10/25 Tiny Sole: +11.5: 49!, +12: 84, +13: 144, + 14: 144, NS

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-110-2-5-u-2-148-3-142.205354/#post-2277075

ALL BG VALUES FOR THE DAY AT THE TOP OF THIS THREAD:
AMPS: 103
+2: 150

+5: 81, LC snack, +5.5: 112
+6: 119
+8: 99, LC snack
+10: 106 at 5 PM
Momma took a long nap, woke, decided to test Tiny and...
+11.5: 49 at 6:30 PM, fed LC snack and gave a tiny bit of honey and butter
+11:45: vomited up all food, 6:50 PM gave a little more honey and butter
+12: 84 at 7 PM
+13: 144 at 7:30 PM and at 8 PM
NS in the PM
What would follow the PMPS:
+2: 116, dropping again, so fed some FF creamy broths
+3: 137 ...I still don't trust that she won't go low.

I will test at some point in the night and put on SS.
_____________________________________
Thurs AM thread:
Tiny stayed steadily in the blues yesterday.
Last night's post PMPS numbers were: +2: 148, +3: 142, +7:150 (LC snack given), +10: 131.
I anticipate a dip into the greens again today.
Hoping it won't be too dramatic.
I'll be testing in about 40 min for +2.

May the day go well for all kitties and their Beans.
 
Last edited:
Her numbers are lower than yesterday. Good stuff. I forgot to mention in my other post, with Emmett, cause he loves food so much and I was trying to get him to lose weight. I started spacing his food out, cause no matter how much I gave him, he'd still want more like an hr or two later. Even now, he's at 40g, then 1-2 hrs later I give another 40g. He basically eats 160g a day...which is kinda low (approx 280 cals)...he's losing weight sooooo slowly.

Anyway, might be a way for you to level her out a bit (so can resist feeding her the LC stuff ...and most importantly the kibble).

Emmett at dog kibble -- the little ninja cat would sneak in and steal the dog's kibble (and I'm guessing even used to lift the bowl covering the kibble bowl). I couldn't understand why he was getting crazy numbers. I'm not sure if it was the reason, but as soon as I was more diligent about the dog kibble, I started seeing more consistent results. And yes, Emmett LOVED his kitteh kibble too. My Husky is not happy with the situation...as he's just a big cat in disguise -- and he eats like a cat ...just nibbles, runs around and comes back later to find out his food has been taken away (by me) so Emmett doesn't eat it. haha. Anyway, good luck today.


R
 
@Joanne&TinySole

Go to the Yellow Sticky note about SLGS & copy the page.THis way it's right in front of you when you need the info. I have a Folder next to my Shooting supplies that i can refer when I have a question.

The more you read & know the easier it will get. :joyful: It's always good to get input from people hear with experience until you get more confidence at what to do.:bighug:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately
 
Last edited:
Um, I just noticed she's using Alpha Trak 2!! ...doesn't that mean Tiny's 81 is actually like a 60 or something on a human meter? All those below 90 recommendations in the SLGS proto change when using Alpha Trak, no?

Am I the only one who didn't know she was using an AT2? lol

Anyway, I can totally see why the reductions then.


R
 
If you like, go back to 10/23 condo for Joanne & Tiny Sole and start reading at post #40.

I see, I read the posts. From the looks of it, it’s kinda like what I said.

AT2 meter reads like 110 when a human meter would read 90. In other words, a 90 on an AT2, is like a 70 on a human meter, even better for kitteh.

So since 70 isn’t bad for the kitteh, no harm in keeping the reduction at 90. If Tiny is getting 90 on the AT2 then she’s getting really good values. 70 is right in the realm of a normal cat. But 80 (on a normal meter) and below is also the range for TR.

So consequently, if she gets a reading on the AT2 of say 70 or below it gets sketchy for any cat.

Anyway, maybe Joanne already knows this.


R
 
Took a nap, woke, decided to test 30 min on advance of PMPS and she was at 49!

Gave some butter and honey - a little panicked.
 
AMPS: 103
+2: 150

+5: 81, LC snack, +5.5: 112
+6: 119

+8: 99, LC snack
+10: 106 at 5 PM
Momma took a long nap, woke, decided to test Tiny and...
+11.5: 49 at 6:30 PM, fed LC snack and gave a tiny bit of honey and butter
+11:45: vomited up all food, 6:50 PM gave a little more honey and butter
+12: 84 at 7 PM


Will test at 7:30 PM next.
 
