10/26 Cinco AMPS 168 +4.75 79 +6 99 +7.5 65 +8.5 69 +9.5 81 PMPS 207 +5 191 Harvey has FD!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Very Active Member
10/25 Recap:
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 255
AM+4: 182
AM+6.25: 197
PMPS: 178
PM+3.25: 158
PM+8.25: 157

Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos

Yes, it is I, Late Condo Queen, posting in the early afternoon (Pacific Time)!!!
icon_e_surprised.gif
Do not adjust your clock (yet).
icon_lol.gif


Well, I got my green. I think it's partially fueled by the fact that I got up late so he went without food for almost 5 hours. :oops: I just couldn't get to sleep when I finally went to bed (was still awake when DH got up 45 minutes later). Too much on my mind.

I kept forgetting to take Cinco's bandage off this weekend to change it, and he paid the price - the pad was stuck to him. :eek: I used a warm washcloth to loosen it, but there was still some skin irritation. :facepalm::( He really was very good while I was fiddling with it - just a few growls and hisses. I think he realized I was trying to help, and the warm washcloth probably felt good. So I'm watching him like a hawk to make sure he can't reach it while I let it dry off a little before rebandaging. He's sleeping right now, so hopefully it isn't bothering him.

Minka is still not eating. :( I've been giving her the full dose of Ondansetron first thing, but that doesn't seem to make a difference. I just gave her some Cerenia and Cypro, and we'll do fluids shortly. If she's not eating by then I'll get the syringe out. I gave her some squash a little while ago, and she looked at the syringe like she was glad to see it, then she tasted it and wasn't so happy! :p Maybe she wants me to feed her.

I messed up this morning, due to lack of sleep, I'm sure. Harvey was crouched in the hall, licking his lips and I thought he had just gotten a drink. I grabbed him and gave him his tummy meds, and 30 seconds later they came right back out along with a lot of thick, clear liquid!!! :eek::facepalm: In hindsight, I realized it was obvious he was about to hurl, but my tired brain just didn't process it correctly. :banghead: So I gave him a new dose and a couple minutes later he was under my feet, anxiously awaiting his breakfast!!
icon_rolleyes.gif
I called UCD to give them the news about the urine test, but had to leave a message for the IM so now I'm
nailbiting.gif
waiting to hear what he has to say.

I will weigh Harvey today, but as of last Tuesday he weighed 8 lbs 5 ounces, which translates to 3.63 kg. That would make his starting dose .9 units. I'll wait to hear what the IM says, but I'd like to know what you all think I should do for a starting dose - 1.0 units or .75? I've already received one vote for the .75. Needles to say, DH votes for 1.0, but his vote is colored by the difficulty of measuring .75! :rolleyes::joyful:

Sasha is doing her usual morning thing - soaking up the sunshine in the guest room and nibbling at her breakfast without a lot of enthusiasm. I'm about to take her some eyedrops, so she'll get a little baby food treat, which she will inhale.

Bowling tonight, so I'm hoping Cinco doesn't have any big party plans in the works - at least not until after +5.5!

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans, especially Andrea & Tennessee, Marilyn & Polly, Carla & her civvie Baby, Wendy & Neko & civvie Theo, and Marje & Gracie. :bighug:Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF and DH, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM, and Elise's DM.
 
Healing vines for Cinco's leg and appy vines for sweet little Minka. If she doesn't mind the syringe, then I'd say go for it! Trix was the same way for quite some time...I think I syringe fed her for a solid 4-5 months during the spring/summer of 2014. She got 2 syringes morning/2 in the evening, and I continued to encourage her to eat off a plate, too. I honestly can't remember how we finally stopped doing it...I guess she started eating more and more from the plate - still with MamaBean holding it, of course!

I hope you get the word on Harvey soon. I know it won't be fun having another diabetic, but at the same time you are currently in limbo, so at least it will be "resolved", so to speak. Personally, I think I vote for .75U, too....sorry, Mark! (I know how he feels...I always hated doses that didn't fall on a line!)

Enjoy your garlic bites tonight!
 
Nice greens for Cinco. I hope his leg irritation clears up soon. It sounds like Minka looks forward to the syringe feeding. At least she is letting you do it. I think I'd try 0.75 too. I think it's better to need to go up than need to go down because of low numbers right away. Sending prayers. :bighug:
 
I also vote for the .75 my opinion is it is safer to start low then go up if needed, I am so glad I don't have to worry about getting my fur children to eat. Healing vines for Cinco's leg and come on Minka eat cause your going to give the mamma bean gray hair at this rate or cause her to snatch herself bald.
 
