10/25 Tigger+2.75/36+3/34+3.25/43 +3.75/51 +4.25/51 +4.75/48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Good Afternoon LL!
Tigger's 10/24 condo

Sending healing vines out to Marge's LBG, & hugs to Lauri for Pix :YMHUG:

Also thanks to Sienne for the Time change info - big help there - whew!!!

Tigger's +4 today may be contraband-influenced. DGS left his raisin bagel w/ cream cheese on the coffee table... when he returned, it was 'mysteriously' upside down on the floor with some crumbs scattered around.....all the cats were very innocent, giving me the "What?" blink & look from their sleeping post on the bed :roll: I figured I'd know pretty soon who was the culprit, & sure enough, Tigger's +4 let the bagel out of the bag :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks for all your guidance yesterday re. increasing. We'll have 10 cycles at this dose including tonight. I held the dose, as Tigger nadir'd below 125 (111) last night then bounced & his AMPS was possibly higher than normal (385), but that's arguable. He could still be bouncing today, the +4 could be bagel-induced, or he could just be starting to cycle higher from too low a dose. Or D) all of the above :lol:

Sorry to ask again so soon, but Tigger's not giving me very clear signals here. Should I dosecrease Saturday AM? My next dosecrease day would be Monday. I can do either. What do you think? Thanks for all your help!
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 +2/305 +4/339 +9/311 Dosecrease Sa

Deja vu!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well....he seems to be clearing his bounces at night the last two nights so let's see what he does tonight. I'll be on until midnight PDT so i'll keep an eye out. Then we can decide on tomorrow. K?

Thanks for the wishes! LBG heard them :-D
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218

Marje, I am really relieved about LBG - the symptoms were so similar to the last ones - whew!!!!!! The power of positive thought has amazing strength at times, doesn't it?

Well, Tigger must've read the posts AGAIN! Our PMPS is 218 - low for Tigger, so I assume he's clearing his bounce and/or the morning bagel :lol:. I'm going to re-test in 40 min - he can fall like a concrete block on these occasions, I've found (last PMPS @ 234 / +2 = 31) & I DON'T wanna go there again!

So maybe we'll be conversing again - a pj party this evening! (after DH is asleep!)
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218

Come on down Tigger - it's time for some more :mrgreen: :mrgreen: in your SS. But no need to rush there.

So was it the bagel or the cream cheese or both that he snacked on? :lol: :lol: Neko has a fondness for bread products, but not as bad as she used to.
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172

Hi Wendy, thanks for visiting. Most of the cream cheese had disappeared & there were bagel crumbs on the floor, so I think it was a package deal. Historically, Tigger's loved carbs - yeasty bread & corn on the cob are his favs. (Just like his Mom :-D )

Well, no lead balloon yet - thank you 5% carbs! Will test again in an hour - no trust here!
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84

+3/84. So far so good, but an 88 pt. drop in 1 hr. I just fed 1 tsp 9% + 1T 5% & will re-test in 30. I hope the 1 tsp is enough to keep him up without making him lose the surf. He's probably going to have a major bounce since he hasn't been Green in so long.

Wow - Tigger's last green was 10/1. We're long overdue.
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84

I thought he might do this. I have a feeling, unless he fires right back up, that you'll want to continue to hold the dose.

But I'll check in again tonight.
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.5/36 !!!

Drat - I missed it! +2.5 / 36. Immediately tested again & it was 42. I just gave 2T 9% & re-test in 15 (14 now)

Do I have to take a reduction if we have a drop in the 30s? Can I do the 3x below 50 with this one???

I think I should start giving 9% at PS regularly. Tigger's BG rarely goes up at +1.

On days where his PS is lower than his +10, I think I should give 9% at PS & +1 & as needed.

Marje - you were right - AGAIN! (of course)
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.5/36 !!!

A drop below 40 always means a reduction. The three times options is for 3 times between 40-50.

Up Tigger please!
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/

Double Drat! I knew you would say that, Wendy.

+3 = 34. Increase carbs to 1tsp 22% & 1T 9%. Re-test in 15

Why does Tigger have to nosedive the first time he goes green in 24 days??????? :sad:

He on the other hand, is feeling juuuust fine.......
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/

:lol: :lol: :lol: I got up to feed cats and look what happens! Nice catch.

Good luck with that reduction ;-)
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger AMPS/385 PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/

:o :shock: :o :shock:
Good catch!!!
Tigger's messing up with your dosing plan. :-D
Cats like to do that , don't they?
Up Tigger, UP!!!!!
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/34 +3.25

Almost there Tigger, just a bit higher. You already made her break out the good stuff. :lol: :lol:

That URI really messed with his numbers. It probably contributed to the lack of green, but it looks like he's really feeling good now. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/34 +3.25

BAD CATCH! Oh, Marje & Mariko, I meant to check Tigger after 30 minutes when I saw the 84 @ +2, but when I set the timer, 15 min, had already passed & I didn't realize it, so it was 45 min. between testing. angry(2)_cat I might've caught it in the 40's if it had only been 30 minutes. angry(2)_cat

Now we have to do a reduction & I don't want to do a reduction. angry(2)_cat It's been 24 days since Tigger last saw green (& that was a 33, too - WAH!) I don't want to do a reduction!!! angry(2)_cat

OK. I had my tantrum. Ranting & raving does feel better sometimes.
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/34 +3.25

It happens to all of us. Gracie snookered me today when I had the furnace guy here.