This would be the PMPS: 144 at 7:30 PM, but again it came after some honey and butter x2 (because she puked up the first batch and her food), and some LC food after the vomiting episode too.

Now, the question is, to shoot or not to shoot? Again.

I'm sorry to be asking this question repeatedly, but I am very concerned.
I imagine that we might have another night like 10/22.

She already earned a dose reduction today by going to 81 at +5.
That reduction would be 2.25.

So, do I shoot a BCS of 1.25, 1.50, 1.75 or 2?
I understand that it depends on my level of energy and ability to monitor, steer and feed, I get that, but Moses! This kid is serious!
 
Last edited:
She may be angling for another reduction soon! :D
Appears your crystal ball is very accurate.:cool:

WOW! Tiny is definitely sending you a message. Just how much kibble is Tiny eating now? Just wondering because at this rate you might as well be using TR!

Technically Tiny has earned yet another reduction to 2.25u or is that two reductions (an extra for the extra low reading!:woot:) Not sure what to expect her to do tonight. How are you as far as monitoring Joanne?
 
How are you as far as monitoring Joanne?

She does eat kibble, but it's the Young Again Zero, so carbs are 1%, I believe.
I think I would like to do a BCS. Sharks aren't my bag!

Also, I'm concerned that I might run into trouble with her in the middle of the night if I give her a full shot, and I have limited access to beans here (I feel like such a big baby).
 
I think you'd be OK with 2.0u. Problem is we don't know how much of that 144 might be honey and butter. Can you stall for 30 minutes without any more food and still work that with your schedule tomorrow?
 
I think you'd be OK with 2.0u. Problem is we don't know how much of that 144 might be honey and butter. Can you stall for 30 minutes without any more food and still work that with your schedule tomorrow?

Yes, my thoughts exactly. She came up to 144, but I'm sure it's honey and butter influenced.
I can stall, test her at 8 even and dose her after that.

I can always walk her back to 7:30 AM/PM slowly.
 
When you fed Tiny at +11.5 what did you give her carb wise? Did she wolf the food down (possible cause for vomiting)? Just want to make sure we take everything into consideration to make a decision tonight.
 
When you fed Tiny at +11.5 what did you give her carb wise? Did she wolf the food down (possible cause for vomiting)? Just want to make sure we take everything into consideration to make a decision tonight.

We gave her about two drops of honey initially in butter (she likes and will eat it readily), and about 1.25 tsp of LC food. Yes, she ate it fast as if she were starving.
 
AT2 meter reads like 110 when a human meter would read 90.
Each meter is different, we can't make these blanket kind of statements. Some people have done tests and seen the AT register lower that the human meter at low numbers. Rather than drive ourselves crazy with what-if games, we just take the number at face value.

Joanne, the new dose is 2.25 units. You have two choices tonight. The first is to wait and keep testing to see when her numbers start to really rise and decide if you can shoot then. Keep in mind that her numbers may wobble back down after the honey wears off which can take up to 2 hours. If you can't delay preshot 2 hours, pick option number 2. Second option is to skip and regroup tomorrow with 2.25 units.
 
So she didn't get much honey and LC food and went up to 144 from 84. Seems that BG may be a bounce 'cause 49 is pretty low for her...well for any cat on the AT2. You are probably Ok with 2.0u but I would definitely monitor +2 and then again sometime during the night depending on what that +2 is. It's up to you if you want to drop the dose a tad more but I would try to keep things rolling and not lose momentum. The reward will all be worth it.
 
pick option number 2. Second option is to skip and regroup tomorrow with 2.25 units.

Ok, I won't torture anyone more tonight.
I'm going to choose Option 2: shoot 2.25 tomorrow morning.
I will test her tonight and throughout the night to be certain she is safe.

She did not show any signs of being at 49; no odd behavior at all, just calm, restful, but not lethargic.
 
The reward will all be worth it.

oh, boy...dilemma...

What if I gave her a BCS of 1 to keep the depot going instead of the 2 or the 2.25?
I know there may still be a chance of an active night, but which would be better a BCS or no dose.
My guess is the BCS would at least allow her to have continued insulin.
 
She did not show any signs of being at 49;
I got a 42 once on the AT with Menace and she showed no signs of hypo either....just tired. Each cat is different.

