10/26 ChrisFarley AMPS 95 +3 83 +5.5 93 PMPS 89 +2 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
Another nice morning for Chris.

All of the cats are acting a bit off since one of the fosters (been here for 2 months) left yesterday. Chris has actually benefited from it because Cecil, the other foster that was buddies with the one that left, has been trying to instigate Chris in play more so Chris is getting a little more much needed exercise. He is such a brute!

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127449&p=1314777#p1314777

Hope everyone is having a good Sunday.
 
Re: 10/26 ChrisFarley AMPS 95

I think if i were you, I'd try skootching his dose down to 0.75u and seeing if he holds the reduction. Other than the one 157 a couple of days ago, he's now on day 9 of all normal numbers at 1.0u.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

He's looking great, melanie! Looks like he might be one of the lucky ones. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/26 ChrisFarley AMPS 95

Thanks Julie! As you can see in my spread, I'd counted out 7 days from that 157 and crossed my fingers :smile: Wasn't sure if I should count from it or just discount it.

Chris is the hardest one I've had to deal with with those pops into the blues. Smokey and Cecil politely went into the greens and stayed there when they went into remission. When they are fosters you want to REALLY work to make remission stick since they won't stay with you forever to make sure they stay on track.
 
Re: 10/26 ChrisFarley AMPS 95 +3 83

Hi Melanie,

We haven't written on your condo before, so just getting acquainted. What you're doing with your fosters is fantastic! Chris is one lucky kitty!

Have a great day,

Georgette and Clare (nearly neighbors from WI)
 
Re: 10/26 ChrisFarley AMPS 95 +3 83 +5.5 93

i would've counted from after the 157 as well, except that now with more tests since then, it was the ONLY test over 120 in a sea of numbers under it, both before and after the 157.

Also, i don't have his ss open at the moment, but this morning I did notice you catching a few mid-cycle numbers that were higher than the preshots. Sometimes when a cat is overdosed, they will develop an inverted curve, meaning that the mid-cycle numbers are higher than the preshots. You end up with a "n" look to the curve instead of a "u."

that's why i'm thinking it's time to go ahead and try reducing the dose and seeing if it sticks.
 
Thanks for stopping by Georgette and Clare! Wish we had Like buttons on here like FB so we could let people know we stopped by their condos, but didn't have time to post. So many people and kitties to meet!

Thanks for the insight Julie. Yes, Chris almost always goes down early in the cycle and then up higher than PS and we have to fight that rise with food pretty hard. Feeding turns him back down. Those rises make me worried to drop the dose, but when thinking they could be causing the higher numbers it makes more sense.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top