10/25-remi urgent PMPS 157, +2 106, +4 76, +5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

Remi is lower at +4 76, I know this is good but I also know that his nadir isn't for maybe 2 or 3 hours. I have fed him his normal small meal at +4 and will recheck his BG at +5 (and give some more normal food )but just need some advice on what exactly to do next.

I have read and printed out the hypo sheet. But Do I just keep an eye on him and only go for the high carb if he actually goes below 60 /3.3?

What about tomorrow morning? My guess is he might bounce but based on the numbers I get tonight is remi heading for a reduction?

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: 10/25-remi urgent PMPS 157, +2 106, +4 76

hi sarah
maybe you should post this over on tight regulation. there are alot more people on over there especially since you have a 911. as long as you can keep checking him and you have the hypo sheet printed out then you'll be there to take care of him. i know they say you need 2 rising numbers not influenced by food but if he goes too low then you feed a small amt of higher carb food. don't know about the reduction tho. hopefully the tight reg group are on line and can help you. i'll keep checking in on you sarah
 
Re: 10/25-remi urgent PMPS 157, +2 106, +4 76

Thanks Nadine

I am not sure the 911 is overkill or not :? but always feel that I need to add it whenever I encounter a number lower than I have ever got before. I will start a thread over in tight regulation after I retest in a second. I like him being green but get nervous if he goes much lower.

Thanks for keeping an eye on us.
 
Re: 10/25-remi urgent PMPS 157, +2 106, +4 76

i don't think the 911 is overkill. it will get their attention and it's good to do it before it becomes a bad emergency so go for it.
 
so did you see wendy said to feed a few teaspoons of his regular food to help him surf the greens. good luck sarah
 
Yes has just done this. Thanks Nadine for all your help and support. Wishing Tibbs some better numbers soon.
 
Hi Sarah,

Late on parade today. Nice surf. How are the fingernails? ;-)

You did great, and so lovely to see how Remi's improving in your spreadsheet comments. Seeing good numbers is good, but seeing your little one feeling better is the biz! :-D


:YMHUG:
 
Hi Sarah
You may want to remove the 911 so we don't get heart attacks seeing your post. :mrgreen:
so glad your baby is ok.
hugs
xoxoxoxox
 
Beat me to it, Nadine. I saw the emergency icon and my heart started palpitating again. nailbite_smile :roll:
 
Critter Mom said:
Hi Sarah,

Late on parade today. Nice surf. How are the fingernails? ;-)

You did great, and so lovely to see how Remi's improving in your spreadsheet comments. Seeing good numbers is good, but seeing your little one feeling better is the biz! :-D


:YMHUG:

Blimey you are up late :shock: it was a little stressful but not as bad as that early low number I got right in the beginning when I had no idea what I was doing and found it difficult to get blood out of his ear. It is great to see him feeling better. Sometimes it is only slight changes to his posture but you can tell he is feeling more like his old self. This morning he stretched out beside me in bed and then just stayed in that position. It's been a while since I have seen that :-D

Just getting ready for tonight's dose. I took advantage of the time change and now shot him at 6 and not 7 so I can monitor him more easily before I go to work and in the evening.
 
hope he is great tonight Sarah. will check in later to see how you are doing.
cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
That's done wonders for my heart rate, Sarah! :razz: :lol:

Couldn't sleep with the PTSD - it's getting worse again. Had to throw in the towel and take a sleeping tablet after 6am this morning. I've gone through real misery trying to withdraw from the infernal things so its' a real setback to have to take one. The only plus is that reintroducing the drug into my system stopped some of the joint pain. Not good. Means the physiological dependency is still very strong. :YMSIGH:

I know exactly what you mean about the little stretches or seeing them lie or sit in that 'just so' way unique to themselves. Little moments like that keep me going and make me feel less bad about all the poking and prodding. I'm so pleased that Remi's getting more NGV's! :-D
 
Hey you two. Remi has been keeping with the low numbers and today is giving me lots of greens :mrgreen: . I am lucky enough that my partner is at home to keep an eye on him and to test otherwise I don't know if I could concentrate. I can see why a food timer thing is essential. I have started a thread on the tight regulation as traffic is just a little bit heavier over there. Love that you are all keeping an eye on me too.

Nadine-I hope the dose increase begins to help Tibbs soon. I know that you are trying to get more readins today and I hope that goes okay.

Aine- what a nightmare not being able to sleep. I cant believe in this day an age there isn't more options for people that cant sleep. My partner has great trouble sometimes just because he works odd hours.

Hope this week is good for us all.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Well this is what I get for taking a mini vacation I miss all the fun of a pajama party... :cry: Nice surfing there Remi, now keep it up and just keep giving mom those nice green surfs and before you know it you'll earn yourself a dose reduction. :thumbup Actually part of my weekend of work got stalled because of Ms. Autumn and her own pajama party with Mom.

And yes, it isn't always the big things that tell us how our babies are feeling I know with Autumn I can tell just by the way she is sleeping or where she is hanging out how good or bad she feels. She has this cute little upside down head sleeping position that I only see when she is in good numbers and feeling good. If she is chatting up a storm and in a window in whatever room I'm in she is having a good day, if she is parked over by the t.v. in the living room in the dark she feels like crap. As well as if she comes for snuggles at night...good, if she sleeps curled up at the foot of the bed...bad. The worst part for me with mine is that because they were all adopted already very sick with diabetes I don't know what is normal behavior for them, so I have to wait for clues as they get better.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Mel

I hope the painting went well. I would love to get on and paint the bedroom before Xmas but the thought of all that mess is too much just at the moment. :lol:

Remi is much more back to his old ways, like autumn he has certain spots for certain moods. As long as it isn't under the bed then I am happy. One thing that is still worrying me is the lack of strength in his back legs. It takes great effort to jump and walk up the stairs nowadays. Is it still early days and if his blood glucose stays low it will get better. I gave him a vit b injection a few weeks ago and will get another off the vet this week. I would love to see that symptom get better. Does anyone have any suggestions?
 
Hello Sarah,
Looking at your ss you have got Remi into really good numbers over the past few days,you have done really well.
My vet has told me that once you get control,and begin to get into more consistently normal numbers the weakness in their back legs will slowly return to normal.I know this has been the case with Bailey & Anna,she like you was very distressed,and had her Bailey on Zobaline,& Vit B injections,but the improvement didn't happen until he was seeing better numbers.If you want more first hand info PM her,she is a lovely lady and I am sure she will but your mind at rest.
 
Morning, Sarah.

Saoirse had weekly B12 injections for several weeks. Perhaps it might be worth getting Remi's B12 and folate checked. If the B12's low, perhaps giving him a short course of weekly injections and then going back to monthly injections might help? Saoirse improved markedly with the weekly injections. Her muscle mass has improved and her overall body condition is very good now. (Reminds me, she's due for her monthly injection at the moment. :oops: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top