10/26 Comet AMPS @ 101 then 20 min recheck 98

Amanda Comet’s Mom

Member Since 2021
Comet’s AMPS was 101 and he is getting 1.5u
What should I do to avoid Hypo? Reduce dose or wait 30 mins and recheck? We have not had a number this low in the AM yet

update: His 20 min recheck was 98. I think we will be skipping insulin this morning
 
Last edited:
I did not. We will hold off on his AM shoot and see where he ends up later tonight. Do you think that’s ok? He typically would have gotten his insulin at 8am, it’s now 9am
 
98 is not very diferent from 112 which you shot yesterday - considering meter variance.
If you can monitor and are okay with the 1 hour delay, you can shoot.
 
98 is not very diferent from 112 which you shot yesterday - considering meter variance.
If you can monitor and are okay with the 1 hour delay, you can shoot.
I will not be able to check him frequently today, so I figured it would be safer to skip. I was going to give .50u but wasn’t sure if that would make a difference? What do you think I should do?
 
I will not be able to check him frequently today, so I figured it would be safer to skip. I was going to give .50u but wasn’t sure if that would make a difference? What do you think I should do?

When will you be able to test? Even if you give a token shot, the depot will still affect this cycle.
 
When will you be able to test? Even if you give a token shot, the depot will still affect this cycle.
I can test up until 1pm today which doesn’t give a whole lot of time to check his later cycle numbers which scare me the most. He wouldn’t get checked then again until 8pm and his appetite is not great today from Clavamox. He barely ate anything
 
I can test up until 1pm today which doesn’t give a whole lot of time to check his later cycle numbers which scare me the most. He wouldn’t get checked then again until 8pm and his appetite is not great today from Clavamox. He barely ate anything
Yes, Clavamox is notorious for GI upsets. Are you giving him a probiotic?

1pm would be +4 and that should be good enough, but you can skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.

Btw, if you are following SLGS, he earned a reduction with that drop below 90 a couple of nights back, so his new dose would be 1.25U
 
Yes, Clavamox is notorious for GI upsets. Are you giving him a probiotic?

1pm would be +4 and that should be good enough, but you can skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.

Btw, if you are following SLGS, he earned a reduction with that drop below 90 a couple of nights back, so his new dose would be 1.25U
Yes we have him on a pretty decent Probiotic. He actually had a very nice formed stool moments ago. So that was a celebration! Lol, so funny how excited I get over good poops! And thank you! We will see where he is at tonight and go back to the 1.25u
What do you suggest if his number is similar tonight? Just check and fed for a couple hours after? We usually get a +2 and a +4 at night then have to head to bed to get sleep
 
Yes, Clavamox is notorious for GI upsets. Are you giving him a probiotic?

1pm would be +4 and that should be good enough, but you can skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.

Btw, if you are following SLGS, he earned a reduction with that drop below 90 a couple of nights back, so his new dose would be 1.25U
You just beat me too it about earning the reduction :cat: you should have reduced after 10-23 the night cycle to 1.25 units on 10-24 in the AM he dropped under 90

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
He just may be a little higher on account of the skipped shot this AM. With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90.

Comet is having really nice flat cycles.
Thank you! I’m just a bit more frazzled with lower numbers since we are still so new using the Relion meter. I don’t have a big enough trend with it like we have with AT2 if that makes sense? I feel like once we get a nicer pattern I can know what to prepare for! :)
 
Thank you! I’m just a bit more frazzled with lower numbers since we are still so new using the Relion meter. I don’t have a big enough trend with it like we have with AT2 if that makes sense? I feel like once we get a nicer pattern I can know what to prepare for! :)
Yes, it can be unnerving to see lower numbers. Once you get used to them, they get addictive :)

The trends are the same though, irrespective of the meter - that is, his onset, nadir etc
 
Yes, it can be unnerving to see lower numbers. Once you get used to them, they get addictive :)

The trends are the same though, irrespective of the meter - that is, his onset, nadir etc
Ok, I think it’s just hard with the “meter variance”
Could that mean if he comes in at 70 it could be a 50? And that would potentially be a 911 issue?
 
Ok, I think it’s just hard with the “meter variance”
Could that mean if he comes in at 70 it could be a 50? And that would potentially be a 911 issue?
Meter variance is usually 15-20%. But we take action (reductions, intervening with higher carb food etc) only based on the numbers we get - not on what they could be with meter variance. That would drive us nuts! :-)
 
Back
Top