10/26 Clyde PMPS 92 +1 135 +2 102 +4 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

fun2doimpossible

Member Since 2013
Last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106788

I have a situation where Clyde's BG was in the hypo range.

Work has kept me busy, working at all hours day and night so my data collection has suffered drastically this past week. This morning I tested Clyde at AMPS -0.25 hours 72, AMPS was 80 (wasn't sure which way his sugar was going & wanted to make sure it was going up), at +1 he was at 66, at +2 he's at 45 and at +3 he's was at 42.

He then proceeded to disappear on me and I found him under the sofa at +3.75 and did a spot check and he was at 36.

I then gave him about a half teaspoon of fancy feast gravy lovers food and checked again at +4 and it rose to 48.

I am planning on checking again at +4.25hours

Is there anything else I should be doing?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

hi Clyde, I am not that experienced, but I know members keep checking. You can feed him a little more gravy if the numbers are still low. Maybe a teaspoon. I also have seen that members add a drop of Karo syrup to the food
if the numbers are hard to bump up.
I think it might take a little while for the food to show up in a reading. (20- 30 minutes?)
Let me know what you get.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

Clyde, I am not aexperienced person, but I would give him another teaspoon of the gravy and put a drop or two of syrup in it if you get no responses.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

I gave him a little bit more of the Fancy Feast gravy lovers.
Will
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

That's 12 percent carbs. that's good

I printed this from the board.

LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a low number (40 – 60mg/dL or 2.2 – 3.3mmol/L) give food or treats until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level. If the cat refuses to eat even his/her favorite foods, you can syringe feed or administer a small amount of syrup.

Does your cat look fine?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

He's behavior hasn't deviated at all from what I would consider normal for him.

Will
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

HI - I won't be around much this morning, but wanted to let you know you are doing fine. I'd be testing every 30 minutes, feeding the tsp of HC, as you are dong, until the numbers are up into a better range, what you are comfortable with. if you need the Karo, only use a little, it doesn't need to be alot. It will wear off, so remember to test again later to amke sure Clyde hasn't dropped again. Good luck - you are on track with what you are doing.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

Clyde, I am glad another member replied as well.

Let me know what numbers you get when you test again.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, AMPS 80, +1 66, +2 45, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 4

At +4.5 he's at 40. It was about 5 min since I gave him more FF Gravy Lovers, so it probably hasn't really hit his system. I will check again in 15 min.

Thank you both for your help and encouragement.
Will
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40

Looks like you are doing very well. You are monitoring him.
Just continue rinse, lather, repeat until you have two rising numbers without syrup or high carb. ( I like the 70's myself) Than you can test less frequently.
It takes about 30 minutes for food to have an effect so you don't have to test every 15 unless that is your preference.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48

You are doing well. Is Clyde cooperating with all this testing?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3 42, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40

rhiannon and shadow said:
Looks like you are doing very well. You are monitoring him.
Just continue rinse, lather, repeat until you have two rising numbers without syrup or high carb. ( I like the 70's myself) Than you can test less frequently.
It takes about 30 minutes for food to have an effect so you don't have to test every 15 unless that is your preference.

Thank you, I was testing every 15min per the sticky - LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS since he hasn't yet reached the 50mg/dL level yet. He's gotten close (48), and dropped back to (40), but hasn't yet reached that mark yet.

Will
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48

lovey11 said:
You are doing well. Is Clyde cooperating with all this testing?


Clyde is being Clyde :smile: He is sitting on the bed, lets me prick his ear and them moves his head around making it difficult to coax a drop of blood out of him. But he knows he will get a cat treat when it's done.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48

At +5 he's at 50. I'm going to test again at +5.25 to see where it is going.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48

It takes about 20-30 minutes for the high carb food to start working... so if you dont feel comfortable waiting 30 minutes in between each test you could just wait 20 minutes... but that will give the food a little more time to reflect in his BG.

By the way, Clyde earned a dose reduction... so at the time of the next shot please remember to reduce the dose.

