10/25 Spencer AMPS +365, +6 144 (new low), PMPS +251, +3 208

FrickAndFrack

Member Since 2020
We skipped the PM shot yesterday and he was back up to 365 this morning, but at +6 we had a new low at 144!

He was pretty sleepy all day but responded when we called his name. He loves his new wet food (the challenge is to keep our other cat, Piper, from eating it all).

Is it normal to be a sleepy cat first week of insulin? Or could it be due to the new food?

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-308-6-167-12-197-skipping-pm-shot.237446/
 
Last edited:
For the first 6 months after diagnosis and starting insulin Bandit was listless and would not move around. I think for her, it was a combination of high numbers, dehydration (due to the excessive urination) and neuropathy. Once she started seeing better numbers her spirits improved. She is back to her old self now and we are so glad!

If you have changed him to a low carb food (from a higher carb one), you have to monitor him closely. His numbers and insulin needs could drop significantly with the food change.

Lastly, could you please link your previous post in your current post - it will help us go through history in terms of dosing, advice etc. Here's the link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-308-6-167-12-197-skipping-pm-shot.237446/
 
My girl was used to high numbers when she started. For her, those new to her good numbers put her off. Someone once compared it to coffee. If you are used to lots of caffeine (high blood sugar), how would you feel if you had a sudden decrease?

Any chance you can get a test in before you go to bed tonight? Many cats go lower at night, and we determine dose based on lows so it's a good idea to see what's happening in the right had side of the spreadsheet. It doesn't have to be +6, just sometime +2 or after can give us a clue.
 
Nice - that 144 is almost in the normal range :cool:

I’m with Wendy on the PM tests, especially after the change in food - visit Lulu’s thread and check out her spreadsheet for a pretty dramatic example of what removing dry food can do ...
 
Thank you for linking my thread from yesterday Bandit's Mom.

I did a test, but am off to bed now. 208 at +3 so that's pretty good, yeah?

I will try to find Lulu's thread!

Thanks for all the replys :)
 
Back
Top