10/25 Tina AMPS 96 +2 112 +4 87 +8 86 PMPS 88

Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Good Friday morning -

I keep having to remember the day of the week, since my DH keeps taking days off. He still has three weeks left to take before the end of the year.
It's cold and rainy and traffic is messy. Tina is good, and that's more important;) Well, shoot, another fire truck just drove by. It hasn't rained around here in so long, people aren't as cautious, and the streets may be slick. I was out driving earlier.
Another fluid day, and she still feels good - OH - she has started jumping up and down from the living room table, instead of using the steps!!!
Have a great day everyone, and I hope we have safe and happy cats out there!

ETA - I hadn't been checking +2; she still does not have the Gourmed, non-sugar gaba . . . supposed to arrive today. (She gets it at AMPS and PMPS.)
 
Last edited:
I'm glad Tina is full of energy today. It looks like Tina is really starting to use that 0.5 - I hope she has a good surfing day.

I'm retired and I have an awful time remembering the day and date since I usually have no place to go.
Tina is trying to retire that .5U;)
Suzanne, it's great to see you back more, and super fun to watch LT try to ditch the insulin:D
My schedule is never the same, from day to day, so I look at the wall calendar a lot!
 
Tina is looking good. Sounds like she is feeling fine!!!!

If your getting gourmeds from wedgewood, go on line or call them and put on automatic refill. That way you won't run out. Except when all refills are finished. Found out each new order you need to ask for auto refill. Almost ran out of Ollie's cisipride, had to give her 1/2 doses for a few days.
 
Tina is looking good. Sounds like she is feeling fine!!!!

If your getting gourmeds from wedgewood, go on line or call them and put on automatic refill. That way you won't run out. Except when all refills are finished. Found out each new order you need to ask for auto refill. Almost ran out of Ollie's cisipride, had to give her 1/2 doses for a few days.
Paula - thank you very much. I finally got it all sorted out. The vet called in the wrong type, again, but with the increased dosage. Wedgewood looked back and saw I used the Gourmeds before, approved it, but then cancelled the order. So I had to get the vet to call again. I will definitely get this on auto-refill as soon as I see that I've received what we need. One man at Wedgewood told me the gourmeds didn't come in 50mg, just 25; I looked it up and proved him wrong. The last lady I talked to there got it straight, fingers crossed and I should see today. There was also more transitioning from Diamondback to Wedgewood, and the emails confused me more . . . whew!
Tina sends love to Olive, and thanks her and her bean for their help:bighug:
 
Paula - thank you very much. I finally got it all sorted out. The vet called in the wrong type, again, but with the increased dosage. Wedgewood looked back and saw I used the Gourmeds before, approved it, but then cancelled the order. So I had to get the vet to call again. I will definitely get this on auto-refill as soon as I see that I've received what we need. One man at Wedgewood told me the gourmeds didn't come in 50mg, just 25; I looked it up and proved him wrong. The last lady I talked to there got it straight, fingers crossed and I should see today. There was also more transitioning from Diamondback to Wedgewood, and the emails confused me more . . . whew!
Tina sends love to Olive, and thanks her and her bean for their help:bighug:

Next time give your vet the empty bottle when she calls it in. She can just read off the bottle and hopefully get it right.
 
Next time give your vet the empty bottle when she calls it in. She can just read off the bottle and hopefully get it right.
My vet does need help, good idea.
They are here:cat: and there are no refills, just 120 for two months. I will give the vet the bottle next time, early, after dumping at least a weeks worth in my back up container. If that works!
 
She keeps looking better!

The modified TR protocol we use here discusses one of the three methods of reduction to include maintaining a BG of between 50-80 while staying under 100 mg/dL for a week. As you know, the TR protocol was designed to be used with a human meter. There are no established equivalents between pet meters and human meters and our policy here has been that those using pet meters should follow the ranges and guidelines set for human meters except for the reduction point of 68 instead of 50. That doesn’t mean that those two numbers are “equivalent”. Those were the two numbers found to allow a safety margin on the respective pet and human meters.