Glad to see Clyde up to 50 now.... you will still want to keep testing a bit longer... we want to make sure he wont drop again. You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +3.75 36 +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48

Jamie & Jupiter said:
It takes about 20-30 minutes for the high carb food to start working... so if you dont feel comfortable waiting 30 minutes in between each test you could just wait 20 minutes... but that will give the food a little more time to reflect in his BG.

By the way, Clyde earned a dose reduction... so at the time of the next shot please remember to reduce the dose.

Glad to see Clyde up to 50 now.... you will still want to keep testing a bit longer... we want to make sure he wont drop again. You are doing a great job!

Cool...I was going to ask about reducing the dose later.

My plan was to test at +5.25, +5.5 and hopefully the numbers support switching to every 30 min at that point (It's easier to remember when it's done on the half hour), +6 and then see where they are trending.

Max (my non sugar kitty) is sitting here hoping I will let him finish off the can of FF gravy lovers I opened for Clyde. :-D
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48 +5 50

Here are the instructions for handling low numbers. Any time you get a number below or close to 50, you want to be testing every 20 - 30 min. and providing a teaspoon or two of HC food and repeating the process until you get two consecutive tests, without the benefit of HC food, that are well above 50.
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48 +5 50

Ok 50 is better. I am glad Clyde is cooperating.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48 +5 50

If you shot 1.25u this morning, the next time you give a shot, you will only give 1u. Anytime that the BG drops below 50 - the cat has earned a reduction.

Can you please tell me when is the last time you gave any food? How much? and what kind (lc or hc)?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde, +4 48, +4.25 45, +4.5 40, +4.75 48 +5 50

Jamie & Jupiter said:
If you shot 1.25u this morning, the next time you give a shot, you will only give 1u. Anytime that the BG drops below 50 - the cat has earned a reduction.

Can you please tell me when is the last time you gave any food? How much? and what kind (lc or hc)?

At +5.25 he's at 44.

He got approximately 3.3oz of EVO beef (LC) near AMPS.

He got about 0.5-1 tsp at +3.75 and about 0.5-1 tsp +4.25. Both times Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (HC). (I used a teaspoon and it wasn't really flat on the spoon).

He also got 1 EVO Wild Cravings Turkey & Chicken Formula Cat Treat after each test, which I believe is LC.

Should I give him more HC?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.25 45 +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.

At +5.5 he's back at 52.

I haven't given him any more food. Should I wait until +6 to test again or test at +5.75?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.25 45 +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.

I'd suggest doing at least one more at 5.75...we need to see that his numbers are coming up without having to use food to keep them up
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.7

I would give another teaspoon of HC food. The numbers are surfing.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.7

No, I wouldn't feed him more HC at this point. The number is climbing, although still a little low. I'd get that +6 and see where he's at and then decide if you need to feed more

IF we can keep him in the 50-60's without continual feeding, that would be a great "healing" surf, but at some point, he's probably going to bounce
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.7

You're doing great! If it were me, since Clyde is taking his time coming up, I'd get another test at +6 to make sure he's still rising, especially since he's good with testing. I'd rather be safe than sorry.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.7

I did not feed him any more food.

At +6 he was at 57. I'm planning on checking him again at +6.5 since the number is definitely headed upwards.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.5 40 +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.7

Looking great Will!!

Time to come up just a little more Clyde...but you really don't have to bounce to the moon!!
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6

Will, great job keeping Clyde safe. Nice surfing Clyde.

dancing_cat
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +4.75 48 +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6

Will, you can go ahead and take the 911 down now that you have our attention and Clyde is coming up. We'll still be here to make sure you're comfortable where he's at before we'd "leave" you.

One of the great things about this message board...when someone has an emergency, we won't leave you until you're feeling good about what's going on, or if we HAVE to leave, we'll find someone else to hold your hand as long as needed.

You really are doing great!
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 5

At +6.5 he's hold at 57. What is the best way to proceed from here?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 5

Get another test in 30...as long as he stays above 50, we don't want to feed him more. We need to see that he's either surfing in the 50's or climbing when he hasn't had food for at least 2 hours
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5 50 +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 5

Chris & China said:
Get another test in 30...as long as he stays above 50, we don't want to feed him more. We need to see that he's either surfing in the 50's or climbing when he hasn't had food for at least 2 hours


Ok, no problem.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 6

At +7 he's at 65 so it's definitely climbing without having food for at least 2 hours.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 6

I would re-test at +8.

