developing, I don't know that you need to be rigid about the phosphorus content in what your kitty is eating. FWIW, I think you're the second person who mentioned that their cat was having higher BG values when eating Weruva. The other comment was about the Paw Lickin Chicken.
 
I guess I just assume that if he's had diabetes this long, he probably has kidney problems as well. I haven't had his phosphorous levels checked, but he seems to be showing symptoms of kidney disease, i.e., neuropathy in hind legs, twitching, teeth grinding, skinny, lethargic. So I thought I'd be proactive and also buy food which has less phosphorous content as well.
 
If you're concerned about his kidney function, I'd get some bloodwork done.

It's easier to control if it's caught early than if it's caught later.

Hope you figure out what's going on with Corduroy!
 
There's nothing wrong with being proactive or at the very least attentive to risk factors. Diabetes is tough on the kidney so what you're thinking makes sense.

As for Corduroy's numbers, some cats are sensitive to changes in their food. I would give your kitty several days to see if the numbers come back down with the Weruva.
 
Thanks everyone for your input! I think I'm gonna keep feeding the Weruva and raise his dose. At least until I get the gumption to start making his cat food...and the money with which to buy a grinder. I'm leaning more toward being proactive on this phosphorous issue because the way I see it, I CAN at least do something about the higher carbs in the Weruva, which is raise his dose; however, I CAN'T do anything about the phosphorous level.

Thanks again and have a great Sunday!
 
At one point, I was making raw food for my guys. I did not go out and by a grinder. I did buy a grinder attachment for my stand mixer. It worked fine as long as you're not planning on grinding bone. Also, a food processor will work just fine. The texture is a bit different but it does the job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top