10/25 Regs AMPS 211 +1 226 +2 208 +3 145 +4 151 +5 177 +6,5 199 +10 310 PMPS 289 +1 325

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Yesterday
Regs had another pretty flat night, so this morning we increased his dose to 3 units, and honestly, I'm SO terrified.
I know I'm doing this to help him feel better, but I sat there with the syringe in my hand for at least 10 minutes, debating whether I should increase or not, terrified that I might end up killing him by giving him too much insulin.

I'll be monitoring him closely today, although I do have to leave for about 2–3 hours around midday. Rob will be home during that time, but unfortunately, he's not much help when it comes to testing Regs because he refuses to do it, even though he's diabetic himself.

And here is my little adventurer ❤️ He managed to climb all the way up onto the chair with his wobbly little legs, and he looked so proud of himself! I actually think he must be feeling a little better because he's started bullying my 19-year-old Gizmo again
Bild.jpeg
 
Try a little LC and see how he does.
Safe surfing Regs, nice numbers today.
Good luck with the increase!
You’re doing great, it’s scary to increase, we understand. Food (HC if needed) is your tool to keep him safe!
He’s so cute and fluffy, I’m glad he’s jumping up on the chair. ❤️🐈😻🏄‍♂️🌊
Thanks Staci, I just gave him some pate that maybe has slightly higher carbs what was left over from his siblings.
I just think it’s funny, for you guys it’s nice numbers for me it’s more I’m so scared and think about if I hurt him with the increase. At least it is a daycycle and not night.
But I’m also not sure if I stay with 3 or go back to 2.75.

I really love he is getting more active, my husband calls him flipper because his rear legs are flopping so much with his neuropathy
 
You're doing great. Let that depot fill and then watch him 2-3 days after the increase. That's where you really might see the difference.
Like Staci mentioned have a good tool kid with all the MC and HC food and treats. Read up on symptoms when they get too low. And test, test, test.
We're here if you need help
🤗🐾🐈😍❤️

Ps Regs is a cutie 😻
 
Thanks Staci, I just gave him some pate that maybe has slightly higher carbs what was left over from his siblings.
I just think it’s funny, for you guys it’s nice numbers for me it’s more I’m so scared and think about if I hurt him with the increase. At least it is a daycycle and not night.
But I’m also not sure if I stay with 3 or go back to 2.75.

I really love he is getting more active, my husband calls him flipper because his rear legs are flopping so much with his neuropathy
Don’t worry, I totally understand about the fear and panic of seeing lower numbers.
We may seem to be cavalier about it, but I promise we are not.
I was exactly where you are today. The number of “911” posts I made when Ivy was over 100 and I was sure she was going to be hypo.
It’s very scary 😱 when you see numbers that are lower than you are used to seeing.

I still have to remind myself it’s good for their body to be in better numbers (and not 300s where they are accustomed to being).

And hopefully by seeing lower numbers, not too low, but lower, will help his neuropathy to heal.
🐈❤️
 
You're doing great. Let that depot fill and then watch him 2-3 days after the increase. That's where you really might see the difference.
Like Staci mentioned have a good tool kid with all the MC and HC food and treats. Read up on symptoms when they get too low. And test, test, test.
We're here if you need help
🤗🐾🐈😍❤️

Ps Regs is a cutie 😻
Thank you so much, Karolina ❤️ I have plenty of test strips, some HC food, and a few little emergency honey packets ready, so hopefully I'm well prepared, although I really hope we won't need any of it!

I'm still not entirely sure how I'll handle things tomorrow when I have to go to work, but I'm thinking I'll set his automatic feeder to give him an extra snack around +3 and come home around +6 to feed him lunch and check on him.

I really appreciate all the support that Regs and I are getting here!

And thank you! Nestle is such very handsome orange boy himself! Loved his and Peanuts halloween costumes 🧡
 
Don’t worry, I totally understand about the fear and panic of seeing lower numbers.
We may seem to be cavalier about it, but I promise we are not.
I was exactly where you are today. The number of “911” posts I made when Ivy was over 100 and I was sure she was going to be hypo.
It’s very scary 😱 when you see numbers that are lower than you are used to seeing.

I still have to remind myself it’s good for their body to be in better numbers (and not 300s where they are accustomed to being).