Here's the thing....Tigger isn't coming up real fast and so even if you had caught him, he likely would have dropped below 40 anyway. He had a full head of steam :-D
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/34 +3.25

To Recap:
+3.25/43 - Fed 1T 5% + 1 tsp 9%
+3.75/51 - Fed 1T 5%
+4.25/51 - Fed 1T 9%


@ Wendy: I agree Tigger's URI mucked up his routine & gave him yucky numbers for a good 2 weeks.

@ Marje: Oh yes, the Furnace Guy. Maybe Life intervenes when it's supposed to. Is that fatalistic? Tigger is coming up slow, but partly because I'm giving him primarily 9% instead of 22% which I know will bring him up pretty fast - if this is the green we get I want to let him keep it as long as possible.

2 Questions about TR:

1) On the LL TR post under "Reducing the Dose",
Jill Says: Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

What does 'in the normal range' mean? Relative to Tigger, he's rarely in the 'normal range', & often earns a reduction shortly after getting into the 'normal range'.

2)On the LL TR post under "Reducing the Dose",
Jill says: If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

So does this mean after the bounce clears, if Tigger were to stay in level pink / yellow, he could dosecrease earlier than 6 cycles?

Just wanting to clarify that - thanks!!! Time to test....
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger PMPS/218 +1/172 +2/84 +2.75/36 +3/34 +3.25

+4.75/48 - Fed 1 tsp 22% & 1 T 9% (big guns out again) Tigger left about 1/2 tsp of the 9%

9% isn't keeping Tigger up very well, so we're trying a little more 22% (Fromm - could be 30% will check tomorrow)
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger+2.75/36+3/34+3.25/43 +3.75/51 +4.25/51 +4.7

I hope Tigger came up some for you - he really wanted this reduction.

To answer the questions: maintaining numbers in normal range means 50-120. If you take a look at the SS of an OTJ cat like Lucky you'll see his last few reductions were all because he spent 7 days in normal numbers. Lucky was bouncy at first, but at some point he stopped bouncing. I've seen other cats go OTJ by earning reductions by going under 50 all the way to zero.

Second question, if Tigger were to stay pink/yellow, not sure that means he's cleared the bounce. But if you know he's cleared the bounce and isn't seeing blue, back up ya go.
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger+2.75/36+3/34+3.25/43 +3.75/51 +4.25/51 +4.7

@ Wendy, thanks so much for that info - I didn't know bouncy cats could still go OTJ if they kept dropping to 50 each dose! That's very encouraging! :-D :-D :-D

Sorry, Tigger did come back up - I was just exhausted - it'd been a very long day. I'll post shortly for today & get #s caught up.

Thanks for all your help last night Everyone! It was fun talking with you all! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger+2.75/36+3/34+3.25/43 +3.75/51 +4.25/51 +4.7

Sorry..... I fell sound asleep long about midnight :? :? :roll: :roll: :roll:

You did great.

Wendy answered your questions really well. Just remember: for reductions, there is no "settling in" or requirement to hold the dose six cycles. If he's bouncing and you have to wait 72 hours for the bounce to clear to know if he's failed the reduction, that's one thing. But if he clears the bounce in two cycles and doesn't come right back down, as Wendy said, then he needs to go back up. I find a lot of members sit on those reductions way too long when the bounce has cleared and the numbers are still higher than you like.
 
Re: 10/25 Tigger+2.75/36+3/34+3.25/43 +3.75/51 +4.25/51 +4.7

Thanks, Wendy for those bouncy cat examples - it helps

Thanks, Marje for the additional clarification - there's still so much to learn!

Marje said:
for reductions, there is no "settling in" or requirement to hold the dose six cycles. If he's bouncing and you have to wait 72 hours for the bounce to clear to know if he's failed the reduction, that's one thing. But if he clears the bounce in two cycles and doesn't come right back down, as Wendy said, then he needs to go back up. I find a lot of members sit on those reductions way too long when the bounce has cleared and the numbers are still higher than you like.

I think one of the reasons members may stay in a failed reduction too long is that they (myself included) are unsure when they're bouncing or have cleared & are just in high numbers.
Wendy says that well, too:
Wendy said earlier: Second question, if Tigger were to stay pink/yellow, not sure that means he's cleared the bounce. But if you know he's cleared the bounce and isn't seeing blue, back up ya go.

I guess knowing when a cat's cleared the bounce vs. high yucky numbers is THE billion dollar question! Too bad there's not a meter for that! :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top