10/26 calliecat

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
good morning !

10/25 I gave callie 1.6 units today


amps =495
+ 5 = 286
+ 7 = 297
pmps = 442

10/26
amps = 369


I remember when I use to freak if callie had a pink ps , now its like a gift straight from god !


hope you all have a good day

callie and marty
 
I really think TID would be good for Callie. You numbers remind me a lot of Kitty's when we were shooting BID.

Happy for the Pink preshot this morning! Trust me, I know how relieving those pinks can be!

Have a Great Day!
 
I really think so to Kim , I need to get callies vet on board to with this , I don't quite know what to shoot tid and what times ?? do you do 7 - 3 - 11 ??
 
I do 7-3-11 but basically any times 8 hours apart work. When I started I took Cass's usual dose and divided it by 3 for the TID dose. You might be able to justify the "usual" dose but if you start getting overlap that may be too high.
 
We will help you. There are a few rules to be followed when shooting TID---the main one being you need to always be sure you are not shooting into a BG that is falling. Truly, Callie reminds me of Kitty ---and I don't think you would have that problem. Kitty is NEVER dropping at +8. The normal protocal....if one exists, is to take your daily dose--so for Callie that would be 2.8 Units and divide it by 3--which would be .9 units and to dose that three times a day at 8 hour intervals.

You need to start 8 hours after a shot. But, to make you schedule work, you can start anywhere between +8 and +12 to help get you on a workable schedule. I have found that 7 am, 3 pm and 11 pm is a good schedule---but, whatever works with you schedule is fine. So, if you gave Callie a shot this morning at 7 am--you could test her and shoot again at 3 pm...and then 11 pm. If you start this, you need to do some curves pretty aggressively, to determine where her nadir is and how low it is. For the first week to 2 weeks of TID dosing, I tested A LOT to be sure I was safe. Now, I must admit that I don't test as much, because I have so much data that I know where Kitty is running.

Some people find that it actually takes less insulin when dosing TID---so the .9 could drop back to a lower dose---time will tell. It appears with some kitties that the consistent flow of insulin allows the amount being dosed to be lowered.

These are just some things to think about. If you decide to go TID--post here prior to starting and we will help you get started. But, I really do think TID would be good for Callie. It appears to me that she needs more duation and when you increase her dose....she appears to bounce. Like I said, it reminds me of Kitty!

Good Luck and let me know if I can help.

Kim
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top