And hopefully by seeing lower numbers, not too low, but lower, will help his neuropathy to heal.
🐈❤️
Thank you so much, Staci! ❤️ It really helps to hear that you were all once just as scared of those lower numbers as I am now. Everyone here has so much experience, and sometimes I honestly feel like the panicky newbie freaking out over numbers that everyone else is happy to see! 😂

I really appreciate you sharing your own experience with Ivy. It makes me feel a little less alone with my fears.
I was so relieved to see that his numbers came up a little on their own after his +3 snack. I'm just really glad it's Sunday and I don't have to worry about going to work today!

I know those better numbers are exactly what Regs needs, especially for his neuropathy, and I want that so badly for him. AND he looks so relaxed and comfy today! I just wish I could convince my brain that lower doesn't automatically mean dangerous!

Thank you for being so understanding and reassuring. It really means a lot!

IMG_9520.jpeg
 
He's having a nice little surf today: a small rise at the beginning of the cycle, and then a drop down into some nice, flat blues. Yay!!
You're both doing a great job!!
And he's such a beautiful fluff! Do you think his neuropathy is getting better over time?
 
He's having a nice little surf today: a small rise at the beginning of the cycle, and then a drop down into some nice, flat blues. Yay!!
You're both doing a great job!!
And he's such a beautiful fluff! Do you think his neuropathy is getting better over time?
Thank you so much! He seems to be feeling great today, while I'm the one who's stressed out! But I know these better numbers are good for him. Since he's now at 199 right before lunch, I'm hoping he's already had his nadir. I'm definitely relieved that he hasn't gone any lower so far in this first cycle.

I feel like his neuropathy has gotten a little worse over the last two months, which is why we started him on Zobaline about four weeks ago. I guess the Zobaline and getting him into better numbers are the main things I can do to help him right now. I know it doesn't stop him from doing Regs things but I need to work on that. That's why I'm pushing myself a little harder to work through my fears and get his glucose under better control.
 
Plus 10 and he is back to 310, so I guess we are bouncing? I’m so sad now because I liked him in this numbers, does that mean that the dose is a bit too strong?
 
He has a tendency to go up at +10 and then drops back down at his preshot. Did you feed higher carb food with any of those numbers? When was the last time you fed him?
 
He has a tendency to go up at +10 and then drops back down at his preshot. Did you feed higher carb food with any of those numbers? When was the last time you fed him?
Yes that is true he goes up around plus 10 quite often. I just wonder because he was that low during the day. He got his normal lunch at 1:30ish. But it was just 1.5 oz fancy feast chicken pate and nothing else. Sometimes he steals a treat from his brother but today I made sure he did not 😂
 
Thank you so much! He seems to be feeling great today, while I'm the one who's stressed out! But I know these better numbers are good for him. Since he's now at 199 right before lunch, I'm hoping he's already had his nadir. I'm definitely relieved that he hasn't gone any lower so far in this first cycle.

I feel like his neuropathy has gotten a little worse over the last two months, which is why we started him on Zobaline about four weeks ago. I guess the Zobaline and getting him into better numbers are the main things I can do to help him right now. I know it doesn't stop him from doing Regs things but I need to work on that. That's why I'm pushing myself a little harder to work through my fears and get his glucose under better control.
You're doing great! Like Staci mentioned earlier, I was also a nervous wreck 😨 when Jude's numbers began dropping. But you're learning that food is the tool to bring him up if he drops too low. Another thing to remember: you've heard us mention pancreas-healing numbers, and that's exactly what can happen: the pancreas cells literally can heal the longer you hold them in below 100 numbers, increasing the chance for healing the pancreas and getting to remission. A good spreadsheet to look at is @Kat & Trixie's. Look at Trixie's numbers in 2025, when she was gradually coming down in dose and seeing more and more greens. Her little pancreas was healing! And she eventually went into remission.
 
Last edited:
does that mean that the dose is a bit too strong?
We look at the nadirs to determine if a dose is too much and not at the bouncing. Bounces can occur even when kitties are regularly in higher numbers, but then experience a lower than normal number that they are not used to. You've probably seen this on the forum:

Definition of bouncing:
"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low." "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce." Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver." *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

I'm not sure why he does that rise at +10. Today's could be a bounce since he saw some lower numbers, but, as I mentioned before, he tends to do it frequently in the a.m. cycle, so I'm not sure.

It will be interesting to see what his PMPS is.
 
