10/25 Poopy +10 27...37...47...up to 104 at +13

Status
Not open for further replies.
Carl & Bob said:
I guess my question #2 is more of a "when you skip completely, does that help by making sure the shed doesn't get ahead of the dose?" I think that's the way I've heard it said?
I know I've read that when you reduce, you shouldn't expect to see immediate lessening of the action caused by the insulin, because the shed needs to drain. So skipping makes it drain more quickly, right? So his reaction to 2.5u should be more of what you would expect from a reduced dose? And if he's a "settler", then he should settle sooner? In theory anyway?

Carl...yes...when you skip completely, it helps to drain the depot more thus limiting its "ability" to get ahead of the CG. But ECID and it also depends on the cat and the dose. For a big gulper, one skipped shot might not help get ahead of the depot as much as it would for a sipper. ;-)

When you reduce, the depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles..again ECID. So one wouldn't expect to see a big change in the cycles (unless the kitty bounces) the first cycle after a reduction. You'd generally see it in a later cycle. Skipping does drain it a little more because the CG isn't giving another shot...even a reduced one..to add to the depot. Since she skipped this morning and then shot the reduced dose tonight, then it should allow Teresa to get ahead of the depot.

I'm not sure I understand the last part of the question...sorry..duh on my part. BUT...because cats can and do change, I wouldn't hazard a guess as to whether a cat that normally settles into a dose quickly would continue to do so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top