This is the third of your condos I have posted in today!
icon_rolleyes.gif
Maybe I'm caught up now. Sending vines all around! I hope Harvey will be a short timer on the Board.

Do you have a caliper? I have an extra if you need it. I have a couple of cans of Iam's MaxCal too. It's 55 calories and ounce and you can syringe it straight out of the can.
 
Thanks for visiting us Amy, Carla, Julia and Ann (3 times! :joyful:). @Ann & Tess GA, I think I was the one that was behind!! That's what happens when you post your condo at 3 am! ;)

Cinco decided he wasn't quite done with the lagoon after all, to my surprise. Not gonna complain. :D

Minka took almost 20 ccs of the NF. What was really funny was that we were in our bedroom and Sasha was there. She started sniffing, then jumped up on the bed and hopped over to us, very interested in what we were doing. I had some of the food on my finger so I offered it to her, and she licked it clean, then tried to horn in on Minka's feeding session! :joyful: She was a very good helper - cleaning up any drops that went astray when Minka shook her head, or anything that got on my finger. When Minka had her fill I still had about 5 cc in the syringe, so I squeezed it on my finger and Sasha licked it off! Silly girl. :rolleyes: At least now I know what to give her when she won't eat!

Ann, thanks for the offer. I have Zener's calipers but haven't quite mastered their use, and DH refuses to use them.
icon_rolleyes.gif
I also have some of the Iams MaxCal. It made Minka sick. I think it's too rich or something for her. She tolerates the NF really well and I have a bunch of it, as it was one of the food I got to try Harvey on, which he refused to eat. I like that it's safe for her kidneys, and it's higher cal than most regular foods, but lower than MaxCal.

Still no call from the IM. I probably won't hear from him until late afternoon - they generally return phone calls after rounds, which are from 4-5. I strongly suspect that remission won't be an option for Harvey, as his FD is caused by Pred and he'll be on that for life. :(
 
Yo Cinco!! Happy to see you're back on duty in the lagoon...especially since I can't be there right now! Maybe I'll come down to the shore later tonight though...mama did a dosecrease (and she didn't even give me any warning either!!)

I'll add another vote for .75....always better to work your way up!!

Darn these doctors....don't they know we're sitting by the phone, waiting and worrying? Hope you hear back soon and not in the middle of your bowling/garlic bites night!!

Awww...Sasha's trying to be a good nurse assistant...cleaning up after Minka...and begging for a finger full herself now and then! Of course you know if you NEED to get Sasha to eat it, she won't be interested unless you're feeding it to Minka!

Cats...what would we do without them? (don't get me started.....LOL)
 
Beautiful cycle today! Kind of makes you want to post early to share the news. :D:D

Are you thinking TR or SLGS for Harvey? I thought I saw you mention SLGS which would mean a starting dose of 0.5u if he is all on low carb wet food now. If TR, I will join the chorus until you are certain you can test him enough. :bighug:
 
Thanks for stopping by, Chris and Wendy.

Now I'm concerned that Cinco is still going to be fairly low when it's time for PMPS. Am I going to want to stay home with him (and forfeit my garlic pretzel bites????:eek:)? In the scheme of things, not a bad problem to have, I guess.

Minka came downstairs and had a few bites of some of the food I had offered her earlier, but just a few bites. She's having a little bit of baby food right now. Sometimes that syringe feeding gets her going. :)

@Wendy&Neko, I'd forgotten that I talked about SLGS with Harvey. I guess we'll have to see - it really depends on how much he'll let me test him. I've been playing with his ears a lot lately, trying to get him ready for being poked. I am also thinking that I'll have to modify his feeding schedule a bit - right now he gets food all day long. Maybe if he only gets food when I test him, he'll be more amenable to the tests! I pulled up all the dry food Saturday night. He's not happy that he can't slip into the pantry and snack when he wants to, but he wasn't eating a lot of it, anyway, so it's not a big deal for him. Sasha's the one that it affects, as she munches on it all day. I'm going to have to go up multiple times during the day to give her supervised snacking sessions, since I can't keep Harvey out of the room. See why I couldn't sleep last night? So much to think about!

@Chris & China I was thinking the same thing about Sasha and the food - when I need her to eat it, she won't want it!