You're doing great! Like Staci mentioned earlier, I was also a nervous wreck 😨 when Jude's numbers began dropping. But you're learning that food is the tool to bring him up if he drops too low. Another thing to remember: you've heard us mention pancreas-healing numbers, and that's exactly what can happen: the pancreas cells literally can heal the longer you hold them in below 100 numbers, increasing the chance for healing the pancreas and getting to remission. A good spreadsheet to look at is @Kat & Trixie's. Look at Trixie's numbers in 2025, when she was gradually coming down in dose and seeing more and more greens. Her little pancreas was healing! And she eventually went into remission.
I'm so happy to see how many kitties go into remission, but those numbers are terrifying and beautiful at the same time! I'll definitely take a look at Trixie's spreadsheet, too. I wish so much that Regs could get there one day, even with his vet's prognosis. But I honestly don't know how I'll ever manage not to freak out when his numbers get that low!

It really helps to hear that you and Staci were once just as nervous as I am now. Sometimes I look at all these spreadsheets and wonder how you guys ever managed to stay calm through those cycles 😂 I guess that confidence comes with experience, and hopefully I'll get there eventually, too.

For example, I'm already worrying that he'll drop tonight because he didn't finish all his dinner, although I suspect he's just holding out for more of his favorite food. We recently tried the Weruva BFF pouches, and he absolutely loves them! They're slightly higher in carbs than his usual food, but still considered low carb.
I'm not sure why he does that rise at +10. Today's could be a bounce since he saw some lower numbers, but, as I mentioned before, he tends to do it frequently in the a.m. cycle, so I'm not sure.

It will be interesting to see what his PMPS is.
His PMPS was 289 today and his +1 is 325, so he actually came down a few points again by preshot time. Hopefully we'll have a quiet cycle tonight!

Looking at his spreadsheet (after you pointed it out) I've also noticed that when he drops into lower numbers, he sometimes starts rising earlier in the cycle. As you mentioned before, with early drops he regularly started going up around +5. So let's see what tonight brings!

I'm still not sure whether that +10 rise is simply part of his usual pattern, since he does it quite often, or whether it's a bounce, he definitely doesn't get food around that time. I could imagine that even numbers in the 150s or 160s might still trigger a bounce since his body is so used to being much higher (his last fructosamine test was still pretty sad). But then again, he sometimes does it even when he hasn't seen particularly low numbers.

Your explanation about looking at the nadirs rather than the bounces when evaluating a dose really helps. I think I still tend to focus too much on those high numbers and everything in between. They can be so frustrating to see after a good cycle! It's just hard for me to figure out what's a bounce and what's simply his usual pattern.

I guess a bounce can also be a sign that the insulin is bringing his numbers down enough to make his liver panic, even if those numbers aren't actually too low. At least that's how I'm starting to understand it! 😂 I just hope the bouncing becomes less frequent over time as his body gets used to better numbers.

Thank you so much for being so patient with me and for sharing your experience. It really helps me staying grounded
 
I’m so sad now because I liked him in this numbers, does that mean that the dose is a bit too strong?
As others have said, bouncing just means he's getting into numbers he is not yet used to. It was a great day for Reg! Bouncing gives us as caregivers a break.

The classic pattern for new caregivers is start will immense fear of lower numbers. Yes, we have all been there. Too low numbers are not something to be cavalier about. I worry about people (and their cats) who don't have that concern. Then you start learning how your cat reacts to food. And you get a better idea of his response to insulin and in combination with food. You start seeing a few lower numbers. Then you fall in love with them. Mostly because you notice how much better they feel in those lower numbers. This is a process, it takes time. The SLGS and TR dosing methods have been around a lot time, SLGS the longest of the two here.
I'm so happy to see how many kitties go into remission, but those numbers are terrifying and beautiful at the same time!
For now, don't focus on remission as an end goal. Look at regulation first. Regulation is a prerequisite for remission anyway. There are many of us here whose cats did not go into remission for one reason or another, but still had a happier life being regulated. Neko was one of them, her quality of life was so much better being fairly well regulated.

The other thing that can help as a caregiver is learning when you have to test, and when you don't. Sleep is not overrated. If you get another test around +3, and it's still above PMPS, put your head on a pillow and don't bother with those wee hours tests. Take a look at those recent cycles where he saw several nice hours of blues, then look at what happened at the following cycle. In none of them did he go as low as he did in the cycle he saw the blue streak. Once I learned when I could get a good night's sleep, it helped me have a better QOL too!
 
Back
Top