I know some might look at her SS and be tempted to say those low blue numbers on the AT are really green numbers on the human meter. Maybe; but maybe not. For that reason, I recommend you stick with this dose until she is under 100 for a week or earns a reduction by dropping below 68. Of course, two caveats: (1) if you have a cycle where you are fighting to keep her above 68, then it’s time to reduce and (2) if we start seeing inverted curves in almost every cycle, we’ll want to try a reduction. By inverted curve, I mean her lowest numbers are at PSs and highest are at the middle of the cycle. A few is not anything to even give a second thought but if we consistently see them, it’s time to give it a try.

yes???:):););)

BTW, my DH was supposed to overnight in SD last night; my sister (who lives near you) said, “good because the weather here is miserable”. She jinxed him as he got diverted to Dallas LUV field and overnighted there. He doesn’t mind flying in the weather but it just always puts them behind and playing catch-up all day.
 
So good to hear that Tina is jumping again! I wish I felt like jumping...not so much tonight.

Glad to hear you're feeling better too...

It's been a long week...hope everyone there is safe...driving in the rain when you're not used to it, must be like here when we get the first snow. No one seems to know how to drive in the snow and they have a lot of accidents...yep, it's slick out there...and you'd think they'd slow down...but no...they drive as fast as ever...and amazingly end up going turtle in the middle of the x-way...or worse.

Have a great evening Jan!
 
She keeps looking better!

The modified TR protocol we use here discusses one of the three methods of reduction to include maintaining a BG of between 50-80 while staying under 100 mg/dL for a week. As you know, the TR protocol was designed to be used with a human meter. There are no established equivalents between pet meters and human meters and our policy here has been that those using pet meters should follow the ranges and guidelines set for human meters except for the reduction point of 68 instead of 50. That doesn’t mean that those two numbers are “equivalent”. Those were the two numbers found to allow a safety margin on the respective pet and human meters.

I know some might look at her SS and be tempted to say those low blue numbers on the AT are really green numbers on the human meter. Maybe; but maybe not. For that reason, I recommend you stick with this dose until she is under 100 for a week or earns a reduction by dropping below 68. Of course, two caveats: (1) if you have a cycle where you are fighting to keep her above 68, then it’s time to reduce and (2) if we start seeing inverted curves in almost every cycle, we’ll want to try a reduction. By inverted curve, I mean her lowest numbers are at PSs and highest are at the middle of the cycle. A few is not anything to even give a second thought but if we consistently see them, it’s time to give it a try.

yes???:):););)

BTW, my DH was supposed to overnight in SD last night; my sister (who lives near you) said, “good because the weather here is miserable”. She jinxed him as he got diverted to Dallas LUV field and overnighted there. He doesn’t mind flying in the weather but it just always puts them behind and playing catch-up all day.

Yes:) and Tina says thanks :cat: Marje and Gracie.
I have a hunch she wants to earn her reduction by going under 68, but in a slow and steady fashion. But with such nice flat-ish numbers, I could also see her staying under 100 for a week. The inverted curve is newer to me; thank you! I've been so happy with her improvement, and am very grateful for your time, expertise and watchful eye :bighug:
I'm also tired, and this weather hasn't helped! I joked a bit ago, that I was going to give Tina a can of a 10% food she loves, and go to bed. Husband laughed because he knows I would only do that in an extreme emergency:joyful: It was funny for a second though!

It hasn't been raining for almost three hours; it's now cool and pleasant - Tina and I wish you, and your babies sweet dreams:) I can't believe your sister jinxed your DH!! I hope he had a nice dinner and gets some good rest tonight:cool:
 
My vet does need help, good idea.
They are here:cat: and there are no refills, just 120 for two months. I will give the vet the bottle next time, early, after dumping at least a weeks worth in my back up container. If that works!

Mine come hundred tabs to bottle and doctor orders 3 refills. My kitty gets 1/2 tab twice a day. Have 2 cats who get it but Ollie doesn't anymore. I alternate which I refill so I don't run out of pay for 2 orders since I only use one. It keeps both orders active.
 
Back
Top