Cinco hasn't messed with this leg yet. I'm pretty sure he can't reach that spot with the collar on. I'd like to leave the bandage off, as I think it will heal better with fresh air. I'm going to take a good look at it before I leave for the bowling alley, to make sure he hasn't touched it.

Time to go get in the shower and get ready. I'm BIC tonight as Mark had to go to the Sacramento office today and it didn't make sense for him to come home for t/f/s and then drive back for bowling. I'll be driving in on my own, providing Cinco tells me I can!
 
So did you go bowling? I'd start with the lower dose from what you have said about Harvey too.

Interesting that a Cinco will go low if he doesn't eat for 5 hours. That doesn't happen with Max. I'm hoping he wasn't too low and you got out.
 
Guess what's new at my local vegan café - garlic and chive pretzels!!! Hope you're off pigging out at the bowling alley.
 
Hope you're snacking on those pretzel thingies right now. And Cinco's just being Mr. Cool at home.

I'm bundling vines in big bushels and shipping them out...sort as needed. Might throw in a case of Merlot, too. Don't share.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks for checking in, Rhiannon, Elise, Serryn and Marilyn.

Yes, I'm at the bowling alley. Cinco gave me a permission slip. Salad first, then garlic pretzel bites for dessert.

It's official. I now have two sugar cats.:( Harvey starts insulin tomorrow. The IM talked to an oncologist and they want me to reduce his pred again - to 2.5 mg bid, and hope that will help. The IM say to start with 1.0 units. I've had a lot of votes for both doses, but I think I will do the 1.0. We're gonna try TR and see if I can get enough tests. The IM wants to see him in 2-3 weeks for a check up. To his credit, nothing was said about curves or anything else silly like prescription fuds. He just wanted to know if I needed a new prescription for insulin. I said no thanks, I have plenty. I will need to get more test strips, though.

Unless someone thinks it's a bad idea, I plan to just do one condo - I've been including Harvey in Cinco's all along, anyway. I'll try to get Harvey's SS set up tonight. This will be a new experience for me, as Cinco's dx was so long ago, and he was so sick with DKA. It'll be strange to start with a relatively healthy kitty. Wish us luck!
 
Sending vines to you, Cinco, and Harvey! Glad you got to go out and have some fun bowling- as well as enjoy your dessert:)
 
Well shoot!! I guess Harvey's just like every other little brother...has to do everything big brother does!!

I don't see any reason you can't stick to one condo...Vyktor and Purrdy do it
 
Harvey will be a good FD, I'm sure! Can you get him an autofeeder for his wet food? Or will the girls want to share it? (maybe that would be good for their appys!). Tricia, I so admire the way you go about taking care of your kitties. Thinking of you tonight.

Hugs and scritches,
Ella & Rusty

Good work tonight, Deputy Cinco!
~ Rusty
 
Luck, Tricia. I wish you a goodboy Harvey. Hey, Harvey, Polly used to need herding for pokes and shots. She was untouchable before this dance started. Take a lesson....learn to love the needles!

You, Tricia, are an inspiration. Feel the hugs. Now, get back to those pretzel thingies.

Marilyn
 
Huggles I am sorry that Harvey has joined the family here of sugar kitties. I personally believe if anyone can work the miracle of getting him into remission it would be you
 
Thanks, everyone. I am glad I was prepared for this news, as it really would have devastated me if it was out of the blue. So we move on.

I do plan to get another autofeeder - actually, we have three, but they are old - 20 years old!!! and not very reliable, so I think I should scrap them and get another new one. On the list of things to order. Sasha won't bother the autofeeder as it will be downstairs and she upstairs. I doubt Minka will touch it - she currently pretty much expects to be hand fed, either by syringe or by my holding the plate. :rolleyes:

Actually, Chris, Harvey is the big brother. He's 16 and we think Cinco is about 13. But I'll still call him a copycat! :p

I ate too many garlic pretzel bites and am feeling stuffed! But it's a good kind of stuffed. ;) Now I need to get the meds ready and fluids warming. Thanks again, for all the support.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Tricia you are amazing! Sending vines to all. I'm sure Harvey will be a goodboy with this dance that keeps all the beans on their toes.
 
Vines to your whole crew Tricia.
At least you already know the FD dance and hopefully that will make things easier for you all.
I'll second what Paula said, you are amazing!!!:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top