10/26 Charms AMPS 109,+2 114, +6 78,+8 68,+10 97 PMPS 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Well Charms is still getting some nice numbers on this dose. Took him out to scratch his favorite tree and he decided he wanted to chase some leaves too! It was a very brisk fall day here. Very windy and cold. We have been spoiled by all the warm weather this fall. Need to get some weight on Charms soon or I might have to knit him a sweater. I don't know what image is funnier, Charms in a sweater or me attempting to knit anything!

Hope straying from the protocol a little is OK. Charms is free feeding the YAZC cat food , so he seems to do well holding the reductions. Let me know what you think. Thanks - Sam

PS Condo's are getting later everyday! Sorry. Trying to read everyones too, but I have not had a chance to post to any other condo's or reply in the last couple days. Hopefully things will slow down a little here soon!
 
Charms is looking great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Remember that the protocol sometimes needs tweaking for the individual cat. You know Charms best so know what you have to do to keep him safe and keep him in the nice numbers he's showing now. Ie. If it's working, don't break it. :lol:

Are you weighing Charms regularly? Is he maintaining or losing weight. One idea is to supplement Charms diet with some higher calorie low carb wet food like Wellness.
 
Wendy - I have been weighing Charms and he has been continuing to lose weight. That is one reason I took him back in for blood work a couple weeks ago, my vet had thought he had an underlying thyroid issue in addition to the diabetes but all of his thyroid tests came back fine. My Oliver who passed away last month was diagnosed with hyperthyroid in 2009. Charms does have a lot of the same symptoms, thirst and hunger, weight loss. I asked my vet if he could have a thyroid condition even though the tests came back fine, but he has not gotten back to me. I did just start giving Charms extra oil , and I do boil up chicken (not my pet chickens!) and give him the meat and broth, which he loves along with every cat in the house!! They all come out of the woodwork for chicken, even the shy ones! I will look into the Wellness higher calorie low carb cans , but I am so afraid of higher BG , that I hesitate to try any new food right now. Thank you for all of the support, Charms numbers do look good and you deserve credit for providing us with so much help. We could not have gotten this far without you and the members of this message board! - Sam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top