My guess is the BCS would at least allow her to have continued insulin
Joanne, the way Tiny is going, I don't think you'll lose too much momentum so really it's up to you. Perhaps it would be better to just give everyone a break and go back at it tomorrow. The last time you skipped it didn't slow her down much if at all! The other option is to stall a little longer and see what she does but that throws a monkey wrench into your schedule going forward.
 
Even with a BCS or reduced shot, you could still have an active cycle because of the depot. If you need to sleep, skip.

I would try to keep things rolling and not lose momentum.

I'm think I'd like to err on the side of caution and NS tonight, for multiple reasons.

I hope no one will judge me harshly or reduce support of me as a result of my not having enough experience to make my own, or better judgment calls even with the experienced member's assistance.

My conscious says shoot; it's the best course of action.
My fear says don't shoot; what if I miss another low number through the night.
My energy level says don't shoot; I can't pull an all-nighter and I'm going to want to after what just happened.

I want to do 1 U, but based on the info above, I don't know if it will be beneficial.

I'm going to test again at 8:30 PM to see where she is.
If she has risen, I'm going to BCS her.
If she is the same or has fallen, I'm going to NS.
 
If you give 1 unit tonight, you still might have to wait up to two hours to give it, which will change your PS schedule. And the depot may still be in play. If you don't shoot, you don't need to test throughout the night. Just get a before bed test and if she is still headed up, take the opportunity for a good nights sleep.

Listen to your energy level. You need to take care of you to take care of Tiny. :bighug:
 
All of your thoughts are bang on and I'm with Wendy......sometimes it's better to let your needs take priority. Tiny will be fine and you won't have the headache of moving shot times backwards as well as worrying about what she has up her sleeve tomorrow.
 
Just get a before bed test and if she is still headed up, take the opportunity for a good nights sleep.

OK. That is my final decision.
I'm not going to be wishy-washy and I'm going to give everyone a break.
I'll test before bed tonight and get a test in the middle of the night.
I'll pick up tomorrow morning at 2.25 U.

Thank you for being the angels on both of my shoulders talking me through this.
I think that she is on a mission.

I can't wait for her to go into the lagoon in the DAYTIME instead of at night.
It's a lot easier to monitor and help her through her dips in the day...obviously.

Thank you.
I will change the post title and continue to update the SS through the night.

XOXO, J.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom
I have a question:Ravan has been in the 30's (several times) & I gave med carb FF 13% if he doesn't come up in 30 mins a spoon of High carb FF Is there a reason that I'm not aware of that we need to give Honey right away if there are no symptoms?
 
@JoyBee&Ravan I think the quick answer to that is that each cat reacts differently to different carb levels so everyone doesn't always follow exactly the same path when dealing with low numbers. I'm not sure why Joanne chose to use the honey tonight but she was getting close to pre-shot and perhaps didn't want to add more food into the mix. Honey will wear off faster. I would just keep doing what works for Ravan. Yes there is a suggested step by step carb level to follow but it doesn't always fit the situation at the moment. Your goal is to get kitty to safe numbers ASAP without overdoing hopefully.

I have a cat who would eat one LC flavour of FF only so no options for MC or HC to get through those low number situations and honey on her blessed food was a total bust....she considered it sullied and inedible leaving me precious little in the way of options if she went really low. My solution....sugar donuts in my freezer at all times. Little monkey liked those so I could just give her a few crumbs to get some sugar into her! You do what you have to do when they get that low.
 
Thank you! ( I had a kitty that loved powdered donuts. She lived to be 23 & still got a tiny piece of donut a few times a week, she never had ANY health problems all her long life)

Sorry Joanne for asking questions on your condo :bighug:
Hope you have a Good Night ZZZZZZZZZZZZ:)
 
Tiny's BG is 116 at 9 PM, so decreasing as I suspected it would.
I posted that on her SS as the +2 what would normally be after her PMPS.

I'm going to give her some LC food now and through the night when I wake up to keep her numbers up a bit.
I'll test and update the SS as I go.

Sorry Joanne for asking questions on your condo

No "sorries" EVER! I don't mind at all. We are all here to learn from one another. I'm off reading other's posts as well, in hope of making better decisions as I go, but as @MrWorfMen's Mom says, ECID...for sure!

Many blessings to all.
 
Back
Top