Whenever you see numbers below 50, you need to use HC food to bring numbers up. With numbers in the 40s you have a limited margin for safety. If numbers are in the 30s, you have no margin. Numbers need to come up and the best way to do that is HC. HC food wears off in an hour or two depending on how carb sensitive your cat is. At this point, you want to see Clyde surfing in the 60s or so. As HC wears off, numbers can wobble around so you don't want to be too complacent.

Also, HC will not cause a cat to bounce to the moon unless you feed your kitty a can of the stuff. Clyde may bounce but it will be from being in the low number range. Bounces are normal.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.25 44 +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 6

Clyde may bounce but it will be from being in the low number range

I didn't mean to imply that food would make him bounce. When I wrote what I did, I was thinking that at some point he's most likely going to bounce (because they are normal) from his liver kicking in, but also that she shouldn't feed too much HC because between the bounce and the extra carbs, we didn't want him going any higher than necessary

Nice to see Clyde in the 60's Will!! Take a break, relax and pat yourself on the back. You've done great!

Hope he continues to surf at +8 so you can enjoy the rest of your Caturday!!
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

At +8 he's up to 72, so it looks like he's probably in the clear for this cycle.

This evening he's getting his dosage reduced to 1U. flip_cat Is there anything in particular I should look for (or is likely to happen) this evening with the dosage reduction and the really low numbers today?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

Yeah for Clyde!! Nice surf going now!

He has earned that reduction, but just so you can start thinking about it, some of us do what's called "shooting through the bounce"...this is when we got a low number during one cycle, but by the next pre-shot time, they've bounced into high numbers. Instead of taking the reduction on that cycle, we give the same dose, and then take the reduction at the next cycle. Just thought I'd mention it in case you'd like to try it. Giving that last little "extra" when they've just bounced high can help get them on track a little sooner with the reduced dose.

Whatever you decide to do at PMPS, I'd always suggest getting a +2...You can learn so much from that test. If there's a big drop from PS to +2, it's most likely going to be an "active" cycle, and require more testing. If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, it's most likely going to be a "normal" cycle.

A "before bed" test tonight will also probably make you sleep better
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

HI Will - I wanted to check back with you to see how this morning went for you. This looks great! It is nice to see Clyde in the 70's. I was always partial to the 80/90's, but that is just me. All the advice you have received is right on target. Great job! I would expect a bonce to higher numbers with the PM cycle. The ones Clyde posted today were low, bouncing is so normal when a kitty spends time in the 30's and 40's. Don't worry if that happens, you didn't mess up, it is just the way it is for some kitties. Others just continue with these great numbers. In would test somewhat diligently with the PM cycle, at least through the first few hours, just to make sure that Clyde doesn't decided the low stuff is way too cool to ignore. Way cool too on the reducie! :-D :cool:

Have a great afternoon!
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

To shoot through the bounce or reduce immediately? Hmm...it makes sense to shoot through the bounce. The bigger question is can I do it safely? Should the bounce start to show up by the PMPS and if it should is there any guidance you can provide that would help me recognize the bounce and if he isn't bouncing should I reduce immediately?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

:-D Yes, you can shoot through a bounce and do it safely. But you also need to know what Clyde is up too when you shoot. I always got a +11, when there was a question like this, so I could compare it to the pmps number. If the PMPS was down then I knew Mannie was on another mission, and likely to "dive again". In that case I took the reduction from the get go at the time of the PM cycle. It he was up, significantly up from that +11, then I would shoot through the bounce. I would also monitor him that night, just to make sure I'd read the signs right. There is always that chance that Clyde will repeat this morning, despite being on the rise. For me it was always initially hard to determine if the higher PM number was a bounce or just the normal Lantus cycle. The PM cycle tonight should tell you if you have a bounce: the numbers will be up, and stay up. If Clyde doesn't bounce then I would take the reduction with tonight's shoot.

