10/25 Trixie PMPS 215 +2 200 +4.5 143

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Early start for Trix's condo today....

This number is not pretty, but no big surprise, given yesterday's low numbers and last night's skipped shot.

I do want to reiterate why I skipped Trix's shot last night, as skipping shots is not something I take lightly. We have skipped shots maybe a total of 5 times since her diagnosis almost 2 years ago, and two of those skips were because DH and I were away for the afternoon and evening.

Trix's "PMPS" (which ultimately became "PMBG") of 44 was not shootable for obvious safety reasons - especially after the day we had. Naturally, if I could have predicted for sure that she would rise throughout the evening, I would have done her shot, but I didn't have any guarantee that this would happen.

Trix's +13 of 73 last night was technically a good, shootable number....but it was also a food influenced number, since she had eaten her dinner, along with a little bit of gravy that I gave her with her dinner to make sure she came out of those 40s. Again - aside from the fact that my schedule could not accommodate a late shot - I had no way of knowing for sure whether or not she would drop like a rock after her dinner settled in and onset began. Safety first.

In addition to that, my schedule simply could not accommodate stalling or a late shot. On top of my very demanding job (and DH's very demanding job), I have 5 other cats, all of whom have varying degrees of special/medical needs: three with IBD; one with chronic constipation; two with nighttime separation anxiety issues that have caused DH and I to become extremely sleep-deprived; and a 17.5 year old who has many ailments associated with his age, who has very demanding needs, and who follows the same 12/12 medication schedule that Trixie does. I own a retail store in very trying economic times, and needless to say trying to keep the store afloat in a crappy economy demands a lot my time. DH has been working massive amounts of overtime for months now, with no end in sight. Believe me, it is one hell of a juggling act, and making any sort of decision to stall or delay a shot has a pretty significant effect on the entire household, and this is something that I HAVE take into consideration.

This is just another way of looking at ECID. We all know that ECID is different in how they respond to insulin and food, but we also have to remember that ECID in their circumstances as well. Trix has been on quite a mission lately, and given all the other circumstances in our household coupled with her recent runs in pretty low numbers, we've had to make some decisions with regards to BCs and a skipped shot that we felt were in everyone's best interest. It certainly hasn't been "ideal", but it has been what we've had to do in order to balance keeping Trix safe with everything else we have to deal with.

I need to catch a few Zs before the workday begins. Have a great Thursday, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 10/25 Trixie AMPS 268 +3.5 194

She's workin' her juice, I'm working mine ~O) ~O) ~O) ...but I think it's time for the IV drip (for me, not her).
 
Re: 10/25 Trixie AMPS 268 +3.5 194

Hi Amy, I think Trixie will get back on track in no time. I can understand why you had to skip with so much going on with the whole furbaby family and both your schedules. You do need the caffeine IV drip. :lol: Call Mannie for extra shots! :-D Have a nice day,
 
Re: 10/25 Trixie AMPS 268 +3.5 194

I'm sure Trixie will be back at it before the day is out. I totally understand on the skipped shot. We have been in that situation as well and you know your kitty. Trixie had a beautiful day yesterday. Have a very happy Wednesday!!
 
Hi Amy - sorry once again for the late visit... another DGS day that has put me behind on condos... bummer for me. I hope your day has been a good one.

I can so understand the shot scenario last night. ECID for sure, and often we need to remember this is as much as it the beans as it is the kitties. Kudos to you for keeping everything on track. amazing person you are.

It is nice to see Pixie recovering from the skipped shot. Go Trixie!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top