Surf well Clyde!
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

Michelle and Mannie (GA) said:
:-D Yes, you can shoot through a bounce and do it safely. But you also need to know what Clyde is up too when you shoot. I always got a +11, when there was a question like this, so I could compare it to the pmps number. If the PMPS was down then I knew Mannie was on another mission, and likely to "dive again". In that case I took the reduction from the get go at the time of the PM cycle. It he was up, significantly up from that +11, then I would shoot through the bounce. I would also monitor him that night, just to make sure I'd read the signs right. There is always that chance that Clyde will repeat this morning, despite being on the rise. For me it was always initially hard to determine if the higher PM number was a bounce or just the normal Lantus cycle. The PM cycle tonight should tell you if you have a bounce: the numbers will be up, and stay up. If Clyde doesn't bounce then I would take the reduction with tonight's shoot.

Surf well Clyde!

I will make sure I get the +11. With all of the excitement today :smile: I was planning on getting one, if for no other reason so I have a better idea of what he's doing and adjusted my plans for tonight incase I have a repeat from this morning. (I'm hoping Max, my non-sugar cat, will get to finish off the HC cat food as a snack tonight :smile: )

What would you consider a significant increase? 10% over PMPS? More/less?
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

I don't know of any "formula" for deciding. This is where "Know thy Cat" come into play.

Clyde has been in all blue numbers for over a week, so if he went into the 200's (or higher), I think it could be considered a bounce. On 10/5 during your AM cycle, Clyde dropped into the 40's. During the PM cycle, he obviously bounced since at AMPS on 10/6 he was in the high 300's...I would have "shot through" that 380 at the same dose, and then taken the reduction on the PM cycle on 10/6

It's something you just kind of have to "know" for your cat, and as you get further down the road, you'll "know" these answers even better. I'd say let's just see what his +11 and PMPS is and figure it from there
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

That +11 was always my fav test. It is so enlightening for me - told be alot about what Mannie was up too, more often than not. You comment about your non-sugar cat made me laugh. My civies loved those days when Mannie got the good stuff, as there was always left-overs, and they ate very well. :lol: :lol: It is hard for me to define significant, as every cat is different. When dealing with Mannie, significant meant say a 100 at +11, and 200 at pmps, and a 250 at +1, with numbers that stayed in the 200's. That was his beginnings of a bounce. Sometimes we even went postal pink. He had the tendency to be a very bouncy dive loving kitty.... If it were me, and others may disagree, but if Clyde were in these Numbers, you probably OK to shot through the bounce, and try to keep the bouncing to a minimum. Bottom line is that you have to feel comfortable with what you are doing. If not, then just take the reduction. Safety first was always my rule. It really is OK to do that. more often than not I just took it when earned, not doing so means you do need to test, stay up and check. often that just wasn't possible for me...

I am heading out soon, but will try and check back later to see how tings are. Sure would be great if Clyde can stay on this surf.... :mrgreen: :cool:
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

Great catch today, Will, and you handled it like a pro.

I might be surprised if he bounces high enough for you to shoot through the bounce. He's been in the 40s before and didn't bounce really high. Of course, he's getting less insulin now so it's possible that he'll bounce from these 40s (that is, bounce high enough to shoot through the bounce).

Good luck with the reduction whether you take it tonight or tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72 +11 63

Thank you everyone who helped and gave support. I couldn't have done it without your help.

At +11, Clyde is at 63.

Unless he skyrockets over the next hour, I'm going to be shooting his reduction and even then, something tells me I'm going to be shooting really low. Fortunately, I'm not going anywhere tonight :smile:

I do have the ability to stall this evening if you think it is necessary/desirable. My stall just can't last more then 1 hour, otherwise I won't be able to get him back to where it needs to be for Monday with work.
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

If his PMPS number is higher, I'd go ahead and give the 1 unit as long as you're home to test tonight. If you're still not comfortable shooting at whatever number it is, then stall, don't feed and retest in 30 minutes.

(and I'm assuming that he hasn't had any food since the low numbers, so he's climbing on his own, not because of any food?)
 
Re: 10/26 Clyde +5.5 52 +5.75 54 +6 57 +6.5 57 +7 65 +8 72

I am home all evening. With all of today's excitement, I cancelled my plans for tonight so I could monitor Clyde.

He hasn't had any food since this morning, when we were trying to get hi BG up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top